Time for more teal

Once again, there’s another quilt in the pipeline, apart from my Selfish Hatbox one.

Pat1fromKateWhen I was in Melbourne earlier this week, I dropped into the offices of Ovarian Cancer Australia. I showed them the quilt the F2F team had made for Pat, and asked if they’d like a quilt a year of their own for fundraising purposes. Yes please, they’d be delighted!

So, it’s time for more teal.  They originally asked whether I could get one ready for a fundraising event in May, but even at my usual rate of working, that was a bit too much of an ask, particularly as I have family visiting later this month and other things going on. However, there’ll be another event later in the year, so I’ll aim for that.

I’ll be doing the same sort of block as we do for F2F, and following the same format as Pat’s quilt, so if there’s anyone out there who’d like to contribute a teal block, all comers are welcome. 12.5 inches square unfinished, any design, so long as it’s teal on cream or beige or pale tan. You can see the sort of colour scheme we’re after from the original quilt shown in the link above. Perhaps some of you who haven’t felt able to join F2F because of the commitment might feel that one block is not too much of an ask? I’ll be making another teal ribbon block for the quilt, because they felt it was a good motif to include, but aside from that, the brief is wide open.

I don’t have access to a longarm quilting machine, and quilting a piece this size on a domestic machine is beyond my strength any more, so it’ll probably end up being a QAYG job with neutral narrow sashing between the blocks, which I think will look pretty good too.

Anyone out there who has a little free time, some fabric and would like to help make a difference? Or if you don’t sew, but would like to help in other ways, leave me a comment, and I’ll put you in touch with the lady in charge of fundraising there.

 

22 thoughts on “Time for more teal

  1. Magpie Sue says:

    Maybe a long arm quilter near you will step up to the plate to quilt this one for you. I would be happy to contribute at least one block. 🙂

  2. anne54 says:

    Great idea, Kate. I hope you get swamped with blocks and need to make a second quilt!

    • katechiconi says:

      That would be great, but perhaps a little scary… ooh, the pressure! But what fun to have blocks to pick and choose the best layout and still more to start the next!

  3. Do we have different definitions of QAYG? To me, that is piecing the blocks through all three layers, which only works with simple geometric designs.. In which case, contributors would need to use the same batting and backing fabric. Or do you mean sandwiching and quilting the blocks one at a time? Either way, I’d like to contribute a block if I can.

    • katechiconi says:

      My definition of QAYG is a finished block which is then sandwiched and quilted, to be joined to other blocks made the same way, with narrow sashing. And anything you’d like to contribute would be extremely welcome 🙂

  4. claire93 says:

    I’m more than happy to make a block, Kate. It will be practise for the 2016-2017 F2F swap ^^
    If I make and send in April, will that be good for you?

  5. tialys says:

    I’ll be contributing. Maybe, if you don’t need them straight away, I could put one or two in with the blocks I send to you when you are ‘Miss May’.

  6. Lorij says:

    Hi Kate, I’ll try to do a block too, maybe two. I need to know where to send them. Lorij

  7. Grannymar says:

    Bless your energy, Kate. I will follow along and give support, but no block from me… Hospice is close to my heart, first as the wife of a patient, then as a volunteer and eventually in full employment there until health issues forced me to stop. These days I help in the background as and when I can.

  8. Thimberlina says:

    I’m in! Thanks for the email 😃

  9. rutigt says:

    I´ll try to sew a block, because it is for a good cause!

  10. dezertsuz says:

    I was wondering if you could quilt it in fourths? Maybe that would make it easier to put together? You could still have the sashing, but it wouldn’t be a bunch of small blocks to put together. It’s lovely of you to make one for them.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s indeed something I was considering. I shall wait till I have all the blocks I need before deciding. I think the lovely teapot and teacup blocks which are coming will need individual treatment to make them stand out, but the outer borders could be quilted in situ once the centre is assembled. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

