Ovarian Cancer Quilts: We’re back in action!

Great news! Ovarian Cancer Fundraising is back on the agenda.

After a two year event hiatus thanks to The Rona, The Trudy Crowley Foundation is back in action, and a fund-raiser is on the agenda for early September, to help support the work of the newly-opened Trudy Crowley Centre. Take a quick look at the FB page on the link to see the amazing work they do at the newly opened Centre. I was there for the opening, and it was fantastic. They’ve created a marvellous safe space, conference room, self-care and advice haven for those with ovarian cancer and their families. It’s sterling work, and I’m proud to support it.

For those of you who previously worked on Ovarian Cancer quilts, you’ll be happy to know that the In the Arms of the Angels quilt is hanging prominently in the main meeting area for all to see.

As stated above, the event will be in early September. In order to co-ordinate, quilt and assemble the quilt in time for their photography deadline in mid-August, I’ll need the blocks mailed to me by the beginning of June. If you can fit this into your schedule and you’d like to participate, either for the first time or as a regular contributor, just email me (details on my Contact Me page) or leave a comment below and I’ll email you a brief.

And the name? Can you Teal the Love?

28 thoughts on “Ovarian Cancer Quilts: We’re back in action!

  1. Going Batty in Wales says:

    I wish I could help Kate – it is such a good cause – but realistically I know I won’t be able to. I hope lots of others can contribute.

    • katechiconi says:

      Not to worry. I’m actually prepared to make the whole thing myself if necessary, but I know that others have enjoyed participating in the past, so I thought I’d throw it open.

  2. kymlucas says:

    💙❤️❤️‍🩹

  3. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    I look forward to see how it turns out.

  4. tialys says:

    I could manage one or two. x

  5. Sharon says:

    Happy to read the event is back. I participated last time and would love to contribute again. Please email the info – nwpaintedlady@yahoo.com

  6. magpiesue says:

    This is wonderful news! And it makes me aware of one more thing I was missing in my life but hadn’t realized was missing. I’ve used up a good deal of my teal fabrics recently… But! May I send you a quilt top for someone else to complete?

    • katechiconi says:

      Of course! I’ll either get it quilted or do it myself – much more manageable now that I have a wide-throat machine. Thank you so much for this very, very generous donation! Do you want to name it? I’ll label it for you if you wish, or you could send me a label to attach when it’s done if you prefer.

  7. Wonderful that In the Arms of the Angels is in a prime position for all to appreciate.

  8. Emmely says:

    I e-mailed you! I won’t be able to make blocks this time but I thought of something else that may help.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hi Emmely, thank you so much! As I’ve said in earlier responses, I was quite prepared to make the whole thing myself, but a few people have stepped up, which will make the whole process easier. I’ll reply separately to the email.

  9. rutigt says:

    I´m in! This is an important issue! ❤

  10. jeanswenson says:

    Hi Kate! I would love to participate in this again. I just loved participating in Go Teal it on the Mountain. Let me know if there is anything more I should know. Thanks.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.