ScrapHappy June

Welcome once again to ScrapHappy Day!

It’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

This month, I’ve been busy with the latest Ovarian Cancer fundraising quilt, so naturally, there’s been an awful lot of teal scraps around the place. And I felt the need to make something with the scraps that were too small to be useful for anything around this year’s theme. So here we are. Four scrappy teal blocks. I haven’t a clue what I’ll use them for; they may find a home on this quilt, they may be the start of a future quilt, but I’ve reduced a bit of waste, recycled some leftovers and turn bits into useful pieces.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps of anything – no new materials. It can be a quilt block, pincushion, bag or hat, socks or a sculpture. Anything made of genuine scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful or useful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. We welcome new members. You don’t have to worry about making a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link. Regular contributors will receive an email reminder three days before the event.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at). The list below is the most current one I have, so if you’d like me to update something, let me know in the Comments. Please note that Nanette has asked to come off the list as she will be working on other projects for a while.

KateGun, EvaSue, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy,  Tracy, 
JanMoira, SandraChrisAlys,
ClaireJeanJon, DawnGwen,
Sunny, Kjerstin, Sue LVera, Edith
 Ann, Dawn 2, Carol, Preeti,
DebbieroseNóilinViv, Karrin,
Amo, Alissa, Lynn, Tierney and Hannah

37 thoughts on “ScrapHappy June

  1. I like the scrappy teal blocks! Teal is such an amazing color!

  2. What a pretty use of scraps!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s one of my favourite ways of using them up. I’ve made three rainbow scrappy quilts with this method already, so I thought, why not a teal one? Perhaps with one multicoloured block in the group for fun!

  3. These are lovely! And truth be known, my favorite color!

  4. You can’t go wrong with these colours! Beautiful squares ❤

  5. tialys says:

    Lovely – I think scraps of teal are all I have left now so might have to do something similar,

  6. […] Joining with Kate and other Scrap Happy peeps.. have you too many scraps.. need ideas. link here-https://talltalesfromchiconia.wordpress.com/2023/06/15/scraphappy-june-4/ […]

  7. claire93 says:

    I’m sure you’ll find a use for these! maybe some teal cushion covers for the money raiser too?

  8. Wonderful combination of all those patterns and love the colours. They are calling out to be used

  9. Susan Nixon says:

    I’ve done a lot in those colors, too. They are so appealing, and I’ve cut some 6.5″ unfinished blocks in half to use around a central square and contrasting corners. Fun to make! Great scrap blocks.

  10. Going Batty in Wales says:

    Those blocks are such a good way to use up small scraps and your eye for colour is amazing!

  11. rutigt says:

    Love your blocks in teal! They will absolutely fit in a new quilt!

  12. mlmcspadden says:

    Love the scrappy teal blocks and the sparks of color through out them. Looking forward to seeing what you do with them.

  13. mlmcspadden says:

    Teal is one of my fav colors. These blocks with the sparks of color in them are a wonderful start to some sort of project.

  14. love the colours, they absolutely dance.

  15. I think I only commented in my mind and in the comments, ha! I love the teal scrappy blocks! (and if this is a duplicate comment just ignore me) 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t think it’s a duplicate… I’m a bit all over the place as I’m away from home and trying to keep up with all the comments without everything in front of me! Glad you like them, anyway.

  16. I love these blocks and the teal color. I didn’t know how much until I started looking around and realized I’ve been buying little accessories in that color for years. So many variations of teal in the beholders eye. I’m very much behind here but hopefully will catch up soon.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s one of my favourites – just as well, really! I don’t think I’d have been able to keep going with the ovarian cancer quilts all these years if I’d hated the colour.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.