ScrapHappy August

Welcome once again to ScrapHappy Day!

It’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

Despite my doubts last time, it appears I did have enough paler scraps to make the blocks I needed for a 4 x 4 pale rainbow quilt… In addition to the 9 you saw last time, I’ve made another 7 blocks, and we are up to the necessary 16! The eagle-eyed among you will notice that the black/white/grey number has been removed. I found another old block in the cupboard, a brown one which was too pale for the previous quilt, so I’m going with two browns instead. In any case, the grey one told me it wanted to be part of another quilt at some stage, made with all monochromes and some brightly-coloured sashing. I still have to spend some quality time squinting at the blocks before the layout is final. I suspect it won’t be on point, because I’d need to make more blocks.

I also managed to score some shot cotton in a pretty colour that I feel really works with all those pale blocks. What would you call it? Blackberry and cream? Mulberry and cream? Not quite the $11 I paid for the dark blue in the previous quilt, but still, it’s a remnant, the ragtag tail-end of a bolt, and I did get a 50% discount so it’s honorary scrap, don’t you agree? Not sure what I’m going to do about the backing this time. I used my most unloved bits and pieces last time, so I might have to start using actual fabric (gasp!), but probably the ‘What Was I Thinking?’ pieces, assuming I still have enough of those, as well as ‘I Love It, But…‘ fabrics. And of course, I’m still thinking of a name for this quilt.

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps of anything – no new materials. It can be a quilt block, pincushion, bag or hat, socks or a sculpture. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful or useful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. We welcome new members. You don’t have to worry about making a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link. Regular contributors will receive an email reminder three days before the event.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at). If you’ve contacted me recently to join ScrapHappy but don’t see your name there, it’s probably because I need your email address and a link to your blog, so make sure I have them for next time and you’ll be there 🙂

Kate (me!)Gun, TittiHeléneEvaSue, Nanette, Lynn, Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy, Debbierose, Tracy, Jill, Claire, JanKaren,
Moira, SandraLindaChrisNancy, Alys, Kerry, Claire, Jean, Johanna,
Joanne, Jon, Hayley and Dawn

See you next month 🙂

60 thoughts on “ScrapHappy August

  1. jmcheney says:

    So very pretty. I love the colors & patterns of your scraps. Fortuitous leftovers!

    • katechiconi says:

      It just goes to show that all scraps can become pretty, even fabrics that aren’t very promising, so long as you use them in the right way. There are some pretty dodgy colours and patterns in there!

  2. kathyreeves says:

    I love these light blocks,money are just calming and serene!

  3. I’m in this month with paper scraps. This is so much fun, Kate. Thank you!

    Scrap Happy August

  4. Honorary scrap! I love that. Yes, yes, perfect.

  5. You know I love this one too. It inspires me. You have such a good eye.

  6. dezertsuz says:

    Kate, I love that quilt EXACTLY as you have it on the wall. The colors are balanced, and it’s very appealing. It has a modern look, and it’s all scraps someone else might have thrown away! It’s very pleasing.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks, Susan! I’m strongly inclined to leave the arrangement just as it is, and just add the pale pinky/purple borders and some pretty multicoloured sashing.

  7. And another beautiful piece of work 🙂 I really like the two brown squares, the colours aren’t heavy or dark and I think they work very well. xxx

  8. anne54 says:

    It works really well. So pretty!
    Your scrappy influence is spreading….I have just read Alys’ post about her cards made from scrappy bits, and Dr Snail’s scrappy adventures with crocheting T-shirt fabric. 😘

    • katechiconi says:

      The movement is growing, hurray! I love that we now have jewellery, electronics, knitting, crochet, weaving and papercraft in addition to the fabric people. The more the merrier, I say.

  9. […] again linking with Kate  for Scrap Happy […]

  10. nanacathy2 says:

    I love these blocks, it’s hard to believe just what can be made from scraps.

    • katechiconi says:

      It horrifies me to think what gorgeous potential quilts are being casually thrown away because people don’t keep their smaller scraps. I wanted to encourage people to reuse and repurpose, and I think it’s beginning to take off!

      • nanacathy2 says:

        I think you are completely right there. I have two boxes of small scraps now! You are very inspirational.

      • rosejasm says:

        I want to cut up my scraps ready to sew and make something like this – what size do you cut and what seam allowance do you leave (can you tell I don’t quilt…) here’s to reusing! Also can you use different types of fabric or would the stretchy stuff not work? Cheers Hx

      • katechiconi says:

        I work to a 1/4″ seam allowance, which is the quilting standard. If the scrap is very small, I’ll make it a smidgen smaller. I don’t cut the scraps up much, I just roughly square them off from their original odd shape. One ‘rule’ I have made for myself is that the smaller pieces should mostly go in the middle, and the larger, longer scraps along the edges, which keeps them more stable. These blocks are probably 13-14″ square, but I’ll aim for a 12″ finished size. I make them larger so that when I quilt them, they don’t contract too much, and I trim them to size after quilting.

  11. tialys says:

    It’s come together beautifully hasn’t it and I love the crushed berry shot cotton. I won’t rack my brains for a name as you’ll bound to come up with the perfect one yourself – you always do!

    • katechiconi says:

      The cotton’s actually even nicer than in the photo, and will make some nice scraps in its turn, assuming there’s any left. I did go a bit bonkers this time, making 7 blocks, but once I’d started, I couldn’t seem to stop!

  12. At 50% off it is a definite honorary scrap! I love your light and soft toned blocks. You are really going to enjoy this one:)❤️❤️

  13. craftycreeky says:

    Love these light blocks, very calm and peaceful, reminds me of early morning light when everything is still quiet and gentle!

  14. claire93 says:

    yup that mulberry/BlackBerry fabric will definitely work!

  15. rutigt says:

    Like! Those pale blocks go very well together and the fabric you chose will make it even more nice!

  16. KerryCan says:

    Wow–looking great! And, yes, that greyed berry fabric will be perfect. Is is for sashing or just a border?

  17. An amazing scrappy creation… yet another example of beauty from scraps and I’m sure it will be cherished for years to come. One of the quilts at the exhibition that I went to earlier in the year was made of cotton scraps and had clearly been lovingly mended and was still looking good more than 100 years down the line… I hope yours will be too!

  18. I love your quilt! I always admire piecing that looks as good as yours does!

    • katechiconi says:

      In truth, the piecing is pretty wonky here and there, mainly because I’ve gone with the shape of the scraps concerned! But I find it doesn’t affect how good the block looks because the scraps ‘sing’ well together.

  19. dayphoto says:

    I love your quilt! I’m a person who loves pastels so this is a perfect type of quilt for me.

  20. Moira says:

    Love how this one has come together! I don’t normally work with light colors as my scraps will attest to, but this really calls to me.

  21. Joanne S says:

    I find the pale blues and the greens to be calming. Very pretty quilt in the making.

  22. didn’t quite manage it this month ;-), but I’m enjoying reading everyone else’s, thank you.

  23. I would love to join in on Scrap Happy for September — I have a quilt I made mostly with scraps sold at a quilt show in the guild’s fundraiser booth, but I did have to augment with newly purchased fabric and a new batting and backing. Does that count? Or not really. Either way, my feelings won’t be hurt if you would rather I didn’t include it. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Of course! Ideally, it would be all scraps, but I think we have to be realistic and sometimes scraps needs augmentation to create something new. I do it myself. If you let me have a link, I’ll add it to the line up on the day.

      • Okay, great! I will send you the link when I complete the post! I have been wanting to do this for a few months, I am glad I finally completed a project AND remembered!

      • katechiconi says:

        Great! If you could let me have it a day or two in advance that would be a great help – do bear in mind that I’m over 12 hours ahead and my posts generally go out at 8.30am local time.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.