Signed, Tealed & Delivered #2: fabric update

Please call off the search!

I’ve located the perfect airmail stripe at Hawthorne Threads in the US, for a reasonable price and even more reasonable postage.

Grateful thanks to everyone who offered to look and send me something, I really appreciate it, especially those of you who’d have to send it a long way 🙂

There has been a brilliant response to the call to action for this quilt. We now have just the following blocks left for which we don’t yet have a maker committed:

  • 9 paper pieced envelope blocks
  • 4 appliqué postcard blocks

If necessary, I can make these up myself, but if anyone out there is debating whether they have time to help or not, you have a while to think about it, as I don’t plan to start assembling till September.

Now for some other news. Katy Cameron of The Littlest Thistle had created a lovely paper pieced envelope block for an Easter post on her blog in April. It was too small to use here, but she has very kindly resized it for us to use for ST&D. If you are making one of the paper pieced envelope blocks and would like to use it, please let me know, together with an email address if I don’t already have one for you, and I’ll send you the pdfs.  A link to the relevant blog post can be found here, so you can see what the block looks like. I’m so grateful to Katy for saving me the trouble of drawing one up myself!

And finally, I’ve just heard from Ovarian Cancer Australia that TWX has arrived safely and they’re absolutely delighted with it.

Well done, you lot!

19 thoughts on “Signed, Tealed & Delivered #2: fabric update

  1. Wow! Perfect material. So glad you found it. I’m very tempted to have go at just one square. I’ve never done anything like this before and would probably have to ask you a heap of questions. Could you let me know more about how the process works. Is there a former post explaining? I’m tentatively dipping my toe in for such a wonderful project.

  2. tialys says:

    Perfect fabric for the binding!
    You can put me down for another envelope block if you like – so that will be two envelopes and a postcard for me. When you get back from your travels, you could email me Katy’s pattern and I’ll get going on them once I’m back from the U.K. and my Mum’ s visit to France is over. x

    • katechiconi says:

      I have them on the laptop, so I can email them to you now. You need to look at the blog first to see how they go together, as there are no instructions with the diagrams, but it’s very straightforward. Thanks for taking on another envelope!

  3. One last thought on the striped fabric: if you ask the manufacturer directly, it’s possible they would send it to you for free, given the nature of the quilt. Maybe not, but it wouldn’t hurt to ask!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s already on its way, but that’s a great idea for future purchases for OCA quilts, I’d never have thought of doing that! Or even asking the big craft store where I buy batting, thread and some of my basic fabrics… Great idea!

  4. kathyreeves says:

    I’ll do 2 envelopes and a postcard too, if you need it later.

  5. Chris S in Canada says:

    That fabric looks perfect, so glad you got a decent price. Perhaps next quilt there will be something I can help with. As I said, time is my enemy and I know I wouldn’t get a block done.

    I look forward to seeing your travelogue – and the quilt in a few months.
    Chris S in Canada

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m sure we’ll have something you can help with some time 🙂 The last two days have been spend driving flat out, setting up, eating, sleeping and getting up to repeat the whole operation. Today and tomorrow have been/will be a little easier and I’ll be able to relax finally!

  6. Wow – those stripes are perfect!

  7. Lynda says:

    Kate, I did a search and couldn’t find the fabric and you’ve found it yourself. It’s perfect!

  8. rutigt says:

    I´m glad you found the right fabric! It´s perfect! If you still haven´t filled the list of making blocks after the summer, I can help you! I still sew two blocks and can make a third one 🙂

Leave a Reply

