A cushie for your tushie

Now that it’s in the hands of its new owner, I can reveal the Secret Sewing I’ve been working on..

I follow a blog called The Kitchens Garden. It was the first blog I ever followed when I started blogging, and it’s still my favourite of all time. The blog’s resident genius, Cecilia, posted a while back about the joys and ways of saving for something you really want. In her case, it was travel, to visit her far flung children on the other side of the globe.

Cushie frontOne thing she said was that her writing chair was becoming bony and uncomfortable. Normally, she’d be thinking of replacing it, but she was Saving, so it would  have to last a bit longer. I knew right then that a Chiconian cushion was going to make its home on the seat of that bony old writing chair.
Cushie backHere’s how it’ll look once stuffed – I’ve given her just the cover to reduce bulk as she’s travelling. She can insert a pad when she gets it home. If you want to know where the name for this post came from, just read the comments on her Saving blog!

 

A double bonus for us, the lucky few, having lunch together and meeting a mutual hero!

38 thoughts on “A cushie for your tushie

  1. dayphoto says:

    Lucky, lucky you! And lucky her! YAY!

    Linda

  2. I love the way the Internet connects us. You and Cecilia, once strangers, are friends despite miles. And now this lovely gift. We may be dealing with global warming but we’ve got global heartening too!

    • katechiconi says:

      And global reaching out and friendships! Such fun, too, to meet the true voice of the Farmy. I’m so glad we were able to make it happen, and so grateful that Celi made time for us when her family had first call on her time and attention.

  3. Debbierose says:

    Love it, gr8 use for those scrap pieces

  4. Eha says:

    Darn it, Kate: you do have some photos re THAT Melbourne lunch – isn’t there even one you can ‘release’ . . . 🙂 . .? . . .with love but frustration . . .

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d like nothing better than to post a lovely gloat about the wonderful time had by all, with photos galore, but not without permission! Celi has posted what she feels comfortable with, and I respect her position.

  5. tialys says:

    I love the little label on the back – it makes it so personal.

  6. claire93 says:

    what a lovely personalised gift!

  7. I guessed right about the recipient! I’m still waiting for the stories of the meeting – Celie’s blog today is very restrained, she called the lunch ladylike! So I take it you were all on your best behaviour…
    I love the cushion – great colours for C.
    love,
    ViV

    • katechiconi says:

      I shall email you, Viv. But it was a truly lovely lunch, I had a blast, met new friends, and we were not particularly ladylike… Celi is much quieter than I, who loves to talk and talk, so it was important to listen, because when she did speak, it was well worth hearing!

      • I’m so glad it was a success (and envious). I’ve been trying to help a friend unblock her telephone, which requires a ludicrous number of robotic phone calls to get the codes – so far 18 at 3 euros each, and she’s only 45% unblocked. Jock has forbidden me to continue, so I reckon I’ll be losing a friend. I keep saying to her that it’s a scam, (we’re doing the whole operation by facebook messaging, laborious in the extreme) but she wants me to carry on. I’m going to log off now and have my lunch (it’s nearly 2pm and we’ve been at it since 12!

  8. Lorij says:

    Kate it’s beautiful! What a wonderful gift. I’m sure that meeting someone whom you’ve admired for such a great time was awesome!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      I counted it a great privilege; she has so many followers all round the world, but she made time for the three of us in a very busy time when she was visiting family.

  9. I remember that post about her chair. And no one but you thought of the cushion!!! I know she loved it and the tag at the back. 🙂 It’s just wonderful! I met Miss C here in Portland, OR a while back and posted about it. It wasn’t a sweet lunch though. 🙂 I’m sure she felt the same about meeting all of you. I would. 🙂 Think I will go make myself a cushion now…uhm, when I get back from my trip. 🙂 Have a wonderful day.

    • katechiconi says:

      It wasn’t a hard one: I just made the back first, with the concealed zipper, then hand hemmed the lining on either side of the zipper on the inside. Then I made the patchwork for the front, made a quilt sandwich and quilted it. Then I just placed the two sides together, lining to lining, and bound it like a quilt, but with a narrower than usual binding. Job done, and no silly stuff about turning things inside out! Do let me know when you’ve made yours, I’d like to see it – or better still, show it for ScrapHappy on 15 March, and I’ll link to your blog!

  10. rutigt says:

    Oh, that´s a great idea and a lovely cushion!

  11. Grannymar says:

    I love the cushion and the message on the back. So glad your lunch went well.

  12. Yay! She’s been one of my favourites the whole time, too – you may have noticed I’m behind on reading posts but I NEVER miss hers!

  13. The colours are so rich. I’m sure your cushion will be cherished forever. What a gorgeous gift!

  14. wordstrumpet says:

    I found you through Celi of course but I’ve never commented before. The cushion drives me to, though! It is gorgeous and what a thoughtful gift. As a writer who spend long hours at my desk, I know how important comfort for the bum is!

    • katechiconi says:

      Hi there! Welcome, and come over and comment anytime 🙂 I too spend long hours sitting at a desk, although my action involves the sewing machine, and a sore bum truly is a concentration killer. I love to make things, I love to read Celi’s blog, and the two came together when I got the chance to finally meet her!

  15. irmi says:

    Oh, Kate, your cushion has come out wonderfully. It’s a really beautiful one. I can imagine how Celi was pleased to receive it from you personally! – Great that you have met……..

  16. Lynda says:

    It’s lovely! You are a good and generous friend, Kate. I am sure she will enjoy it for many years.

Leave a Reply

