Bee, Myself & I #58: Parterre Blocks 27 and 28

It’s been a year. A YEAR!

I found a spare couple of hours today, wondered what I could do with it, and hauled out the Parterre project box. Two blocks later, I wondered again why I’d left it so long. And then, I looked up just how long it had actually been…

Exactly a year. Gasp… The last BM&I post (Block 26) was on 30 June 2022. Embarrassing, much? Anyway, here are two new blocks to add to the line up.

I won’t leave it so long another time. One of these fine days, I’ll have made all the blocks I can (the grey background is a limited quantity and will determine the final number), and it will be time to start thinking about how I’m going to assemble it. I do have sashing for it already, so sashing is a given. The quilting is another story.

Bee, Myself and I is a forum for ‘selfish sewing’; any stitchery which is purely for pleasure and not to a deadline or for anyone else. The original concept belongs to Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl. To find out more, you can click through on either her blog link, or using the button a fair way down in the left hand column of this blog.

I’ll try to be more conscientious and have another ready for you at the end of July 😊

 

29 thoughts on “Bee, Myself & I #58: Parterre Blocks 27 and 28

  1. Goodness gracious!! How time does fly !
    And I was literally thinking the other day I’ve not seen any new blocks on this page 🙂… mental telepathy or what ♥️
    Needless to say these are as beautiful as the rest and I remember you brought one of these blocks down to see when you came down to Melbourne the first time…. And you explained to me how you do these. I will probably need another tutorial when I do get around to making one.
    I was actually thinking of a project with either teapots or chickens as mats to put on my kitchen bench …. Just as a start . I will definitely be chatting with you when I do start it 😋

  2. Dayphoto says:

    This is a favorite of mine! I’m glad you have returned to it 🙂

  3. I remember these lovely bright botanically creations… yeah here we are EOFY. Sigh. There’s no point wishing time away, it speeds along fast enough.

  4. magpiesue says:

    Jeepers, has it really been that long?! Funny how you don’t miss something until you’re reminded of its’ existence. Of course these are lovely. How could they not be, given your color preferences? 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I kept catching sight of the project basket and thinking “I really must….” and getting distracted in true “Squirrel!” style… I can’t let that happen again, or it’ll become another Hatbox quilt and take half a decade.

  5. Marty K says:

    So pretty! I especially like the kaleidoscope nature of the two right-hand “leaves.”

    I also have had a couple of, “Oh my goodness! Has it really been that long?” moments recently. Must be something in the air. 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I think of the two the top one is my favourite, but to be honest, there are now so many lovely ones that I can’t keep track. I’m going to have to stop somewhere, and it’ll be either at 36 or 42. So either 8 more, or 14 more…

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    These blocks are so pretty. Good to see them again.

  7. tialys says:

    Oooh, yes, the Parterre blocks – lovely stuff – missing in action for a year. I’m sure I could better that as, without even searching through stuff, I know I have a half done knitted blanket that has been abandoned for I daren’t think how long. It will come out again one day, I try not to stress about such things any more.

  8. claire93 says:

    gosh, it really doesn’t feel like a whole year!

  9. Going Batty in Wales says:

    Why are you apologising Kate? This is sewing for you with no deadline like the charity quilts which must be ready for the auction. You can take as much time as you like on this one. Of course if you are saying you have got out of the habit of sewing for yourself that is a different matter but you did do the amazing technicolour coat!

  10. It doesn’t seem like it has been that long! What is it with time? Hurry up and slow down. Goodness. My favorite is the top one with the plaid but they are going to be adorable as a quilt. I’m getting ready to try and figure out the next pattern to do a birthday gift from a panel for the DIL end of Aug. Have to work fast on this one.

  11. Stitchery just for pleasures sounds awesome!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.