Bee, Myself and I #11

How many hatboxes can a woman need? Well, 36 actually…

hatbox-19This is number 19. I love the bright pink tulip fabric, especially contrasted with the peppermint green of the edge of the lid.

hatbox-halfway-collage-3Here’s the rest of the line up so far. Not necessarily the final layout, but they do sit harmoniously together in this arrangement.

hatbox-sashing-and-bindingAnd here are the fabrics for the sashing and the binding. I can’t get the colours quite right; both fabrics are shot cottons, and it’s hard to convey the  lovely shading from one colour into another. It’s a while till I’ll be cutting into these lovelies, but I’m glad I have them to look at and stroke 🙂

Lynn from Tialys has decided to resurrect her own hatbox project, and if you nip over to her blog some time today, you’ll be able to see her take on this gorgeous Kaffe Fassett block design. She won’t be going quite as bonkers with it as I have, though; she’s sensibly sticking to a manageable wall hanging! It’s going to be most enviable, though – she’s using Liberty prints…

Meanwhile, if you want to know what Bee, Myself and I is all about, click on the link button further down in the left hand column, or head over to Carla’s lovely blog, Granny Maud’s Girl, where there are many gorgeous things to look at.

More next month 🙂

 

 

 

36 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #11

  1. It’s coming out beautifully! Love every one. I bought the book with the pattern in it after you told me which one it was. It will be a while since I’m knee deep in clutter busting. Almost done. Had a problem with your last sea green post. Couldn’t keep it up and make a comment. Odd. I’ll try again in a bit.

  2. Oh, I love those colors, Kate. What a beautiful project.

  3. kathyreeves says:

    These are looking splendid, and you are having such a good time with them!

  4. […] has been busy with it for a few months now – you can see her progress here – and I decided I would join in with her and we would aim to make three blocks per month and […]

  5. tialys says:

    Wow! You were quick off the mark with this – I suppose it was 31st January there quite a long time before here 😉 Luckily, I had already drafted my post and, guess what?, I managed three instead of two.
    I love your tulip fabric and the green with the pink is gorgeous.

    • katechiconi says:

      And then there’s the fact that I had it ready and scheduled a couple of days ago! It’s been a busy day (ahem, my birthday…), so I knew I wouldn’t have time to get it done today. Just over to yours to take a look 🙂

  6. tialys says:

    What!? The 31st January is your birthday? A Very Happy Birthday to you and it is now on my calendar for next year.

  7. So very, very pretty Kate.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks 🙂 It’s a nice, slow, peaceful, labour-intensive project, perfect for filling in a couple of hours here and there, and the ideal way to showcase favourite fabrics.

  8. claire93 says:

    happy birthday Kate !!! same day as eldest son ^^ And I seem to remember that the Husband of Chinonia and I share a birthday – what a coincidence.
    lovely collection of hat boxes.

  9. Seeing these lovely stitched hatboxes brought back a sudden memory of my grandmother Viola’s closet. It smelled of sachets she’d stitched. The arms of her clothes were lined up in tight order like soldiers in formation. High above on a shelf were stacks of hatboxes. She’d stand on a little footstool (with a needlepointed cover, of course) to reach the chosen box and bring it down, I swear those boxes were so well-made that the lid came off with a whoosh. A crinkle of paper and the hat emerged to be placed on her head just so in front of the mirror. Then she was off to church or a luncheon, some place where she sit under that hat and smile as if she hadn’t endured decades of sorrow.

    • katechiconi says:

      What a wonderful memory, and I’m honoured that my boxes evoked it for you. I’ve often thought that I should put my many hats into boxes instead of on wire shelves at the top of the wardrobe, but I fear I’m too impatient to do the box thing instead of just grabbing a brim and dragging the hat down!

  10. Jule says:

    Happy Birthday! 🎂 A great project for all those large-scale prints.

  11. craftycreeky says:

    I love the colours of this quilt, looks great, Happy birthday too 🙂

  12. dayphoto says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I just LOVE this quilt! Enjoy your day to the fullest!

    Linda

  13. magpiesue says:

    Well happy birthday friend! I hope you and your hubby have a grand time on the weekend. I’m loving that I can enjoy the hatboxes you and Lynn are making without feeling the need to make any for myself. ;- )

  14. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    they are absolutely stunning !!!!

  15. rutigt says:

    They are all very beautiful and I like the background fabrics. They make the hatboxes shine!

    • katechiconi says:

      I thought originally about making them all different, but it would have made the job of combining fabrics so much harder. Only the very back of the ‘box’ has three colour variants. Wait till you see the three boxes I’ll have ready for the end of the month!

Leave a Reply

