Bee, Myself & I #52, Parterre Block 19

Gosh, it’s been a while, hasn’t it?

End of January, to be exact. When time is short, it’s always the projects you’re doing for yourself that fall by the wayside, and Parterre is no exception. It’s probably just as well all the blocks are all slightly different and assembly is involved, as they form sort of mini-projects in their own right. The process is very familiar by now, as is the order in which things need to be assembled. The difference comes from the colours and combinations of fabrics.

This one is a tiny bit different in that the flower almost matches, rather than being quite different from the other fabrics. I like the effect, and I may make a few more like this and sprinkle them around the layout of the finished quilt. At some point, I’ll also have to decide how many blocks I’m making. These blocks are 10 inches square. I suspect I will lose the will to live if I have to make enough blocks to achieve lap quilt size, so I’ll probably end up bordering each block to bring it up to 12 inches, and then sash. That will also have the virtue of standardising the final size of each block.

Bee, Myself and I is a forum for ‘selfish sewing’; any stitchery which is purely for pleasure and not to a deadline or for anyone else. The original concept belongs to Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl. To find out more, you can click through on either her blog link, or using the button a fair way down in the left hand column of this blog.

Until next time… whenever that is!

22 thoughts on “Bee, Myself & I #52, Parterre Block 19

  1. kymlucas says:

    The colors remind me of spring, always a welcome season here.

  2. Love the name of the cotton … South India in its glory. Looks beautiful as always.

  3. Glad you found the time for a bit of “selfish” sewing 🙂

  4. cedar51 says:

    love the notion of the “selfish” sewing – I could easily apply that to lots of things in my life. Of late because I’m not doing well in the morning, I’m being right “selfish about getting properly out of bed, just because I
    am awake”

    love how you create your different blocks and the kind of materials you seem to have on hand.

    • katechiconi says:

      Almost everything I make is for someone else. It’s nice to make something for myself sometimes, and to experiment. I don’t have a lot of fabric, just small quantities of lots of different ones. I made a point of reducing my stash so that I didn’t have a lot of value tied up in fabrics I didn’t want to use because they were ‘too good’, etc.

  5. tialys says:

    The plaid is lovely in its own right but blends in so well with the other fabrics you’ve used.

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    Can’t believe it’s been so long. Love the colours.

  7. Debbierose says:

    Beautiful pattern, simplicity with elegance combined

  8. Going Batty in Wales says:

    Those are quite subdued colours for you Kate – very different from the ribbon star blocks. I’m not sure why selfishness has such a bad reputation – we all need time to care for ourselves – it is only when taken to excess that it becomes a problem

    • katechiconi says:

      The Parterre quilt is going to be a very different proposition from Floribunda 🙂 Many of the colours I use for it are strong and saturated, but sometimes you just have to give the eye somewhere to rest amongst all the different colours and patterns. Floribunda’s a much more limited palette, despite its brightness. Selfish sewing lets me try out ideas that will take a long time or are a bit experimental, without imposing them on other people, who may want their quilt sometime in the next year or so!

  9. craftycreeky says:

    Love the colours, especially the plaid on the right

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.