ScrapHappy April

Welcome once again to ScrapHappy Day!

It’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

Today, I’m showing you the start of something rather than a finished project. A bit of background: The Husband drives a truck and spends long hours in the driver’s seat. It’s loud, it’s boring and he needs something to help pass the time, so he wears big Bluetooth headphones which enable him to listen to music or talking books, take a hands-free phone call, and protect his hearing from the noise. The ones he likes tend to break easily in un-mendable ways, from either deterioration after constant use, or accidental dropping. I’ve found a way of salvaging at least something from this situation, which is the packaging. It’s beautiful. There’s a nearly-square box and the headphone are packed inside a nearly-oval zipped hard case, nesting in a drawer with a ribbon pull. I’m using the inner cases already in a variety of ways, but the packaging waste was bothering me.

So I’ve decided to make something from them. I have three of them (so far, anyway), so I’m going to stack them into a small drawer unit for keeping my sewing tools (cutter, scissors, tape measure, etc). On the outside, I’m going to glue fabric scraps and seal the whole thing with Mod Podge. I like the orange and white colours, so I’m only going to cover up the bits with pictures and writing. I started it too late to have the thing completed for this month’s ScrapHappy, so hopefully you’ll see either more progress or the finished thing next time. I’ll certainly have some gorgeous scraps left over from the Harlequin Coat project I have on the go to use on this.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps of anything – no new materials. It can be a quilt block, pincushion, bag or hat, socks or a sculpture. Anything made of genuine scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful or useful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. We welcome new members. You don’t have to worry about making a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link. Regular contributors will receive an email reminder three days before the event.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at). The list below is the most current one I have, so if you’d like me to update something, let me know in the Comments.  This month, we’re welcoming back Lynn after taking some time off from blogging, and Tierney, who’s creating something spectacular for you all to enjoy. Be sure to drop by and say hello!

KateGun, EvaSue, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy,  Tracy, 
JanMoira, SandraChrisAlys,
ClaireJeanJon, DawnJuleGwen,
Sunny, Kjerstin, Sue LVera, Edith
NanetteAnn, Dawn 2, Carol, Preeti,
DebbieroseNóilinViv, Karrin,
Amo, Alissa, Lynn and Tierney

49 thoughts on “ScrapHappy April

  1. Susan Nixon says:

    Interesting to see something that isn’t quilted! I like the idea. Some of the packaging of things that are Apple products just beg to be reused!

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree! I have two laptop boxes I can’t bear to throw out, not just because ‘you never know’ but also because they’re beautiful in their own right.

  2. tialys says:

    Aha! So this is the start of the cartonnage project. Intriguing.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, this is it. I’ve done a few tests and worked out that the wood glue works best for applying the fabric really securely, and quilting wonder clips are great when you want to clamp glued sections together!

      • tialys says:

        Wood glue eh? Never tried that. Wonder clips are wonderful for oh so many things – sorry for the completely unintended pun but I really do wonder what I ever did without them in my sewing/craft projects.

      • katechiconi says:

        PVA wood glue dries clear, rather handy for when you’re a bit too lavish with the application…

  3. Going Batty in Wales says:

    Clever!

  4. Debbierose says:

    Clever, recycled boxes are so handy. Reminds me I have pne stashed to jazz up.

    • katechiconi says:

      I actually had another one saved too, but they changed the packaging slightly and it’s a different size and doesn’t stack neatly. I shall have to wait a couple more years before I can do the same thing with another set of boxes!

  5. I can see why it was hard to toss these beautiful boxes! I love the drawer unit idea, looks like it is proceeding apace as well as your coat of many colours!

  6. claire93 says:

    they look like nice sturdy boxes, and I’m looking forward to seeing the final result!

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    I agree, too nice not to reuse. I saw magazine containers.

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re a tad bit small for that. Lying flat, they’re only about 9×8″ and about 2.5″ deep. They’ll corral my large scissors, tape measures, rotary cutter, quilting markers, pencil sharpener, etc, nicely. One drawer for cutty things, one drawer for writey things, one drawer for the other stuff.

  8. Amo says:

    Who isn’t a sucker for good packaging! I treat myself to at least one decent Advent calendar each year as long as it’s a good drawers one. My favourite one is a Whittard hot chocolate one I now have my goldwork supplies in. It’s dark blue with gold and blue stars all over it.

  9. clever and useful, what more can you ask for. I’m sure you will find lots of stuff to fill the spaces.

    • katechiconi says:

      Now if I was being really swanky, I’d stick a set of legs on it and change the ribbon pulls for something antique and original. But there aren’t enough hours in the day, and it’ll be just fine the way I plan it!

  10. Karrin Hurd says:

    Brilliant idea, I can’t wait to see the finished product.

  11. […] hosts a monthly celebration of reusing scraps and “scrap-happy challenges” called ScrapHappy Day and thanks to Alys @gardeningnirvana I found out about this monthly event and Kate let me […]

  12. […] hosts a monthly celebration of reusing scraps and “scrap-happy challenges” called ScrapHappy Day on the 15th of each month and thanks to Alys @gardeningnirvana I found out about this monthly event […]

  13. rutigt says:

    Another great idea and useful!

  14. kymlucas says:

    Very useful! In terms of scraphappy things at our house, I’m still on the afghans, but The Engineer made a lid for our compost bin out of the top of a grill we picked up while hiking. We were going to recycle the metal, but he had the idea to make it into a hinged lid for our bin. Not beautiful, but very functional!

  15. Books are addictive. I used to love changing them into starage for friends who were crafters.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.