Sea Glass #5: time for a border

Well, the middle’s filled.

sea-glass-5-all-but-border

Is it just my eyes, or is this photo ever so slightly out of focus? And how does that happen with a self-focusing camera? Still, you get the idea.

There was an episode of sleeplessness after I’d seen the Husband off to work at 3.30am the other morning, and rather than thrash around in bed getting grumpy at my failure to nod off again, I got up and starting cutting. Much more constructive, I think you’ll agree! I like the opalescent effect of the greens, teals and aquas combined with the lilacs and purples. It’s a pity I can’t seem to take a photo that represents the colours more accurately, but that’ll have to wait till the thing’s finished and I can hang it on the washing line in daylight. It’s so much nicer in real life; in the photos, the colours have flattened quite a bit and the lilacs all look much too heavy.

I want an 8 inch wide border to surround everything, and I’m thinking it’ll be something straightforward. Either whole fabric, or simple squares. I need to look at the quilt a bit longer and wait for it to tell me what it wants; I can’t ‘see’ the answer yet. I’m happy with where it’s at now, and I don’t want to mess it up by rushing into making something I’ll regret later.

sea-glass-cushion-panelsThe orphan block has moved along, and I now have the cushion front and back panels cut and pieced. I’ll put in a concealed zipper when I assemble it after quilting the front. Sadly, I don’t have enough fabric to make the pattern line up above and below the zipper, but I’m forgiving myself that particular omission so long as the zipper doesn’t show and the covering flap lies flat and straight.

Of course, I could play with my new 60° ruler and make big triangles for the border… What do you think?

18 thoughts on “Sea Glass #5: time for a border

  1. Lynda says:

    These are really turning out well, Kate! You constantly surprise me. 🙂
    I feel for you on the sleepless nights and often find myself up late or up all nigh, and agree if you can’t sleep there is no point to laying there staring at the dark. I think I would like to sew but worry the noise will keep Bob up. We are planning some big shifts in room usage over the next year. When it is all done my current studio will be Bob’s office and our TV room will be my new studio —> way on the opposite side of the house! The TV? Out in the living room for the first time in many years.

    • katechiconi says:

      The occasional sleepless night isn’t too bad, but when there are several in a row I start to feel frayed and disconnected. At times like that, it’s good to have simple but appealing work to do, and piecing blocks fits the bill perfectly!

  2. tialys says:

    I’m leaning towards a plain border as there is so much going on in the rest of it but, whatever you decide, it will look good so, if you want to play with your triangles, go for it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m leaning towards a plain border with chequerboard corner posts and in the middle of each side. I have lots of bits left I’d like to use up, but I don’t really want to piece the whole lot, and I’m saving the triangles for another day, I think…

  3. rutigt says:

    Looking good so far! My only advice: stick with your plans! You have so great ideas!!!

  4. claire93 says:

    I agree with Tialys – a plain border would be nice, and not detract from all the lovely piecing in the centre

    • katechiconi says:

      It would be a bit more peaceful on the eye, wouldn’t it? Not to mention a whole lot less piece-ful (sorry, I can never resist a pun). I had actually pulled out a whole lot of strips in the right colours, but when I looked at them, my heart sank a little… Cornerstones and plain strips it is, then!

  5. Whatever you decide will be gorgeous, especially with this colour combo. I love it!

  6. I really do like the added purples/lilacs in the checkerboard border. The emphasis keeps them from melding into the outer border. As to final border, I do think piecing is called for, but it doesn’t need to be much. No piecing might make it a rather abrupt ending to the story. You could have pieced cornerstones and stacked strips (striping the length of the the border). That would be simple but in keeping with the rest, and it would “contain” all the piecing in the interior. AND if strip-striping is along the length, there is no seam matching with the prior border. ?? Hope that makes sense.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have a decision to make… I don’t have *quite* enough fabric to do straightforward stacking (the first thing I checked!), so the cornerstones and central blocks on each side would have to be stepped to make them larger and the strips shorter. It’s a lot of piecing. I’m thinking I’ll just buy half a metre of 4 fabrics and just piece long strips between standard 16 patch cornerstones, maybe rotating the colour arrangement. I’ll sit and look at it a bit longer, I think….

      • I don’t think you would be sorry with that decision. Or if you have lots of small bits, you could make “strips” that are interrupted by square bits in fairly random places. That could help extend what you already have. Just a thought… 🙂

  7. katechiconi says:

    Oooh, now *there’s* an idea… Well, watch this space, Whatever I do, it’ll be soon.

  8. I don’t have enough experience to offer advice but what you have here is wonderful. The link is fixed. 🙂

  9. magpiesue says:

    Whenever I get up too early (like this morning) I’m brain dead for the rest of the day- or until I can manage a nap. I sometimes wish I could sew in the middle of the night but that would wake up the canary and then he would wake up the rest of the household!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m lucky to have the house to myself at such times. I can turn on the lights, crash around, use the sewing machine. Then, of course, by the time the day is supposed to be starting, I’m ready to go back to sleep 🙂

Leave a Reply

