TWX12: nearly there…

One more attempt at the layout, and this time, I’m pretty happy.

I think we’re just about there…

There’s a bit more symmetry, which always makes me happy, it feels more balanced, and I’m not trying to force the blocks to be a colour or intensity they’re not. Everyone’s work is beautiful, and stands on its own merit. Well done, you lot 🙂

I’m just over halfway through the quilting. Three rows done, another row part done, two still to start. That old faithful of mine, wiggly line quilting, is featuring once again. You’ve got to love how very quick it is. Nothing to mark, no panicky FMQ-type changes of direction, just strap on the walking foot and swing yourself some gentle curves down the centre. And echo. And echo again, till you hit the edge. Reverse the piece and repeat to the other edge. Job done. No threads to bury, all the loose ends get trimmed off. Having said that, I have a hankering to do a bit of FMQ stuff at some stage, but not for a donation quilt. Only the Teal Ribbon block will be different; I’ll echo quilt the ribbon shape to make it pop a bit.

Thank you to everyone who contributed their thoughts on how best to improve the layout. I took it all on board and tried everything… and then did it my way 😉

 

26 thoughts on “TWX12: nearly there…

  1. kathyreeves says:

    Wow! That quilting is so straight forward and looks superb! You are a wonder!

    • katechiconi says:

      It creates a nice texture on back and front, without being so dense it makes the quilt stiff. Plus, easy! All the things you want when you want to create a good effect for a donation quilt.

  2. magpiesue says:

    If you’re happy with it no doubt it will turn out fantastic!

    • katechiconi says:

      I have only 7 blocks left to quilt, then it’ll be time to trim out and cut joining strips to start the ‘fun’ part… But I think I’ll be happy with the finished result 🙂

  3. Robin Murphy says:

    It looks just right Kate. That is such a great quilting method, simple but very effective.

  4. You are rockin’ it!! Fantastic:)!!

  5. Each square is so lovely, they can’t help but work as a whole. Absolutely beautiful ❤

  6. tialys says:

    That looks better 🙂
    So when you do your curvy line quilting with the QAYG method I assume the lines don’t all join up so what does it look like on the back? I used your curvy lines on some of the blocks in my F2F quilt but as each block was quilted differently it didn’t matter and , once the sashing is attached, I’m guessing it won’t matter here either. Just wondering out loud really. Also, do you echo by eye or do you use that funny metal arm thingy that comes with the machine?

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s sashing between each block on front and back which separates the blocks visually, so I don’t have to try and match up. And I echo by eye, allowing about a centimetre between the edge of the walking foot and the previous stitching line. But I’m not anal about it, which is why the pattern is fairly loose and casual. My walking foot has a guide, but I find it wobbles, and I don’t like it.

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    Love the new layout, looking good

  8. Jule says:

    Looking good 🙂

  9. claire93 says:

    that wiggle is a good idea for quilting and overall lay-out looks more balanced. Keep up the good work!

  10. knitnkwilt says:

    I just had an ah ha looking at this [almost] final arrangement. You balance left to right; I balance diagonal corners. I fiddle with layout so long as pieces are unattached. I love the small square X being in the center of the dark section. Good to be on the home stretch.

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s only one change, which came about as a result of turning my bird-watching binoculars on the quilt, but looking through them from the wrong end. You see a tiny quilt which wipes out all the distracting detail but lets you see tonal value very well. I’ve swapped the bottom left and right hand blocks with the lighter ones immediately above them. Now my diagonal corners balance too! And yes, I love that central block too – a postage stamp special from Lynn at Tialys.

  11. Yes, I like this layout better – dark at the centre and radiating out to lighter.

    • katechiconi says:

      I feel much more comfortable with this one. I loved the concept of the large X made of the darker blocks, but in practice, there simply wasn’t enough contrast; too many mid-tone blocks, and not enough very light and dark. You have to be ready to let go of ideas that are demonstrably not working, don’t you….

  12. I can’t wait to see it finished. What are your plans for it when you get it done?

    • katechiconi says:

      I make a quilt a year for Ovarian Cancer Australia to auction for charity, sometimes more. Their main fundraising event is in May, and I need to get this one done in time, not only for the event but also because we’re going on a trip at the beginning of May. The way it works is that I come up with an idea for the quilt involving the word ‘Teal’, which is the charity’s colour. I then start making blocks to fit the concept, and invite others to join me in supplying a block or two. I very quickly get enough! Once they’re all in, I start quilting and assembling the blocks by QAYG. All contributors are acknowledged on the label.

  13. rutigt says:

    Hurrah for us !!!! And most hurrah for your dedicated work on that quilt!!!!It´s so great!

    • katechiconi says:

      We’re getting there! I have started the assembly today, all the blocks are quilted. More sewing tomorrow, I have to get it finished soon to be in time for the fundraising month in May.

Leave a Reply

