The Unmaking

Sometimes, you just have to do it.

Unmake something you love, so it can live again.  I have – had – a favourite top. It was made of fine, smooth cotton lawn, in a vibrant shade of orange with white motifs on it. I bought it in an op/charity/thrift shop for $5, and wore it weekly for many years. It was perfect for our climate, it was cheerful and comfortable, and I loved it.

It was starting to show its age. It was faded. I’d mended it once, twice, and then it started to get very thin under the arms from wear and friction. And then the neck band started to fray and wear through. I had to concede. Time and physics defeated me. So I began the Unmaking.

Have you ever tried unpicking overlocking/ serging? It’s a Lot, especially as it was good quality 4-thread overlocking. I was urged to simply cut it off, but if you do that, you lose your seam allowances. So I unpicked every single thread. Then I starched the pieces firmly and pressed everything flat (or as flat as they’d go after years of curving around me).

And then, remembering how they’d all gone together, and where bits might have been trimmed off, I traced around every piece onto large sheets of butcher’s paper, and labelled and ruled straight grain lines and marked where pieces should match up.

I’ve modified the pattern slightly. I’m making a simpler front opening. There was an elaborate placket around a slit in the front neckline. I don’t need that, it contributes nothing to the design. I’m going to add a simple facing and make a rectangular slot.

The Unmaking is done. Now I’m ready for the Making of a new friend.

33 thoughts on “The Unmaking

  1. waiting to see you lovely new top!

  2. I bet you have some amazing fabric just lying in wait! I hope you show us favourite top II !

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re totally right! I have some ‘Fiery Red’ fine poplin, and I cut out Mark II today. It won’t feel quite the same, but the poplin is fine, so it’ll still be comfortable.

  3. It’s great that you *wore something out because you loved it*. Not many do that anymore.

  4. Looking forward to the new 🆕 top 💃

    • katechiconi says:

      I finished something for a friend this afternoon, and then, while I was still in the zone, I cut out FaveTop’s latest incarnation. Watch this space.

  5. Quite the consolation that you can make a new favourite from the old. Sometimes it the fabric even more than the cut, hopefully you can find a similar fabric so it feels the same when you wear it.

    • katechiconi says:

      It was both. The fabric was whisper light, but I haven’t been able to find anything in the right colour palette, so I went with a bright red poplin instead. It’s a *little* heavier, but still cool and light.

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    Clever idea. Funny how attached we become to some clothes and how sad it is when they bite the dust. Well done on some unmaking. Good luck.

  7. I am learning so much from your process!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d recommend not leaving it quite so late if you have any thoughts of doing something similar! You can see from the photo that the neck band was in fragments. And while the unpicking was tedious, it is worth it in the long run.

  8. Caroline says:

    the Phoenix will rise

  9. Reincarnation of the shirt variety!

  10. jatshaw says:

    Impressive! Can’t wait to see the new one.

  11. Dayphoto says:

    REINCARNATION!!! You got it figured out! YAY

  12. craftycreeky says:

    Can’t wait to see your new top. Re unpicking overlocking threads, I read somewhere that an electric razor/shaver is great for that, never tried it mind!

    • katechiconi says:

      We don’t have such a thing, so I’ll stick with my stitch ripper! I did discover the one thread in that particular pattern that you could pull through to release the rest, but only after I’d unpicked 80% of it the hard way!

  13. Lynda says:

    Been waiting for this! Your detail and explanation are very helpful, thank you, Kate. I look forward to seeing your fabric and the steps to the finish. Unpicking is always a pain to be sure.

  14. You are amazing! Looking forward to see how it comes out!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.