Gallimaufry: two thirds joined up

It’s almost done. I have 60% of it joined up.

I really, really like that narrow dark blue sashing between the squares. It puts a nice crisp edge on them, lines everything up, and is dark enough to throw everything else into contrast. Give me to the end of the week and I’ll have the joining up done and be ready to get the binding on.

There was a point halfway through making the blocks when I had a moment of doubt. Would it clash with the bird/seashell fabric for Miz Lizzie’s curtains? ย I don’t think so, on reflection. What do you think? Even if it’s a little bit off, I love this quilt. Can’t wait to use it for the first time on our next trip. Sadly that’ll probably not be till October :-/

Hope the good weather holds so I can take the final photos outside. Then you’ll see what it really looks like…

23 thoughts on “Gallimaufry: two thirds joined up

  1. tialys says:

    Absolutely no clashing going on there!
    The slim sashing looks good – what widths did you use this time?

    • katechiconi says:

      The front strips were cut to a scant inch wide and I was generous with the seam allowances. The back strips are 1.75 inches, which gives you a scant half inch wrapover to stitch down. It’s a tight squeak in places, but gives a nice narrow sash. And as it’s for me, I’m letting myself get away with the odd wobbly bit ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. How can there be clashing if it’s a mix of designs and colours you yourself have chosen? Everything will blend and connect beautifully!

  3. Beautiful and the curtain fabric is perfect. Looking forward to seeing the completed project.

  4. kathyreeves says:

    Well, if for some reason you can no longer stand that curtain fabric, I will make the ultimate sacrifice and become its foster parent along with Tracy’s black bordered quilt! It’s difficult, but I feel called….๐Ÿ˜‚

  5. craftycreeky says:

    Looks like it matches beautifully to me, I’m sure Miz Lizzie will love it!

  6. TERRI says:

    I’ve been following your progress since you began and I must say that the narrow sashing is the perfect finishing touch. The quilt is beautiful!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad you like it. I started off with a regular width, but it just looked thick and clumsy so I ripped it out and trimmed my strips down to 1 inch for the front and 1.75 inch for the back, and it’s trickier to apply but a much nicer finished effect.

  7. I think it will look great. And clash? Even if it did, who cares? You eyes will be closed when you use it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Lynda says:

    Kate, it is going to be wonderful. Several colors in the curtains are found in places within the quilt blocks.

    Your energy makes me smile. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a better match in real life and better lighting ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t get much done today except cutting joining strips, so it may be a few more days till it’s done, but as I’ve said elsewhere, there’s no rush!

  9. magpiesue says:

    It’s looking so good! I can see why you’re anxious to get it finished up and then put it to use. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s those last fiddly bits… The longest seams are the hardest with this assembly process, I always finish up with several bloody pin sticks and lots of salty language during the final one, where I’m wrestling the whole quilt :-/

  10. rutigt says:

    I think it is looking great with the dark blue sashing. I can see why you are so pleased with it!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

