Signed, Tealed & Delivered: the gappy one…

Well, people, you asked for it.

Here’s the ‘gappy’ layout, showing the blocks I have in so far. We’re still missing two corner blocks, three postcards and an embroidered postal frank block (for a look at this, go over to Margaret’s recent post about it). The gaps in the layout aren’t necessarily where the outstanding blocks will go in the end, but I wanted to make the layout looks as complete as possible.

This really is a wonderful collection of beautiful blocks, and I’m thrilled at how close to the original concept we’re going to come in the end. Everyone who’s contributed has dug deep in their stashes to donate some truly lovely fabrics, all of which contribute to how impressive and gorgeous this quilt will be when it’s done.

I’ll show the outstanding blocks as they come in. I think the corners will be next, then one of the postcards, then the frank block and the last postcard, judging by where they’re coming from.

All too soon, it’ll be time to start quilting…

36 thoughts on “Signed, Tealed & Delivered: the gappy one…

  1. elaine says:

    That is so pretty – love the whole thing 🙂

  2. Moira says:

    That is going to be a wonderful quilt!

  3. magpiesue says:

    Wow, the backgrounds on the blocks I made are significantly darker than everything else. Maybe if you put them in opposite corners they’ll be okay. Still, ow could I not use that print? 😉

  4. anne54 says:

    it is looking stunning, Kate. Well done to you and everyone who has contributed.

    • katechiconi says:

      Coming along nicely, I agree! I have a few design decisions ahead of me once all the blocks are in; firstly, how to arrange them, and then what colour strip to use to join the blocks on the front. I might even – gasp! – go with something colourful and patterned. You never know…

  5. craftycreeky says:

    Looks great, the cross-stitch is coming on too 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s going to be a great quilt. Once I have all the blocks in, I’ll be spending a couple of days shuffling them around to achieve the best effect. One of my favourite parts of assembling the quilt!

  6. claire93 says:

    lovely to see how this one is coming together.

  7. lucyannluna says:

    Starting to look great

  8. jessicacrafts says:

    This is looking amazing. Love all the colours. And can’t wait to see it all together.
    To me though, I feel like the corner envelopes should be pointing outwards not inwards. But that’s just personal preference maybe.

    • katechiconi says:

      I designed the layout with all four pointing in, but I may well have them pointing out in the final assembly, you never know! It’s all going to depend on how all the other blocks look and come together.

  9. kathyreeves says:

    This makes me so happy!

  10. What wonderful squares that so many have contributed. Someone will be delighted with the finished results. It’s stunning already.

  11. […] The overall design is one of postcards and envelopes. […]

  12. I’ve really enjoyed watching this one come together from the beginning. It’s a stunning collection of work, and such a clever idea. I love postage, postcards, letter-writing and the like and the colors are gorgeous too. I hope to one day contribute to a future quilt. In the meantime, I’m in awe.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d love to have you on the team 🙂 I have a list of ideas for future quilts already on the go. Some will require simple blocks, others will need some technical skill, but nothing so demanding that anyone who can sew a straight line can’t do it with some guidance. I look forward to the day you put your hand up! xxx

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.