Bee, Myself and I # 3

This one nearly didn’t happen. And yes, I do know it’s days late…

Hatbox 5

What with blocks for the Time for Teal Ovarian Cancer quilt, F2F, the new F2F starting in June and the new blog I’ve started for it, getting a GF Bakery order out, dressmaking, embroidery for the three-weekly Stitch Along, and the multiple medical appointments and geriatric creeping about required by my shiny new unstable spine, back brace and taping, I got a not very impressive ONE block done. Still, I spoiled you last time with 4, so I don’t think you can complain 🙂

And here it is. I like it, I chose the most cheerful fabric I’d put aside for the project, a lovely Philip Jacobs design for Westminster Fibers: ‘Geranium Leaves’ in the lilac colourway. I bought it for my stash about 5 years ago, and I don’t think it’s available any more, so I’m being very economical in how I use it. I forget what the lid band fabric is, I only bought 30cm of WOF and there’s no detail on the small amount of selvedge.

I don’t think Carla and the others in BM&I have had a very productive month either, but this is a no-obligation Bee, and the Bee Police haven’t come calling to ask where my work is, so I think it’s all good. In any case, hop over to Carla’s blog to see what’s going on over there. It’s worth is just to look at all the pretties she’s been making. You can also click on the ‘Bee, Myself and I’ button in the left hand column to go straight to the bee page, where you’ll also find a list of the other participants, so you can see what they’re up to as well.

I promise to do better next month…. I hope :-/

35 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I # 3

  1. It’s beautiful and enough. April was a month to slow down according to my astrologer. There was no pushing in April. I slowed way down too. May will be better. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ll hold you to that. 3 more days to the CAT scan and finding out exactly what’s going on where, and what I and the doctor can do about it. Meanwhile, it has just taken me 2 hours to do grocery shopping which should take half an hour at most. You don’t realise how much you bend and stretch till you can’t! And I know you know what I mean – in your own situation things must take far longer than they should or used to.

      • Yes, I know how much longer simple things take. No more rushing through life. There are so many strangers that are willing to help that it often astounds me. I will keep you in my thoughts the next few days. Expecting good results.

  2. Kate it’s absolutely beautiful! I have hat boxes and they are very pretty but this looks awesome!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a pretty addition to the 4 I’ve already made. I think the finished quilt will become one of my treasures, because I’ve accumulated a collection of lovely prints and this way I get to use them all!
      By the way, I have just emailed you something about adding images to your blog. Hope it helps!

  3. Lovely. Don’t apologise – it’s astonishing you’ve produced anything at all given your problems and workload, let alone anything as beautiful as this.

  4. Debbierose says:

    Beautiful floral

  5. claire93 says:

    I think you’re amazing with all the projects you have on the go, plus spinal problems, to even have made one!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank goodness for the distractions, is all I can say! Not having a good evening, but I’m contemplating fetching out my embroidery to give me something to think about apart from my poor back…

  6. norma says:

    Pretty fabric and block

  7. tialys says:

    I was just flicking through my Kaffe Fassett book yesterday and spotted the template I made for these blocks. Mustn’t get distracted though – I have a quilt to finish and sixteen piped cushions to make. Maybe later….
    These blocks will be a real antidote for when you’re feeling a bit ‘iffy’ – relatively simple and with treasured fabrics.

    • katechiconi says:

      I started this before all the iffyness began, but you’re right, it’s simple enough to work on when I feel bad, but I can use some lovely fabrics to cheer up with. I made my templates smaller than in the book, as I wanted the finished quilt to be a bit smaller, but it’s easy enough to do. Get those other jobs done first, and then go mad and create your own masterpiece!

  8. No need to make promises. You have plenty, so what you choose to spend your time and energy on is for you to decide, and you to be happy with.

    • katechiconi says:

      I like to stick to my targets. And exceed them, if possible. I’m disappointed with myself if I fall short, irrespective of all external factors. Driven, moi? But you’re right, of course…

  9. dayphoto says:

    I hope you are feeling much better next month!!! MUCH better!

    Linda

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    Another beautiful hat box. 🙂 Most women only bought one hat at a time anyway, so one new box is perfectly acceptable. That is such a great pattern for showcasing lovely prints.

  11. That fabric rather reminds me of those lovely ornamental cabbages…

  12. rutigt says:

    The fabric “Geranium Leaves” is soooo beautiful. Such nice colors! Perfect for a hat box. Since it seems like you have nothing else to do, I guess you´ll sew hundreds of them this month 🙂

Leave a Reply

