Worldwide Friends: time for a sandwich

… the kind with pins in it!

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 5.39.55 pm

220 pins in place…

It’s layered and pinned. Now for the hand quilting.

I had originally planned to do a 4 stroke basket weave design, with the strokes 2″ apart in a 6″ square. But as I was pinning, the quilt told me this wouldn’t do. In places there are 6 or 7 layers of fabric piled on top of each other, and furthermore, the hexie flowers didn’t want straight lines carving through them. The rabbits weren’t keen either…

So. I looked at it some more, and thought some more as I pinned. The new plan has time-based options, parts A and B.

Screen Shot 2015-04-18 at 5.40.21 pmA is definite. I will quilt around the outside of each red hexie at the heart of each flower. This will also minimise the number of seams I have to cross. If time permits and my hands and fingers hold out, I will also do part B, which is to quilt around each filler between the flowers. A alone will give a puffier, looser look. The addition of B will be flatter and neater. I’d like to do B as well, but will be content with A if I run out of time. That’s 220 red hexies – and the same number of fillers if I do B. I think I will also outline the rabbits, the moon and the curved strip of lettering that is the quilt’s name, which will get done whether I manage part B or not.

The back will have a regular grid of fine blue hexie outlines all over it. On the front, the quilting will scarcely show, as I’m using dark blue quilting thread amongst all those dark blue prints. The original plan for the hanging pocket will not work now, so I’m still mulling that one over. I don’t have to decide until I reach the far side of the quilt, so there’s time. I thought I’d feel a pang of regret at giving up the original plans, but actually, there’s a sense of relief. So I reckon I’m on the right track.

Tomorrow I have to bake most of the day so I can deliver to the coffee shop on Monday. But quilting will commence on Monday afternoon. Cross your fingers for me.

23 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: time for a sandwich

  1. Jule says:

    It’s looking great! 🙂 Another option for hanging might be loops sewn between the front and back layers or to the binding strip at the top if the rod pocket doesn’t work.

  2. claire93 says:

    that’s a lot of quilting to do!

    • katechiconi says:

      It sure is, but I couldn’t machine quilt this one, it would be just wrong. I have great hopes of making it in time for the Show entry date at the beginning of June…

  3. Magpie Sue says:

    Great minds think alike! I also had the idea for loops instead of a rod pocket. Your quilting plans are perfect given the time constraints, etc. Will you have books to listen to while you hand quilt or do you have some other approach for making the work go faster? ;- )

    • katechiconi says:

      I listen to music, and think about new recipes, mostly! I have a process worked out for efficient and speedy hand quilting; I do it with the quilt laid flat and then rolled up so that only the small area I’m working on is flat on the table. This provides weight and tension. I do the first row, and work out how many times I have to load the needle to complete a row. I then thread the correct number of needles and place them in the fabric at regular intervals, so when I finish one up, the next is ready to go. Doing it like that, I can race through pretty quickly. This time, I also have to calculate how long the row takes, so I can work out if I have time to quilt the fillers as well as the flower centres….

  4. Amazing, just amazing Kate!!!
    Can’t wait to see the quilting!
    Esther

  5. Carole says:

    It’s going to be fabulous!
    Fingers crossed that you get everything done that you want to 🙂

  6. what a huge job !!! but I’m sure you’ll make it ! and win !!!!

  7. EllaDee says:

    When you get that feeling of relief or knowing then that’s the best way to go. I wondered what you were going to lay it out on Now I can see it just fits the 2 tables.

    • katechiconi says:

      My usual method of sandwiching and pinning wouldn’t have worked, as the backing needed to be exactly the right size and needed to be placed exactly in the correct position. Luckily the two small white tables alongside my large dining table made exactly the right width. If I’d added the extra height I was considering, it wouldn’t have worked. It’s all coming together!

  8. tialys says:

    I’m back home now and see you have been very busy. I don’t envy you the quilting task but it’s going to be magnificent.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hope you had a great trip and made lots of lovely purchases. I’ve given myself the day off the quilt so I can do a bit more embroidery for today’s Stitch Along post, but I’ll be back on it tomorrow.

  9. rutigt says:

    This is gonna end up so nice, which ever way you choose to do! Handpiecing is the right way, but what a big work!!!!!!! You´re outstanding!
    Gun

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! It’s been such a great journey, making this quilt with the support and collaboration of quilting friends around the world. In the home stretch now…

  10. Kirsten says:

    I have my fingers crossed. I hope yours hold out!!

    • katechiconi says:

      I have bought myself a new thimble which I hope will help with the bloodletting, but there’s nothing much I can do about stiffness and aching apart from plunging them in hot water from time to time.

Leave a Reply

