ScrapHappy March – Anemones

Here we are again, and it’s definitely come around a lot faster than I was expecting!

It’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

Each hexie flower is 10 inches across

Because I’ve been a bit busy over the past week or so, I haven’t yet had a chance to start work on sashing my Rainbow Scrappy quilt blocks. It’s cutting table/sewing machine work, and that’s currently reserved for ST&D. But when I get too sore in the back to bend over the Bonnard hand quilting any more (6 rows to go!), I’ve been retreating to my comfy chair and stitching in big hexie flowers on my Anemone scrappy quilt. And look!  Another row added! I do love this quilt, and I’m sorry I’ve neglected it so long. Stitching in the flowers is extra fiddly when they’re so large, but the great splashes of joyful colour really make me happy, so it’s worth it.

Still two more rows to go from the flowers I’ve made. After that, I’ll look at it again and decide if I want to make it any larger, or finish it off there.

I think I’d like to keep the edge wavy rather than squaring it off, so I’ll face the edge on the back like I did with my Worldwide Friends quilt, rather than chopping off some of the hexies. Before I do that, I’ll need to add some filler hexies next to each spotty hexie on the edge. It’s a good way to use up even more scraps 🙂

ScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps of anything – no new materials. It can be a quilt block, pincushion, bag or hat, socks or a sculpture. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into something beautiful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. We welcome new members. You don’t have to worry about making a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link. Regular contributors will receive an email reminder three days before the event.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at). We have a couple of new members, so make sure you check out the two blogs at the end!

Kate (me!)Gun, TittiHeléneEvaSue, Nanette, Lynn,  Lynda,
Birthe, Turid, Susan, Cathy, Debbierose, Tracy, Jill, Claire, JanKaren,
Moira, SandraLindaChrisNancy, Alys and Claire

See you again, same time next month!

22 thoughts on “ScrapHappy March – Anemones

  1. You have a lot more scraps than I do but I love the hexie’s. I don’t know how you get so much done.

    • katechiconi says:

      For me, the trick is to have a variety of types of project on the go: machine work, hand work… Stitching fabric hexies is something I’ve done so much I can virtually work without looking at what I’m doing. I wanted a project that showcased the scraps from my Hatbox quilt as well as some of my larger scraps, and this is it. I love the combination of bright colour and the black and dotty fabrics.

  2. […] and the kit was made up from guild members’ left overs. Other readers might like to view Scrap Happy to see what folks are doing with all […]

  3. tialys says:

    Lovely to see this again. I think the wavy edge will look lovely – a shame to chop any of that fabric loveliness off.

    • katechiconi says:

      My thought exactly. It’ll be a lot more work but I feel it’ll be totally worth it in terms of a pretty finish. Not as durable as binding, but this isn’t going to be a rough and tumble sort of quilt, more a ‘drape over a chair’ kind of thing.

  4. rutigt says:

    Your Anemone scrappy quilt is really blooming! Great!

  5. claire93 says:

    you’ll be able to play “I spy” with this one, and find so many fabrics left from previous quilts!

  6. Beautiful! I love the exuberance of this quilt.

  7. kathyreeves says:

    This is getting some size to it now, wow! I do love the bright colors, Kate, it is so happy. 😄

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not going to make it too much bigger… Two more rows of hexies to add and then I’ll review whether it needs more down the side. There are still some scrap fabrics I haven’t used yet!

  8. magpiesue says:

    Your flowers are indeed happy. 🙂 So glad you’ve found time in your busy days to indulge in this way. Kudos to you for helping out your friend’s school. It sounds like an impressive institution. And the quilting on ST&D is looking great. That new walking foot was well worth the investment!

  9. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    This looks like a merry quilt !

  10. nanacathy2 says:

    They are so bright and cheerful.

  11. I love the look of hexagons. Kate, are you stitching them all by hand? My goodness your fingers must be strong and able. It’s all wonderful. Thank you for the link in your post!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, they’re all done by hand. I don’t find making the hexies or flowers at all taxing, but stitching the made up flowers together is a bit fiddly. I think I’d find making something like this by machine far harder!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.