Time for Teal 13, and other stuff

Nanette has come up trumps!

T4T collage 7Not only do I now have two more Dresden Plate blocks to fit the two gaps at the top of the dresden plate border on T4T, she’s also made me two lovely outer border blocks. The photos don’t do justice to how very pretty the background fabrics are – one of them is a tiny beige gingham with tiny scattered raised stars. So sweet!

Also in the squishy were her three F²F blocks, which are gorgeous, and she very kindly sent me a piece of the fabric she used in the right hand block, which is going to be a real asset to my selection. Only one set left to come from Emmely, who has been on honeymoon, and then they’re all in.

Nanette F2FAt the moment, the time I can spend sitting at the sewing machine (which isn’t long before it starts to hurt) is spent making Lynn’s F²F² June blocks. After Lynn’s blocks, it’ll be the ‘ribbon’ block for T4T, which will complete the dresden border, and then I’m going to finish the Hatbox Quilt block which got lost and forgotten in all the mad dash for surgery at the end of last month. And in there somewhere is the SAL embroidery, which is actually progressing pretty well because I can get comfortable while I do it. It’s frustrating to have the time and the will to sew, but to be unable to sit for long enough. However, I am healing very well, it’s only been three weeks since major surgery, and it’ll be another 3 before I can expect to be functionally pain free and approaching my full final range of motion.

There you have it. Pretty things, my meagre progress, and what to expect next.

28 thoughts on “Time for Teal 13, and other stuff

  1. I’m happy you are getting better and better.

  2. Your progress report: keep at it, not long to go now. I love the teal blocks.

    I had decided to machine quilt most of my wonky scrap quilt, but like you, an hour at the machine is my maximum endurance.

    I’ve rolled up the herons to send – had a job fitting them into the tubes Jock left me to use, so they’ll need a jolly good iron by the time they reach Oz. Sorry. I’ll post the parcel when I can get a lift to Cerisy Post Office.

  3. tialys says:

    Lovely blocks from Nanette.
    I think you’re doing marvellously and don’t worry if my blocks are a little late, I can get on with quilting the blocks I have as I’m going to use the QAYG method again. The important thing is that you keep improving and don’t cause yourself to have any setbacks!! Everything else can wait.

  4. claire93 says:

    what gorgeous blocks from Nanette, she has been busy.

  5. Debbierose says:

    All lovely, yellow grey combo is refreshingly different

  6. dayphoto says:

    I’m surprised you can sit up at the sewing machine. Seems you are healing much faster than I thought you might. Good For YOU!. Sewing is your life and your therapy.

    Linda

  7. You are doing so well, don’t push your time at the machine and jeopardise your recovery. xx

  8. Magpie Sue says:

    Oh, these F2F blocks are indeed stunning! And what lovely blocks for the T4T quilt. Nanette did a grand job. Glad to hear you’re taking care and exercising patience. I can imagine how hard it is for you. ;- )

    • katechiconi says:

      Fab, aren’t they! I’m nearly ready to get the Ribbon block done, and then I really have to start the batting, backing and quilting for each block. I’m struggling a little with how to quilt them; an outline of the shape, and then perhaps a textured background? I don’t know… More thought required.

  9. rutigt says:

    Beautiful blocks! Both T4T and F2F. If you feel you are wasting time, not being able to sew…..you can always stich on your embroidery walking, LOL (this was supposed to be a joke 🙂 but maybe it does work, haha). Have nice day!!

  10. The teal blocks are gorgeous!

    • katechiconi says:

      Everyone who’s contributed has done a wonderful job – there’s plenty of range and variety in the colours, but they all work really well. Over the next few days I have to get the final block done for the Dresden border, and then I’m going to get cracking with the QAYG. Back permitting, of course.

Leave a Reply

