ScrapHappy May

Welcome once again to ScrapHappy Day!

It’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

Here’s more progress on Days Gone By, the memory quilt made from scraps generated in the making of Days for Girls kits. Again, lots done; the piece is almost square now. I worked on it in the evenings while my sewing room was still very disorganised, and it has paid off.

Before:

And after:

As you can see, I finished the row at the bottom of the top shot, then turned it round and aded two rows to the bottom of the second shot. The 4 hexie flowers at bottom left are made up but not yet attached. It’s getting a bit cumbersome, so I need to spend time picking out the basting and removing the papers from the back so that the piece is more supple and user friendly.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps of anything – no new materials. It can be a quilt block, pincushion, bag or hat, socks or a sculpture. Anything made of genuine scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful or useful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. We welcome new members. You don’t have to worry about making a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link. Regular contributors will receive an email reminder three days before the event.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at). This month, our new member is Sue L, so make sure you take a look at her blog too.

Kate (me!)Gun, TittiHeléneEvaSue, Nanette, Lynn, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy, Debbierose, Tracy, Jill, Claire, JanKaren,
Moira, SandraLindaChrisNancy, Alys, Kerry, Claire, Jean, Johanna,
Joanne, Jon, HayleyDawn, Gwen, Connie, Bekki, Pauline and Sue L.

See you again, same time next month

 

53 thoughts on “ScrapHappy May

  1. tialys says:

    You’ve made great progress – amazing what can happen when you don’t have access to your sewing room.
    This is going to be an amazjng explosion of colour, already is in fact. What are your plans for the eventual masterpiece?

    • katechiconi says:

      A throw-sized quilt, back in something cheerful and busy, and the quilting is still a mystery: hand quilting is a nightmare on hexies because of all the seams, so I may have to see if I can get it long arm quilted – a first for me 😦

  2. love all the crazy colours, makes me feel all warm and cuddly.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s a perfect response! The DfG scraps are ideal for this because they’re all fairly strong patterns and colours, so it makes for a balanced effect overall.

  3. magpiesue says:

    Wow, that *is* a lot of progress! Well done you! And all in the middle of moving too. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      At some point, I have to stop hauling boxes, and that’s the point at which the needle takes over! Assuming I’m not already asleep, that is…

  4. […] with Let’s Make Baby Quilts, Moving it forward Monday, and remember to check here for the Scrap Happy list of bloggers who sometimes have scrap projects, but always have interesting […]

  5. This is so beautiful!! And hand stitched too – I’m so impressed!

    • katechiconi says:

      The hand stitching is just patience; I’m most proud of the fact that this is all ‘recovered’ fabric, rescued from being thrown out because it was too small to be useful in the DfG kits. It’s going to make a great raffle item to raise funds, too.

  6. Nanette says:

    It’s progressing so well, and looks very cheery. I’ve just put up a post, something a little different this month, I hope it qualifies! ……. https://stitchandsow-homeandgarden.blogspot.com/2019/05/scraphappy-may.html

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    This is so very pretty. Great progress.

  8. A kaleidoscope of loveliness!

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly! What I’m enjoying is how everyone in the DfG sewing group takes a look and spots fabric from kits they’ve worked on. It makes them feel involved too.

  9. rutigt says:

    It´s growing!!! Great work, considering you have renovated a house and moved into it!

  10. It is looking absolutely lovely.

  11. KerryCan says:

    Not having a sewing room may have slowed you down in some ways but this project has benefitted! SO much progress!

    • katechiconi says:

      I know, right? I couldn’t quite believe it when I looked at the before and after photos… I’m willing to be bet it won’t be quite so impressive next time.

  12. That is a lot of progress! Well done.

  13. […] ScrapHappy Day if you are visiting from the link up! I have  been using 2.5″x5″ pieces for […]

  14. mlmcspadden says:

    Wow, lots of progress this month. It’s looking so good.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m enjoying it more now that it’s getting bigger… but I really must pull some of those papers out, it’s getting very stiff and unwieldy.

      • mlmcspadden says:

        I can totally understand that problem even tho I haven’t taken the plunge into hexies yet – it is why I’ve taken to pulling the paper off of my PP’d blocks after they are trimmed to size (and before being joined) instead of waiting until the quilt top is sewn together.

      • katechiconi says:

        Oh goodness yes! You can’t wait till the end with paper piecing, it would be sheer torture, not to mention quite unnecessarily difficult.

      • Moira says:

        Silly me did ait till the end on a king-sized pineapple quilt – very bad mistake to do that! Thankfully a sweet friend tore the paper off for me. =)

      • katechiconi says:

        Aaaargh! That must have resulted in quite the snowstorm of tiny bits of paper. WHAT a kind friend.

  15. This scrap happy quilt makes me smile ~ great progress

  16. Lynda says:

    This is getting more lovely by the row!
    I was just going to ask you an embarrassing question when the answer popped into my brain (smacks forehead with palm). What question?
    Well, deeply into quilting thoughts I wondered what the term “shot” referred to in quilting; SMACK! 😯

  17. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    What you guys can do with little bits of fabric is amazing !!!!

  18. It’s so colorful! I’m glad your sewing room is ready for business once again.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s hemmed in on all sides by unpacked boxes, but the machine is running, the ironing board is up, and I have space to spread out. This particular item doesn’t need the sewing room quite yet, but the time’s not far off; I need to press it now so that I can take out all the papers except the ones on the outside edges.

  19. claire93 says:

    got to love a crappy hexie quilt! So many reminders of previous projects.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s exactly right. Trouble is, they’re generating more scraps far faster than I can keep up! I think the next scrappy one will need to be squares rather than hexies, so I can sew them by machine.

  20. Joanne S says:

    Hand sewn, hexies, scrappy, re-purposed. I’m so very impressed. Well done, you!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s one of those projects that demanded to be done – I simply couldn’t watch the scraps being thrown out. This time, it’s hexies. Next time (when this quilt is done), it’ll probably be squares.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.