Time for Teal part 5

Cake without baking!

Peppermint gateauLook at this fabulous beauty. It’s the gateau and cake-stand  pattern designed by Esther which I mentioned in my last post. If you click on this link, you’ll see her design for using all the gorgeous teatime blocks she’s designed in one layout. It’s brilliant! Sadly, my gateau has taken forever to finish, not because the pattern was so very difficult but because I can only spend a short time sitting at the sewing machine before my back starts yelling at me. The pattern does require some experience, but it’s not a hard one, you just need to be meticulous. Up to now that has not been a problem, but I did make an exceptionally stupid mistake yesterday regarding colour, which resulted in my having to completely remake the bottom section… I make no excuses, it was just plain stupid.

So, my lovely tiered pale sponge cake has a swirly peppermint frosting and a slightly darker background to give the paler colours better contrast, and it may end up taking centre stage in the middle of the tea-table so as not to throw off the balance visually. Now that it’s Monday again here, I’m going to be checking the mailbox eagerly for squishies; I know there’s at least one on the way destined for the central section, and I’d like to start getting that laid out so I can see how much work I still need to do there.

I’m not averse to using machines in baking, as you probably realise from all my cooking posts, but this is the first time I’ve used a sewing machine to make a cake… It could become addictive!

And we all know how much I love cake… heh, heh!

31 thoughts on “Time for Teal part 5

  1. Debbierose says:

    Kate this cake looks scrumptious, and no guilt on the hips 😃

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Cake without calories is a good thing. 🙂

  3. nettyg says:

    Looks delicious!

    • katechiconi says:

      I was thinking caramel sponge with a mint caramel frosting, tinted peppermint green and swirled on lavishly… Glad this one’s done, it’s a fab block but all those tiny triangles were doing my back in. Something simpler next, I think.

  4. It looks yummy! 🙂

  5. Goodmorning Kate!
    You cake looks delicious!!! It will be a great joy to see the quilt come together.
    Hugs
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      Some of the lines are a little curved, but I was using up scraps and couldn’t use the exact straight grain. But I think only you and I would notice that! I am calling this a celebration cake: Yesterday was World Ovarian Cancer Day, and it seems a fitting tribute 🙂 I wish I could have finished it yesterday, but pain made my hands and head stupid, so it just had to be this morning. The next one I make for the middle section will be the small plate and forks.

  6. Thimberlina says:

    Brilliant! And I l love all the other blocks your talented friend has created. The quilt is going to look amazing 😀

    • katechiconi says:

      The ‘tea table’ is going to be outstanding, isn’t it? I’m going to have to work out some ‘speed Dresdening’ for the number of plates I need, my favourite process is too slow, and I’d love lots of variety. Watch this space…

      • tialys says:

        Could you use Bondaweb to attach the sections of the plate then machine appliqué them down? It’s not perfect but I can’t think of anything that would be faster.

      • katechiconi says:

        Yup, that’s a definite possibility, as is using pieces basted on with tear-away stabiliser behind so it’s not so stiff. Or even – horrors! – a spot of spray-baste… I may end up using the wedge shaped pieces with the seam up the back, zigzagged on, and then trim out the extra fabric behind afterwards. All possibilities 🙂

  7. Yummy quilting. I think it would take more precious energy to make this block than to bake a similar cake – more than I am fit for!

  8. tialys says:

    Your cake looks lovely – and gluten free. I’m glad you told me it’s just a little tricky as I was thinking of giving that one a go but I’ll practice on a few more easier ones first. From one who has made several exceptionally stupid sewing mistakes in the past few days – there is no need to apologise. I’m just relieved it’s not just me 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      OK, tricky is relative. I was trying to use the smallest possible pieces so I could use up scraps. If you cut more generously it’s virtually impossible to stuff up unless, like me, you cut completely the wrong colour for the background below the cake stand….. :-/

  9. anne54 says:

    I think you have chosen the perfect colours and patterns.The swirly peppermint looks just right (although nothing like any icing I have ever attempted……Mine is always white and runny!)

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly, it has got my baker’s mind going, and I’m now working on an idea for caramel mud cake with peppermint/ caramel fudge icing tinted an appropriate colour. I’ll let you know when it’s ready!

  10. lucyannluna says:

    Love this block & the colours

  11. Grannymar says:

    Love the cake, but promise me you won’t go overboard with cucumber sambos!

  12. rutigt says:

    This cake is really an eye eating cake and the best thing with it………it doesn´t end up on your figure! Hope I made myself clear 🙂 It´s a lovely cake!!!

  13. Delicious and not a bit fattening!

Leave a Reply

