ScrapHappy September: Creeping onwards

Welcome once again to ScrapHappy Day!

It’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

Here’s last time:

And here’s where we are now. That dotty hexie flower at bottom left needs to have its stitching-in completed, and then there’s one more to go and the piece is square.

But not completed. Not even nearly. Even if no more hexie flowers are made, I still have a basket full of them waiting to be sewn in.  I need some uninterrupted time, a piece of empty, dog- and hair-free floor, and the camera. Then I can start to lay out more rows. I don’t want to keep adding blocks long rows at a time, it’s arduous. I’d prefer to make a series of square sections, and then add those in. Anything to avoid the endless seam… Onwards!

Now, what have you been up to?

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps of anything – no new materials. It can be a quilt block, pincushion, bag or hat, socks or a sculpture. Anything made of genuine scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful or useful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. We welcome new members. You don’t have to worry about making a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link. Regular contributors will receive an email reminder three days before the event.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at). If you’ve copied this list from previous posts, please use the one below as it’s the most up to date 🙂

Kate (me!)Gun, TittiHeléneEvaSue, Nanette, Lynn, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy, Debbierose, Tracy, Jill, Claire, Jan,
Moira, SandraLindaChrisNancy, Alys, Kerry, Claire, Jean,
Joanne, Jon, HayleyDawn, Gwen, Connie, Bekki, Pauline and Sue L.

See you again, same time next month

31 thoughts on “ScrapHappy September: Creeping onwards

  1. love all those crazy colours – so, slowly onward!

  2. You are right, it’s not a race but a journey. Enjoy each moment. It’s coming along nicely. Uninterrupted time from the dog? Whatever do you speak of? 🙂 If you are sitting down, that’s their cue.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not that I don’t want him around, it’s just that the photo I’ve shown was the only one I managed where he wasn’t lying on the piece, or there was a paw or snout in shot. If I close the sewing room door, there’s usually a mournful black face staring at me reproachfully through the glass, and I feel like a monster for excluding him.

      • tialys says:

        We wouldn’t mind if a paw or snout got in the shot. Mind you, I don’t let my dogs (or cats) upstairs where my bedroom and sewing room are as I like to have at least one place in the house where I don’t have to think about pet hair. Having said that, if I had a glass door and could see them looking mournfully through it, I guess I’d crumble.

      • katechiconi says:

        I have to try and keep it hair-free for the sake of its future owner; what if they’re allergic to dogs? Mouse is allowed in the sewing room and often keeps me company *except* when I need to lay stuff out on the floor. Which is why he gets confused when I close the door…

      • Lynda says:

        LOL! Always! Sometimes you just have to be firm… ❤

      • katechiconi says:

        So hard to resist the big brown eyes…

      • You are cracking me up here. Been there, done that. I was always afraid I’d roll back over my Schatzie’s paws when at the machine and she was a small dog. Oh my. I’m enjoying this so much. ;))

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    They are just wonderful, so colourful.

    • katechiconi says:

      I really love taking it to the DfG sewing group on Saturday mornings. The members enjoy seeing fabrics they’ve worked with; it gives them a sense of ownership and reminds them of how much they’ve achieved themselves.

  4. claire93 says:

    looking lovely! any idea what you’re going to do with this?

    • katechiconi says:

      Once it’s lap quilt size, I have to work out how this is going to be quilted and finished, and then it’s going to be raffled to raise funds for Days for Girls. And then…. I can start in on the huge box of other DfG scraps I have waiting for me! I think I’ll go for something a bit quicker next time!

  5. One little stitch at a time! It looks great:). I love how the small little pieces of a grandma’s flower garden are perfect for scraps:)❤️

  6. This is such a tremendous undertaking of small bits and pieces stitched with love and stitched with patience and stitched repeatedly and stitched endlessly and it’s going to be magnificent when all finished being stitched together 🙂 🙂 I just love the whole ‘look’ of this scrappy project!

    • katechiconi says:

      Those words ‘repeatedly’ and ‘endlessly’… yes, they’re somehow familiar, but when I look at the whole, I still want to smile. Out of discards, something beautiful is being born 🙂

  7. magpiesue says:

    When you finally do call a halt to this particular endeavor I hope the quilt raises enough money to have made all your time worthwhile! Of course, if you’re enjoying the process the financial benefit matters less. It’s not a process I would enjoy but I’m glad you do! And yes, I’m always mindful of the dog hair that inescapably ends up in the quilts I make. I *do* try, but Luna’s hair is so long and fine the job is nearly impossible. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It will be a raffle rather than an auction, and it will be to raise money for materials and notions so the Days for Girls work can continue. I doubt it will achieve ‘market value’ but it will be raising money from what would otherwise have been thrown out. I don’t mind investing my time for something like that. I’ve found putting something in the tumble drier is a good way of getting rid of hair I can’t see – there’s always a mesh of fine black hair on the filter!

  8. What a lovely piece of work, Kate.

    Now is it my imagination, or is the 15th of the month coming faster and faster all the time?

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, it does come round fast, especially when I forget to send out the reminder for a day or so! But as I have to do it every month, being co-host with Gun, I suppose I’m a bit more on top of it…

  9. rutigt says:

    It´s growing and it´s looking great!

  10. It looks great.
    I’ve been so busy recently there has been no scrapping or blogging… hopefully next week I will get back to both.

  11. KerryCan says:

    Almost a whole row? That’s great progress, especially considering all the other things you have going on!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not too bad, I agree… But I need to change my approach to assembly now; experience tells me it would be better to start making smaller chunks instead of adding a long row, so the progress photos are going to start looking a bit different.

  12. Terri says:

    I admire you and other crafty people who have the patience to make a hexie quilt. They are so pretty and a great way to use up all those scraps.

    • katechiconi says:

      A brilliant way to use scraps, but I’ve almost reached that pivot point where you wonder why you’re doing it and start to become desperate to do something else, which is why I’m changing tactics and will start a different way of adding new hexie flowers!

  13. Joanne S says:

    This progressing at quite a clip! Scrappy quilts are my personal favorite. These colors and fabric patterns are placed so well together.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.