A Message from the Universe

When life tries to tell you something, listen.

With Obstacles one and two, I thought I just needed to press on regardless. Obstacle three smacked me upside the head and I finally paid attention.

This is where I’d got to. (Things look just a tiny bit different now, but you’ll see that in a later post).

Obstacle one was Higgins deciding that my paper pattern was a delicious treat I was withholding from him, and he was going to chew chunks out of it. ‘The dog ate my homework’. Literally. But seriously, it wasn’t that bad, and after hearing the rustling and hurtling around the corner of my work table to see him mauling my hard work, I managed to rescue it before anything terminal happened. It’s patched and a bit soggy in places but still perfectly usable.

Obstacle two was the overlocker (serger) unthreading itself again, and again, and again. I finally got it going once more, and zoomed up the second front dart (hidden under the outer pin tuck on the bodice front).

And that’s when Obstacle three made itself known. I’d been so preoccupied with getting the dratted edge finished off that I’d failed to notice I’d had the corner of the neck opening tucked under. I’d sliced a good inch off the corner. It had all been going too well…

People, I listened, finally. It was time to call it a day.

Having conceded defeat, the Universe permitted me to rescue the situation. I added a ‘feature’ patch to even up the chopped off corner. I will be adding a button to make it look more purposeful, and a loop on the other side. Neither of them needed, but we do what we must.

Tomorrow, I shall be gathering the centre part of the back, then stitching on the back yoke. If no more thunderbolts are sent from above, I might try and join front to back at the shoulders and maybe, just maybe, let in the sleeve heads.

Watch this space. I’ll try to avoid bloodshed.

35 thoughts on “A Message from the Universe

  1. tialys says:

    This brings back memories of my pintuck (mis) adventures although no dogs were involved. 

    I’m sure you’ll make it work in the end and it’s definitely a gorgeous colour.

  2. Going Batty in Wales says:

    Higgins and Evie are two of a kind! I hope things go better tomorrow

  3. How we handle the little and not-so-little frustrations is how we handle the big. Bravo for your resourcefulness!

  4. I love your Overcoming Obstacles Patch Solution!

    XO

  5. Dayphoto says:

    Listening to the Universe is the hardest thing to do—until it finally smacks us in the head. Ya did good, Girlfriend!! You did good

  6. It’s always good to listen to the Universe. Very often it says “not today, honey” So I move on to something else and wait till it all wants to work. Been there often. You are much more tenacious than I. It would have been binned by now. 🙂

  7. magpiesue says:

    I hope things go better between this stage and the finish!

  8. well thank goodness Higgins fancied the paper and not the fabric. Naughty boy! I know you will persist and the end result will be worth all the effort

    • katechiconi says:

      Higgins has a fascination with paper and wrappers and will go diving in the recycling bin for entertainment. I guess the sight of a large white paper pattern piece was temptation beyond endurance!

  9. Oh no. Some times we just need to say enough. But I’m looking forward to seeing the finished item. It looks very bright!

    • katechiconi says:

      It is, a gorgeous flaming vermilion. Front now attached to back, sleeve heads in, side seams, hems and a neck band to attach and it’s done. Really a very simple pattern.

  10. Oh, Kate. We’ve all had those days, but you seem to be getting more than your share lately. I hope you got some rest.

    • katechiconi says:

      It was just one of those days. You know the kind, where Murphy reigns supreme, the phone never stops, and you get stabbed an unfeasible number of times by pins. Glad that was yesterday. Today was better.

  11. Lynda says:

    Your solution to your dilemma sounds like a good save and very creative. I’m glad you found a fix and took time to unwind. I once cut about two inches off the corner of a piece that was to fit into the waistband of a skirt at the hip. Lucky for me it was a loose fitting style and the fabric was a print. I found the perfect match in the scraps and was able to cut and sew it into place. By the time it was all seamed and assembled it was never noticed. We make it work! 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I actually contemplated cutting the other side of the neckline down to match, but I also wanted to fix the mess I’d made! I like your print fabric solution – I think I’d have done the exact same thing.

  12. nanacathy2 says:

    Good luck with this. Over the years I have learned to listen to life’s obstacles and desisted in something. Sometimes it really is a warning from a higher power!

  13. I am so sorry but I did have quite the laugh while reading the paragraph about Higgins newly discovered dietary addition! I am sorry though and glad it is still usable! Congratulations on overcoming the obstacles and rescue the situation. Always smart to take a break from something when the Universe is throwing things in your path!

  14. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    Some days hey !!! But all in all it wasn’t really bad bad and it made melaugh when you told the dog had a bite in your design. Poor thing was hungry maybe ??

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.