Worldwide Friends: next stage complete…

I’ve got the back panel finished.

Screen Shot 2015-04-16 at 4.38.15 pm

A windy, overcast day. Great for drying laundry, not so clever for photography…

I don’t LOVE it, but I do like it and find it fun, which is all I demand of a back! I’m OK about hanging it this way round from time to time, to remind myself of the haiku, the contributions everyone made, and some of the reds that didn’t appear on the front. There’s just a tiny bit of hand stitching to do on this bit, to attach the small red accent hexies between the large floral panels. I could machine stitch them on, but I prefer hand appliqué.

Finally I still have the facing border to do. This panel is 60″ x 72″, so it needs to be about 5″ wider and taller. I think we’re talking partial hexie flowers rather than full ones, but I need to get it laid out flat, the back offered up to the front and the difference clearly seen and measured before I can be sure. I also need to make some allowance for how the front and back panels will contract slightly when the hand quilting is done. Somewhere in there I have to work out the hidden internal rod pocket, and how the quilting will hold that in place.

Two months to go. In that time, I have to make the facing and do the quilting. I’m going to need a bit of luck and a following wind, I think…

21 thoughts on “Worldwide Friends: next stage complete…

  1. Well I love it. You’ll do it easily, at the speed you work!

    I wish I could read the haiku panel, but when I enlarge it it goes out of focus.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s an assemblage of elements rather than a proper design but it’s been fun! The next step should be interesting – I need to find a table large enough to lay it out flat on so I can get everything lined up.

  2. claire93 says:

    I think the back is amazing – I really love how you’ve got different sections all coming together.

  3. Wow! That was a lot of work…

  4. EllaDee says:

    I love it, and great to see it hanging from the line so I really get the size… great that you have a proper clothes line, so many have fold outs or electric dryers.
    At TA we have an ancient Hills Hoist which the concretor was eyeing as he measured up for the shed slab… and I thought if you touch my line, you die!

    • katechiconi says:

      This one’s in really good condition, the crank still works and the line itself doesn’t put black muck on the clothes. So much better than a static line – it’s fun to watch everything whirl on a windy day!

  5. Come on Kate. You can do it 🙂 It’s looking fab!!

  6. anne54 says:

    Looking sensational! Not long to go now…..

  7. stunning !!!! you are such a fast worker !

  8. Kirsten says:

    It’s quite different to the front, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

