You’ve got mail…

Er, what? 

Bear with me…

Here’s the deal. For a few days now, I’ve been mulling over an idea for the next Ovarian Cancer donation quilt. As some of you know (and most of you deplore!), I have a terrible habit of using puns not only in my posts, but sometimes in the names of my quilts. For Ovarian Cancer Australia donation quilts, these puns incorporate the word Teal, as that is the Ovarian Cancer colour. We’ve had ‘Time for Teal’, and ‘Tealed with a Kiss’. Now, it’s time for ‘Signed, Tealed & Delivered’. You see where I’m going with this, don’t you? The quilt is going to have a postal theme: postcards, envelopes, stamps, etc. Here’s where my thinking has arrived so far:

© 2017 TallTalesFromChiconia

As always, the colour scheme is predominantly shades of teal and cream. To give this one a bit more liveliness, though, I’m thinking we should add a bit more subsidiary colour, so long as there’s still plenty of teal and cream.

As before, I’m hoping for a collaborative quilt, and that some of you will be interested in participating. The idea I’m looking at calls for a number of different types of blocks: straightforward piecing of HSTs (half-square triangles), paper piecing (I’ll provide a pattern or you can make up your own), or appliqué/embroidery/piecing. This time, I’m asking for blocks to be 13 inches square instead of 12½; on the last two quilts, the quilting shrank the blocks to the point where it was sometimes a bit of a squeeze to trim out to the right size. For the four pieced corner blocks, you can stick to the 12½ inches square and I’ll just quilt them more lightly – I don’t want to make your arithmetic more complex than it has to be…

For this design, I’ll need 4 x HST envelope blocks for the corners, 13 x paper pieced envelope blocks, 10 x appliqué postcard blocks, an appliqué stamp block, an embroidered frank block and the usual ribbon appliqué block, which I’ll make myself unless someone out there is dying to give it a go. If I don’t get enough interest, I’ll modify this design to simplify things and slowly make the blocks I need myself.

If you’re interested in participating, either again or for the first time, please drop me an email using the details to be found on my Contact Me page, or say so in a comment below. And if you’re a new visitor, take a look at these previous Ovarian Cancer quilts for an idea of what we can achieve if we all work together 🙂

Time for Teal,  Stay Positive,  Tealed with a Kiss.

Do also go and have a look at my Ovarian Cancer Pinterest page, where I’ve saved some pins for inspiration for this and other ideas.

And finally, a plea for help: if anyone knows where I can buy a metre of red, white and blue diagonal stripe 100% cotton quilting fabric without paying a truly ridiculous amount of postage (US$50 postage for one yard!!), please let me know. I want it to bind the quilt, to give the effect of the stripes around the edge of an airmail envelope.

I hope some of you will join me on this next adventure!

 

 

58 thoughts on “You’ve got mail…

  1. What truly amazing projects Kate. Are the quilts auctioned to raise money for the charity? I’m in awe of the work that you have put into all those quilts, designing, co-ordinating, quilting and finishing. Fabulous work!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, Ovarian Cancer Australia has a fundraising month in May each year, and the quilts are auctioned then. It started when the F2F group lost a member to ovarian cancer. I promised her I’d take up the fundraising torch, and this will be the fourth, not include the one the group made on her behalf, which you can see if you go over to the Page for Pat.

      • Gosh! I’m sure the crafting community is going to save humanity from the self-destruct course it appears to be on! I’ll watch with interest to see how this one progresses.

      • katechiconi says:

        I won’t be starting it till August or so, as it’s for next May, but hopefully there’ll be an update before then 🙂

  2. Robin Murphy says:

    Happy to help out again kate. Trying to get my sewing mojo back after bilateral knee replacements. Will email you for the paper piecing block later.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve replied to your email separately, and I’m so glad you’re feeling well enough to join in again. But we’re not starting for a while, so make sure you’re fully healed first!

  3. craftycreeky says:

    Love your design, I’ll volunteer to make a couple of blocks again, I’m happy to do paper pieced, applique or the embroidered one, so see what everyone else wants to do and let me know what you need. I’ve got plenty of teal fabrics now 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d be exceptionally happy if you’d take on the embroidered frank, as I’m in awe of your embroidery skills, and I’d love to see what you do with a postcard block, given your Sketchbook work. May I put you down for those two?

  4. Sounds like a wonderful collaboration. I’ll keep my eye out for airmail envelope edging fabric ♡

    • katechiconi says:

      It would be stellar if you find some, I’ve gone on line and they’re out there, but either in the US with stupid postage charges, or a huge cost per metre, and with the best will in the world, I’m not paying $25 a metre for binding fabric!

  5. tialys says:

    I’m in again – I need an excuse to do a bit of paper piecing since F2F finished 😦
    Have you any news on how the ‘Stay Positive’ quilt did at the February auction?

    • katechiconi says:

      No, and my contact at OCA has moved on, and her replacement is new and isn’t sure… I’m waiting to hear that TWX arrived safely, but no news yet.
      Can I put you down for a couple of envelope blocks, or do you want an envelope and a postcard?

  6. It’s a great idea – count me in Kate. I’m afraid my appliqué and embroidery skills are a big fat zero but happy to paper piece a couple of envelopes for you. You probably know that Katy of The Littlest Thistle has just done a free pattern for an envelope – I’ve been itching for an excuse to do it! She’s done a 5 and 6 inch version – would you like it further sized up to say 7″? Or do you have a design you’d prefer. I will cheerfully go with the flow.

  7. Robin Murphy says:

    Happy to help again Kate. I need to get my sewing mojo back after my bilateral knee replacements. Not sure about my abilities with the post card, but will try a practice one, very happy to do envelopes from your pattern or another..

    • katechiconi says:

      If you’d prefer a simpler block, the 4 corners are pieced envelope blocks using just HSTs. You need to be careful not to overdo it! Let me know what you think – the paper pieced block is pretty simple, and the postcards are just decorated rectangles appliquéd to a background 🙂

  8. itwasjudith says:

    Hello, I’d love to take part but don’t think it’s feasible (have no machine + have never done quilting !).
    I’d be happy to send the fabric from the UK. Any hints as to any UK suppliers I could check for quilting fabric?

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d love for you to participate if you’d like to. The blocks in the 4 corners are something you could sew by hand if you felt it was feasible… I’ve been away from the UK too long to have a good idea where to find the fabric I need – perhaps one of the other followers might have an idea… If the worst comes to the worst, I’ll have to sew strips together and make a wide, wide stripe 🙂

      • itwasjudith says:

        s the block meant to be just a layer, i.e. if I understand backing etc would be done later, right? My hand sewing skills are ok but not great, I wonder if the result could be of any use… let me take another look at the blocks 🙂
        I’ll also make a search for the striped fabric. Do you have a link to show the striping you had in mind, or any cotton in that colour scheme would do?

      • katechiconi says:

        As I said in my separate email, don’t worry about a block. It would have been simply a top layer, but I think I’ll have enough contributions to be able to reassure you that sewing is not needed! Also as I said, I have found THE perfect airmail stripe fabric, so you can call off the search for that too 🙂

      • itwasjudith says:

        Sorry, I probably should say that I’ve never done any quilting and don’t know much about it. That said, I’d be willing to give it a try, if that doesn’t cause any problem…. What is the timescale for the blocks?
        I looked for the fabric online, no luck so far. Will keep looking..
        I’ll email you, rather than spamming your blog post 😉

      • katechiconi says:

        For information, then, or perhaps another time: you would only need to sew the front layer of the block. The batting and backing and all the quilting are added by me before stitching the blocks together. There, now you know for another time 🙂

  9. Your striped binding fabric may be easier to find if you don’t require it to be on the diagonal. You can cut your binding to create the diagonal with a bias binding. Would that work?

  10. Chris S in Canada says:

    My quilting skills aren’t bad, but time is my enemy. I am happy to search for the binding fabric and figure out a way to send it to you. I work with a woman whose daughter and family live in Aus., so if there is visiting I might be able to tuck it in a suitcase.

    What is your deadline for getting the stripe?
    Chris S in Canada

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d say September; if we can’t solve the problem by then I’ll have to start looking for another solution. Thank you so much for considering this, I do appreciate it 🙂

  11. rutigt says:

    I can do one application or two. Just tell me what to do (envelop, stamp, postcard….whatever). I love your ideas and this is really for a good cause. I don´t know if I´ve told you, but my mother died in ovarian cancer 8 years ago.

  12. magpiesue says:

    Those corner envelope blocks would be right up my alley. I’d be happy to make one or two of those for you. On the other hand, I wonder what it would cost me to purchase the binding fabric here in the US and ship it to you? Might have to go weigh a yard and do some calculating….

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d love it if you could do 2 of the corner blocks – I have a couple of people already on the stripe fabric issue. Thank you for volunteering once again 🙂

  13. Chris S in Canada says:

    You’ll think I’m a nutter because this is totally off topic. A couple of weeks ago I was reading your back posts about food. I read about your clay baker and was intrigued, I see them now and again at thrift stores, but was not sure about getting one. Saw one last night and took the plunge. It’s a Romertopf #111, sticker still on the top. Not huge, but enough for the big guy and me. Now I have to find a corner in the kitchen for my $10 purchase and plan our first clay pot dinner. I’ll let you know how it goes.
    Chris S in Canada

    • katechiconi says:

      I keep mine IN the oven, which is huge, lid upside down inside the bottom section, which is the suggested way. The main thing I use it for is chicken roasting, you get wonderfully juicy and tender chicken and a load of broth for making gravy!

      • Chris S in Canada says:

        I’d never get away with keeping it in the oven, we use the oven so often, at least in 3 seasons. Hmmm, maybe I can clean out that drawer down below – give one of my graniteware roasters to my step-son. And I’m sure there’s a couple of older frying pans and some little bits and bobs that could go away. That would serve 2 purposes. Might keep the clay one wrapped in a tea towel so it doesn’t clank or break. Chicken will be the first thing I try, then maybe a pot of veg and rice to go with salmon or something.

        So glad I read your original post to encourage me to try it.
        Chris S in Canada

      • katechiconi says:

        If you cook fish in it, make sure to scrub it out *quickly* as the flavour can be absorbed into the clay. Either that, or see if you can find another one, and use that one just for fish!

  14. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    another stunner in the making !!

  15. nettyg says:

    I’ll do applique, And my daughter’s heading this way from the states in June, she’d be happy to bring some fabric. Talk to you about it Tuesday.

  16. anne54 says:

    The response has been amazing so far, Kate! What a wonderful community to rally so quickly for this deserving cause. As you know quilting is not my thing, but I will keep an eye out for teal fabric.

    • katechiconi says:

      Teal fabric: always welcome! I’m very happy at how people have come forward this time; I hoped that would be the case when I asked for a variety of different blocks and formats, and it has paid off 🙂 Once I get back, I’ll collate all the offers and repost to show what options are still left. This is going to be such a fun quilt!

  17. Kate one of my bakers at the store is Australian and her mother is coming to visit us in the US in June. I could find some fabric and send it back with her on the plane 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I managed to locate some stripe fabric of the right colour and scale online from Hawthorne Threads in the US just before we left. And they didn’t charge me an arm, a leg and my firstborn, so it’s all good! But thank you so much for your very kind offer. If you spot something pretty in teal and you’d like to have me include it in the quilt, perhaps she could bring that, if you think of it…? Thank you!

  18. I love it! And I see you found the perfect air mail fabric to go with it. Well done, well done!

  19. Oh my goodness! What a GORGEOUS design! How did I miss this one;). Of course I will help. It always feels good to be a part of something that includes other great quilters. Thx for organizing this:)

Leave a Reply

