Bee, Myself and I # 14

We’re back to situation normal this month, and three hatbox blocks.

As you read this, the Husband and I will be tootling along the Queensland back roads towing Miz Lizzie behind us, on our long holiday journey south. But knowing this, I got my blocks and post prepared and scheduled in advance. Lynn at Tialys is also making a hatbox quilt wall hanging, but started later and has fewer to make, so we’re hoping to finish at the same time. Click through to her blog to have a look at hers, they’re all gorgeous, being made from Liberty fabrics. She’s in a later timezone than I am, so maybe wait a little before you go over there to give her time to get her post up.

Here are this month’s offering, blocks 25, 26 and 27. Which means that I have only nine blocks left to make! Hurrah!

My favourite of these is the duck egg blue with large cream flowers, followed by the lilac paisley. No surprise there, then….

Sorry about the slightly strange curved shadow across the top of the second and third image; it’s the edge of my daylight lamp, and I accidentally let the flash create a shadow which of course didn’t show in the viewfinder. By the time I saw it when I was editing, it was too late to re-shoot.

Bee, Myself and I is a forum for ‘selfish sewing’; any stitchery which is purely for pleasure and not for anyone else. The original concept belongs to Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl. To find out more, you can click through on either her blog link, or using the button a fair way down in the left hand column.

I think I need to do a bit of an edit of my hatbox fabric selection. I seem to have a strong tendency to prioritise the brighter ones over the more traditional and muted designs and colour-ways. Must introduce some of those…

29 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I # 14

  1. Looks like you are having fun.

  2. kathyreeves says:

    I don’t know Kate, I’m loving that wild seashell print! 😀 Have a great time on your trip!

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s a Phillip Jacobs print for Westminster Fibers. He did it in a variety of colourways; my personal favourite are the naturals, but the pinks are also amazing!

  3. Beautiful hat boxes! Have fun toodling with Miss Lizzie!

  4. […] and we pledged to make three a month.  Kate has more to do than me (you can see her progress here)  and these are (possibly) my final […]

  5. tialys says:

    I love the seashell one too! Managed to get up early and get mine on as I’m out all day now. I hope you’re having a good journey and I look forward to hearing about your trip – did you take your F2F hand quilting to do in the end or just the embroidery?

    • katechiconi says:

      No, as well as the embroidery I’ve taken a couple of bags of scraps to make two ScrapHappy blocks, as that falls due almost the day after I get back. I have my smallest ruler and cutting mat, my sleeve board and Lilibet with me, so hopefully I’ll find time to do some sewing 🙂

  6. claire93 says:

    these are going to make one magnificent quilt

    • katechiconi says:

      I think so too. My vision for it has evolved a little; originally I’d planned a very muted vintage look, but I just can’t seem to stay away from the bright and modern prints!

  7. I love everyone of your hat boxes. I got the book with the pattern and shared it with a friend who loves applique quilting but thinks this is beyond my capacity to accomplish. I feel quite determined and am collecting fabrics. The background fabrics are the hardest choices for me. You have so inspired me.

  8. Happy tootling 🙂

  9. lucyannluna says:

    Lovely fabric, very pretty

  10. Jule says:

    Love the way the shell fabric makes the box look 3D. 🙂

  11. rutigt says:

    And my favorite is the shell fabric!!!! Hope you are having a great trip! Drive with care!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a pretty one, isn’t it? We’re having lots of fun so far, and I’ve seen friends and family today that I haven’t seen for nearly a year 🙂

Leave a Reply

