Gallimaufry: one more step to go

Sorry, I’ve been off the radar for a week, and scarcely realised it.

All sorts of not very blog-worthy stuff has been going on which has kept me busy. Not so busy, however that I was completely unable to sew.

A pretty bit of dappled late afternoon sun illuminating those central blocks. A very satisfying end to the day!

The light was going so it’s not a great shot, but you do get some idea of how the quilting looks.

We’re in the final straight with this one. Just the binding to go on and the label to sew in and then Gallimaufry will be ready to go in the washing machine and then onto my caravan bunk 🙂  The binding is made and the sewing machine is threaded with the right colour and fitted with the walking foot. We’re good to go. I know, I know, I said it would be ready by the weekend.

However, I very foolishly picked up the Anemone quilt to do some stitching in of hexie flowers while I watched the last few episodes of Masterchef. Net result, two lots of addictions: the series and the hand stitching. I’ll show you the sewing results another time, and I’m glad to report that the right person won the competition – by a single point!

Tomorrow I’ll sew the binding on, and then spend some contented hours hand stitching it down, one of my favourite parts of quilt-making.

More soon – or at least, sooner than last time, I promise!

42 thoughts on “Gallimaufry: one more step to go

  1. tialys says:

    Gorgeous Gallimaufry! Remind me what colour the binding will be.

    • katechiconi says:

      More of the very dark blue I used for the sashing. I’m really happy with how this quilt looks, I love the fabrics and I had fun with the blocks. It’ll be a pleasure to sleep under it!

  2. rutigt says:

    Love it! It´s very special with these colors and they go so well together. Makes the quilt exciting. I always find something new when I look at it.

  3. claire93 says:

    it’s lovely Kate! and quilting looks so neat!

  4. Lovely and I agree, the right person won!!

  5. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    soooo beautiful !!!!

  6. This is a really pretty combination of colors and fabrics. It’ll be a treat for you to use it in the caravan. (In the US we would call it a “camper.” But I like your word better.)

    • katechiconi says:

      For us, a camper is something else entirely, a trailer with a pop-up or fold out tent attached to it. But I agree, caravan is a prettier word, and hopefully, a prettier place with some home made textiles 🙂

  7. kathyreeves says:

    Your grids are so perfect across the back, beautiful work, Kate! I’ve had a similar week, I’m in the middle of several big projects and nothing seems very blog worthy, so I’ve been catching up on my book reviews. Lots of dreaming and planning, but not much to write about!

  8. It has turned out to be wonderful (I knew it would!)!!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’ve enjoyed this one a lot, and I’m very happy with the (almost) finished thing. Just a little bit left to do, and then I can get back to Sea Glass, which has been waiting patiently for my attention…

  9. So much lovely energy in this!

  10. nice… and what’s a few days between friends when you are having fun with other projects?

  11. dayphoto says:

    I love this! AND FOR SURE the Heart right in the middle!

  12. Jule says:

    Love the narrow sashing 🙂

  13. That is a very NICE quilt! All your quilts are AWESOME!!!

  14. Emma says:

    It’s really lovely, I really like how you kept the quilting simple but it’s so effective! And I’m so happy that Diana won Masterchef too, she totally deserved it!

    • katechiconi says:

      Until the day when the Quilting Fairy waves her wand over me and I can magically do FMQ without breaking a sweat, it’s going to be simple and mostly straight line stuff…

  15. craftycreeky says:

    Gorgeous! I love the sun ray blocks best 🙂

  16. magpiesue says:

    I’m glad to see you’re human enough to fall off the radar on occasion. 😉
    The quilt is looking lovely, as we all knew it would! I totally understand about getting sidetracked by other/additional projects. I don’t think there are going to be any batik scrappy trip blocks for the B, M&I this month again. I’d like to be able to show progress on a caravan though. First I have to find the right foundation fabric. Most everything I have in my stash is too busy or loud to stay in the background. The worst of it is that I don’t even feel like shopping for fabric these days!

    • katechiconi says:

      All too human, I fear… 😦 I think you’re probably on a bit of an embroidery fix right now, and I really don’t see why you shouldn’t show those for BM&I if that’s your current pleasure. I do hope you start to feel better soon, but I guess that’s down to weather, other people and luck, in that order. Fingers crossed!

  17. Hexies are addictive. The distraction was perfectly understandable.

    • katechiconi says:

      I thought so… It’s funny; with hand stitched projects I don’t mind having several on the go as they seem to fulfil separate functions in my handwork time. But with machine stitched projects, I feel the need to be more linear and disciplined.

Leave a Reply

