I am weak…

I have virtually no impulse control where fabric is concerned.

Hence my purchase the other day of a bundle of completely unnecessary fat quarters. I had been consumed by envy of other bloggers’ purchases of not only snippets but whole chunks of Liberty fabrics. Now, I am not normally a teeny weeny floral pattern person, but there’s just something about Liberty patterns… and I saw the bundle, and I was tempted. Yes, dear readers, I fell.

Liberty lookalikesI am now the contented owner of this bundle of loveliness. They’re not Liberty, but they are nice Liberty lookalikes, close enough to satisfy my cravings without the necessity to remortgage the house or sell the (non-existent) firstborn into slavery. I have absolutely no purpose in mind for them, except that the floral ones are obviously destined to become hankies with scrappy fringe benefits. I’m not yet decided about the spots. It may be more of the same, especially the grey and pale pink versions. I could put a white lace edging on those! As if I don’t already have more than enough sewing on my plate.

Ah well. I admit it. I am weak…

49 thoughts on “I am weak…

  1. tialys says:

    Just as well you’re not in the U.K. (or France) at the moment as Liberty are having a sale – online too – of their tana lawn fabric with around 30% off. I resisted but only because I already have a big plastic box full of tana lawn and another full of Liberty scraps. It’s for stroking.

    Don’t feel guilty – you deserve to treat yourself once in a while.

  2. claire93 says:

    they’re all a bit too floral or spotty for me personally, but I totally understand the feeling of weakness. I’m awaiting the GLS man who should be arriving this morning with a massive bundle of fabric fun for me ^^ Where is he?????

  3. Oh you are not weak! Or if you are, so am I. Sad to say I have used every scrap of Tana lawn that I have ever possessed and I am tying my hands behind my back to resist the Liberty sale.

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    That’s not weakness, it’s philanthropy. If you buy and share gorgeous fabric we your readers can can enjoy them without having to buy them ourselves! Having said that I have to go to a fabric shop for a zip. Will I come out unscathed.

    • katechiconi says:

      I like your philosophy. But by the same token, I cannot wish for you to be strong and not buy anything, because then we wouldn’t get to seen and enjoy *your* purchases!

  5. How can this be unnecessary? Part and parcel of being creative is having the best choice available to you when the urge takes 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I *like* this idea! But sadly, I’m rather unlikely to use the florals for anything other than hankies, so I can’t justify having them ‘just because’… no, I must admit my weakness!

  6. Kate, don’t feel guilty at all – why should a girl not spoil herself. I am rather like you here. I love to buy and then hoard the fabrics. But you should see what I get for 5 GBP, incredible!! And btw, I never cared much for Liberty fabric nor that store much and don’t even know why.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s partly my problem. I don’t often buy fabric which I then hoard without using. I’ve been quite disciplined in the past! But I do have a weakness for Liberty fabrics, which are of such good quality and such lovely colours – I don’t want to surround myself with them, but they make a wonderful accent. I’m seriously envious of your purchasing potential there… At present, I’m working hard to resist buying lightly used silk saris online; the fabric would be wonderful for summer clothes in this climate!

  7. Robin Murphy says:

    Now those silk saris sound interesting, brings back memories when my grandparents did the world trip by boat and brought back Sari lengths for my mum and aunts, I can still remember my mum contemplating how to make hers into a long evening gown. it was a beautiful gold with amber on the edge and felt wonderful to the touch. Kate, you don’t have to justify purchase that fabric will be so soft for the nose.

    • katechiconi says:

      The saris are quite incredibly cheap for 5 yards of soft silk with decorated edges. I’m a bit torn about the colour though… My hair is grey now, so I can wear bright strong colours at last. What do you think? Turquoise? Violet? Magenta? 🙂 Summer tops for tropical weather…

  8. mm, I think it’s okay to give in now and then. Giving in ALL the time can have serious repercussions!

    • katechiconi says:

      To be fair to myself, I didn’t buy them totally ‘just because’, I did have the hankies in mind when I saw the bundle. And I like a nice large hankie rather than tatty, disintegrating tissues.

  9. If you call that weak, then I am positively spineless. I leave a trail of shops denuded of spots and tiny florals in my wake. Nice buys.

  10. ladyredspecs says:

    I’m not a patchworker but I make clothes and furnishings. I love sari fabrics, they are so much richer in design and feel and structure than the offerings found in our local fabric stores. Even brand new saris are incredibly cheap. I have boxes of stuff I’ve brought back from India, just waiting for me to be inspired.

    • katechiconi says:

      I work quite hard at not buying fabric ‘just because’. Sometimes I can’t resist, but mostly I don’t want to have lots of stuff I’m slowly forgetting about 🙂
      I do think the sari idea is going to happen, but not yet, I have quilt projects to finish!

  11. dayphoto says:

    One of my daughters is just like you…and she quilts! She LOVES fabric. My Mother-in-law was the same way.

    Linda

  12. craftycreeky says:

    Glad I’m not the only one with no self control in a fabric shop! I’m off to Goldhawk Road on Saturday which has about a dozen fabric shops in a row, with a coffee shop in the middle…my stash total is going to go through the roof 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I guess I’m lucky that my choices of fabric shop are pretty limited where I live, otherwise the impulse control problem would be completely out of control:-)

  13. Kathy D says:

    I think that you deserve a treat for every thing you have endured in the past several weeks! I love the bundle, very pretty. Where do you buy used saris? That sounds like something I might need! ( evil laugh)

    • katechiconi says:

      Online, through eBay. Just Google ‘eBay vintage silk saris’. That’ll get you very cheap used ones. If you leave out vintage, you’ll get some new ones too. They come direct from India, and many of the sellers don’t charge postage either.

  14. Carole says:

    Pretty! Also, willpower is overrated 😉

  15. Grannymar says:

    Kate you deserve a little treat after all the hurdles you have jumped lately. Enjoy the stroking, planning and working with them.

  16. lucyannluna says:

    We are all weak. Today I purchased beads , Steve needed a particular thickness of thread, he found it on a beading supplier I use & then asked is there anything you want? Well I quickly made his single reel of thread up to the postage free threshold , as you do.

  17. They’re really lovely!

    • katechiconi says:

      I thought so too! Hard to resist, especially at a fraction of the Liberty price. Hope you’re doing OK, I get the impression you’re not so well right now…

  18. Debbierose says:

    Ooooo I adore the spots. All fabric is good for you, they provide happy hormones whrn touched 😀

  19. Magpie Sue says:

    Okay, I haven’t taken the time to read through the other comments but I see a couple of new hat box blocks in these fat quarters. A little fabric does the heart (and the healing) good!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ll have to see if I can squeeze both hankie and hatbox out of each fat quarter in the florals. Otherwise, maybe the body of the hatbox in floral and the lid in the co-ordinating spot. Good idea!

  20. Lynda says:

    You crack me up, Kate! I have the same problem with fabric. I see it, I want it, I put it in my online shopping cart and then I just look at it… for weeks sometimes. If it is still there when I have the funds, then I buy it. However, most often it is gone when I can afford it and that saves me from drowning in an ocean of fabric, and my husbands ire! 😀

    • katechiconi says:

      I avoid the whole issue by just not shopping for fabric online unless there’s a specific fabric I can’t get locally. It means I have to support our LQSs and I never enter into temptation. It’s tough, but it sure does help to control the problem!

      • Lynda says:

        I have two local sources that I can afford. One is Joanne’s (Horrible fabric) and the other is Sir’s. Sir’s is good, but it’s all flat fold goods and you really have to dig. I like going to Sirs, but the trick is to find what you want in a big enough piece and still leave two yards to go back to the table. Otherwise, you have to buy the whole piece! Very inexpensive, but it really has to be special to want to pay for up to three yards. 😉

      • katechiconi says:

        If it’s really nice, though, it would be good to have extra. It’s all a matter of luck, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

