A Little Light Looting

Sometimes, it’s only thing to do.

Such as when Hawthorne Supply Co. emails you to announce a Big Sale, and you find something really gorgeous in the perfect fabric weight and finish.

I bring you Art Gallery Fabrics’ ‘Flowershock’ in ‘Spell’, designed by Pat Bravo. It’s a fine, smooth poplin at 134gsm, and I bought 3.5 yards. Originally it was US$22/yard, and I got it for US$6.95/yard + shipping. Event with the FedEx satchel, it was still cheaper than the original price. I adore this colourway, and it’s going to be turned into a clothe of some sort rather than patchwork (except incidentally, as scraps). The sale is still on, incidentally, and I’m not getting paid anything to mention this, or drool over my fabric. There are some other really beautiful and interesting fabrics included in the sale. I urge you to go and look.

The photo makes the background look a bit greenish around the outside, but the true colour is the grey in the middle. It’s a hard colour to photograph well.

Excuse me. I have a pile of fabric to go and pet…

21 thoughts on “A Little Light Looting

  1. tialys says:

    Wow, that’s a bargain for Art Gallery fabric. Will it be a frock, a tunic, a shirt,………?

  2. Ooh nice! Always worth keep bit of budget aside for the spesh stuff especially when it’s on sale. Good work.

    • katechiconi says:

      I thought it was going to be out of reach with the shipping costs, but I was pleasantly surprised. And the exchange rate once the conversion was done made it look even better!

  3. I love the feeling of beautiful fabric gathers in to itself…so positively filled with potential. Or something I can’t put my finger on, it surely is a pettable piece of nearly something. ❤

  4. CurlsnSkirls says:

    Goodness! I had no idea Hawthorne was so well known! I just got 2 smaller pieces, on sale, for a shirt & knit top. Will write about them in a later post. Congratulations on finding your perfect bargain !

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve been getting their emails for years, not least because they have such an enlightened shipping process for international orders – it’s done by weight, and they tell you how much you can order before the price goes up to another bracket.

      • CurlsnSkirls says:

        I had no idea they’ve been around so long, Kate! Thank you so much for this, as well as mentioning their international shipping policy. Maybe I’ll take another look at U.K. shops I used to get fabric & yarn from, just in case. 😉

  5. Oh do I love Art Gallery Fabrics! I have a little stash of them in my fabric stash and I eventually need to use them (and not just decorate my studio with them, ha!). They do have a wonderful weight and finish – now I am craving some more for my collection!

  6. magpiesue says:

    I hadn’t heard of this company previously. Thanks for letting us know! (Not that I need any more fabric at the moment…)

    • katechiconi says:

      Oooh, enjoy browsing. They’re one of my favourites overseas, and their shipping policy makes it so worthwhile buying in decent quantity when there’s a sale on.

  7. claire93 says:

    I’ve just been naughty and bought some half price stretchy fabric because with only 50cm by bolt width I’ll be able to get 2 pairs of toddler leggings out of only 4€ worth of fabric lol.

  8. nanacathy2 says:

    And why not? It’s gorgeous.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.