ScrapHappy January

It’s that time again, and I completely forgot!

It’s ScrapHappday today, and I have failed to post anything, for the first time in 4 years. It’s not just the work I’m doing on In the Arms of the Angels, or the fact that the Husband had multiple medical appointments in the past few days, it’s mostly that we received very bad news yesterday which drove everything else from my mind. Our forthcoming house move is almost certainly not going to happen… Suffice to say that a chain of events has made it impossible to achieve the agreed settlement date, we cannot yet establish a new one, and the owners of the house we are buying will probably put it back on the market. If there’s a miracle, we may still be able to buy it, but a miracle is what it’ll take. We’re both miserable….

Anyway, I did do some scrappy sewing this month, which you’ve already seen, but in case you’ve forgotten, here it is again. These blocks are both for ITAA, and are genuine scrappy blocks, so at least they qualify for today’s post.

My apologies also to those I normal alert with an email a few days in advance. This month, let’s agree to just post our pretty, clever or useful Scrappiness some time around the 15th of the month?

I’m so sorry…

 

 

 

 

 

 

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps of anything – no new materials. It can be a quilt block, pincushion, bag or hat, socks or a sculpture. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful or useful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. We welcome new members. You don’t have to worry about making a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link. Regular contributors will receive an email reminder three days before the event. Except this month, obviously 😦

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at).

Kate (me!)Gun, TittiHeléneEvaSue, Nanette, Lynn, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy, Debbierose, Tracy, Jill, Claire, JanKaren,
Moira, SandraLindaChrisNancy, Alys, Kerry, Claire, Jean, Johanna,
Joanne, Jon, HayleyDawn, Gwen and Connie

See you again, hopefully on time next month!

53 thoughts on “ScrapHappy January

  1. tialys says:

    Oh no! So sorry about your house Kate. Don’t mind about us – some of us even remembered all on our own 😇

    • katechiconi says:

      Well done, then, you lot. We’re a bit gutted, to say the least, and I can hardly think straight after zooming around with the Husband from doctor to hospital and back to doctor 4 times in the last two days. (Nothing critical, it was all timing issues for different treatments, but very distracting). I was firmly convinced that today was 13th right up to about 4pm!

  2. Sorry to hear about your move, hoping things click into place for you. X

  3. […] time for Scrap Happy over at Kate’s. I have been working with the leftover yarn from the Eastern Jewels blanket. […]

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    I am so very sorry about your house move. Moving house is so stressful, I do hope something even better comes along for you. As Tialys says we all know to post our srappiness on the 15th. Your scrap block is very pretty.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think we’re going to pull back, draw breath and take stock. If we’re very, very lucky, the same house might still be available, but if not, something else will come along.

  5. […] in with Kate and her Scrap Happy January band of happy […]

  6. Oh no! How very disappointing. Swearing, shouting and stamping arround a lot might help! Go ahead!
    Here’s my scrap happy post – I hope it qualifies – recycling old books and other scrappy bits of paper for mixed media collage: https://daffodilwild.wordpress.com/2019/01/15/whimsical-collage-2/

    Sending postive miracle vibes your way.

  7. claire93 says:

    so sorry to hear about house plans. Have you also got someone else in the chain, desperate to move into your current house? or can you take the time you need to start house-hunting again from scratch?

    • katechiconi says:

      No, we’re lucky in that respect. It was meant to be all low-stress and straightforward, till someone down the chain from us blew the whole thing. We’re going to stay strictly away from house-hunting till that issue is resolved.

  8. mlmcspadden says:

    So sorry to hear about the unexpected and unwanted road blocks to the move and the new house. Having been through that last year with my house purchase I know how frustrating and hard it is to go through. Here’s hoping that something even better opens up for you very soon.

  9. So very sorry about how your moving plans have been stalled. Such a disappointment. Best of luck going forward!

    • katechiconi says:

      All will be well in the end, I’m sure. And there’s one small silver lining, which is that I now have more time to spend on the current quilt, and I can enjoy our trip to Melbourne without worring about packing!

  10. Joanne S says:

    Darn. Cathy’s right. Something better should come along!!! and we do know the date to post.

    • katechiconi says:

      Actually, it sounds mean, but I’m praying they don’t sell the house quickly, and that we might be in a position to come back to them again. But if not, well, then there’ll be something else.

  11. kathyreeves says:

    I am so sorry to hear this Kate! Praying for that miracle!

  12. […] Linking with: To-Do Tuesdays Scrap Happy […]

  13. chrisknits says:

    Miracles do happen! Fingers crossed your miracle comes through.

  14. rutigt says:

    Don´t feel sorry for missing to remind us about Scrap Happy day. For the first time I wrote my post a day early!!!!
    Sorry for your house lost. We have been through that years ago and it wasn´t a pleasant experience, but we survived and I guess you will to ❤ Kramar from Gun (swenglish 🙂 )!!!!!

  15. All things happen for a reason. You just don’t know the reason yet. Frustrating to the enth degree. I do like your teal block and the other one as well. Pizza sounds really good. Hmmm. 😉 I’ll keep good thoughts for you.

  16. Dayphoto says:

    Gosh, I’m sorry. Darn it! I hope everything works out for the best and your husband gets well quickly!

  17. We thought we were not getting the house we wanted once, but we did end up getting it a few months later, so maybe the same will happen for you! It is always so hard when events are determined by someone else’s decision or indecision or lack of follow-through. I hope it all works out!

  18. craftycreeky says:

    Sorry to hear about your house move, it’s so frustrating and disappointing. I’m a bit of a fatalist I’m afraid, if it’s meant to be it will happen, Big hugs!

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s the general opinion… I’m sad because I liked the house a lot and it ticked so many boxes, and I’d already started doing it up in my head. But I guess there are other houses out there which would also work.

  19. Nanette says:

    Sorry about the house, but as others and yourself have said…silver linings etc. Maybe the house hunting/moving angels figured you needed a bit of breathing space. Staying calm and eating pizza sounds perfect. Pleased to hear all went well for John,
    No need to worry about not sending a reminder, I’m sure we all remember even if a post doesn’t happen.
    Here’s a link to my post….
    http://stitchandsow-homeandgarden.blogspot.com/2019/01/light-and-dark.html

    • katechiconi says:

      I nipped over and had a look, and your scrappy ITAA blocks are wonderful, can’t wait to see them in real life. What happens next with the house is in the lap of the gods, and we just have to wait and see.

  20. magpiesue says:

    Ack! I’ve sent the blocks for ITAA to the new address you sent to the F2F3 group! I hope you’ll be able to retrieve them without too much trouble. And how disappointing about the house. 😦 Here’s hoping for that miracle…

  21. I almost missed this, not being conversant in quilt… something made me click on the post. Commiserations on the house change of plans and the numerous medical appointments. Reading through the comments reassures me that all is well enough. Maybe it’s simply timing with the house, or maybe there’s something better coming along.

  22. Well, as you can tell I’m working backwards through the posts, so I know that there is not so much gloom now as when you originally wrote. I meant to email you over the weekend when your usual ScrapHappy alert did not arrive, and then somehow it fell out of my head. I wasn’t too worried about scrappiness, but it’s so unlike you to forget anything!

    • katechiconi says:

      I know how stuff falling out of your head feels! Never mind, we’re back on track now. Next deadline isn’t until the end of the month, so I have some breathing space…

  23. KerryCan says:

    Like Jan, I’ve already seen your more recent post, saying the house plans are back on track–whew! And you should be the last person to apologize for being a little late, with all you do for all of us!

    • katechiconi says:

      You should have seen the grin on my chops when we got the reprieve… As for ScrapHappy, I was a bit disappointed in myself; we’ve been doing it for four years and you’d think I could remember after all that time. Never mind, it’s over now.

  24. Lynda says:

    I know all too well about new house troubles. And yes, you do not want to be overwhelmed with the payments! You have my empathy regarding this surprise/shock. I read tomorrows post also and I’m glad it is working out after all. Hope your hubby is well and the treatments work! ❤

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.