ScrapHappy June: an old friend

Welcome once again to ScrapHappy Day!

It’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

For my holiday hand sewing, I dug out an old friend from my project boxes: Anemone!

Before:

And after:

 

Last time I stitched anything on this project was March 2018, over a year ago, so I felt it deserved a bit of love. I got two more hexie flowers sewn in at the top, beginning row 8. I think I’ll add more down the side next to keep it a bit squarer, but I’ll see how I go. In any case, I’ll probably return to Days Gone By for the next ScrapHappy post.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps of anything – no new materials. It can be a quilt block, pincushion, bag or hat, socks or a sculpture. Anything made of genuine scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful or useful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. We welcome new members. You don’t have to worry about making a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link. Regular contributors will receive an email reminder three days before the event.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at). This month, our new member is Sue L, so make sure you take a look at her blog too.

Kate (me!)Gun, TittiHeléneEvaSue, Nanette, Lynn, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy, Debbierose, Tracy, Jill, Claire, Jan,
Moira, SandraLindaChrisNancy, Alys, Kerry, Claire, Jean,
Joanne, Jon, HayleyDawn, Gwen, Connie, Bekki, Pauline and Sue L.

See you again, same time next month

34 thoughts on “ScrapHappy June: an old friend

  1. This is lovely, I so admire hand quilters! I like how you are keeping the pieces between the flowers in the same fabric too. I admire your ability to have long term projects that you can return to and remember how to make – my brain would seize up in the effort to recall the steps I’m sure!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think keeping the centres all black and the ‘background’ all dots makes the flowers pop. The good thing is that if you want something mindless, you just make a bunch of black or dotty hexies, because you’re always going to need them! Projects like this can be picked up and put down easily, as they don’t need lots of space or any equipment. I just go to my cupboard and pull out the shoebox, and I’m good to go.

  2. Moira says:

    I still love how this is looking…..and is really tempting to me to actually work with the hexie papers that I won a yr+ ago and try doing something with them….when I have time that is….lol.

    • katechiconi says:

      I do hope you give the hexies a try. I find it such a useful small handwork project to carry around. These flowers are pretty large, but smaller hexies are something you can slip into your purse, and there’s a cute project for making a hexie project sewing kit. If you’re interested, let me know and I’ll look it up for you.

      • Moira says:

        I would be interested in the project. I know me well enough to know that I don’t want to start on a large project ’cause I’d never get it done! But first I have to find where it was that I saw the hexie papers not that long ago

      • katechiconi says:

        I’ve emailed you the link; she’s updated and improved the tutorial since I made it, so hopefully you’ll find it straightforward.

  3. You just keep plugging along. It’s beautiful.

  4. claire93 says:

    lovely seeing this flower garden grow

  5. rutigt says:

    I had almost forgotten about that one, but seeing it know I remember how great it is!

  6. tialys says:

    Is it really that long since you showed us your hexies? I was sure I’d seen them more recently.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’ve seen the Days for Girls hexies, but seriously, it’s been that long since I posted about this one. I checked the date because I was so surprised.

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    I love a quilt made from scraps, and this is so pretty.

  8. Joanne S says:

    Scrappy quilts are my very favorite!

  9. Nice to see this again… I like the long-term projects.

  10. […] you want to see quilts made from actual scraps, vist Kate’s Scrap Happy […]

  11. Nanette says:

    Pleased you trotted this out for our viewing pleasure, I remember it as one of my favourites, the pops of black I think. No post from me this month, I too brought hexies away with me, ……..in the Blue Mountains……..and epp diamonds, but happily have been too busy to look at them, so they’ll travel home again unpacked.

  12. Nanette says:

    Deliciously warm, sunny days and a roaring fire in our air bnb!

  13. KerryCan says:

    I love ScrapHappy day, and seeing what everyone is making! I need to be more systematic about participating. This is one happy hexie quilt!

    • katechiconi says:

      For me, SHD is a way to keep particular projects moving along, namely the hand-stitched scrappy hexies. When I send out the reminder on 12th of the month, it can often be my wake up call to get some work done on them!

  14. dezertsuz says:

    I really like the way that one check fabric looks in the mix. I’m glad to know others have projects which don’t get worked on for long periods of time! In the next post, I saw you had lunch in Townsville. My friend, Jenny, lives near there! (I think – I’m not 100% up on Australian geography. =) I’ll have to ask her if she’s ever had the doughnut fries.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.