The Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook: Viv’s page

When the idea of the Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook was first proposed, Viv was one of the first to jump on board with gusto.

Before the Sketchbook reached her, however, we lost her in July 2016. This was a great sadness on two counts; first for those who loved her and miss her still, and secondly because the Sketchbook also needs words as well as the beautiful images which have been contributed. Viv’s great skill was with words, and the lack of her contribution left something of a void.

Viv’s daughter Sally has kindly consented to allow us to feature one of Viv’s poems to amend this lack. The piece which has been selected is called ‘Conjunctions’, and discusses the importance of building and maintaining the connections between us, a sentiment particularly appropriate for the far-flung Sisterhood.

I was asked to letter and insert Viv’s poem.   I have done this in a connected way, with each verse linked to the next with paper and thread. I thought about adding some pieces of patchwork, another of Viv’s passions, but ultimately felt that her words were splendid as they stood, and needed no other adornment or distraction. I’m happy with the simplicity of the execution.

You can see my own page about the Sketchbook project by clicking the link at the start of this post. Alternatively, go to the blog created for this project by Sandra, for a different perspective.

So, I give you Viv’s contribution. She’s with us after all…

35 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the Travelling Sketchbook: Viv’s page

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    A lovely final touch, beautifully executed.

  2. tialys says:

    Kate – we burdened you with a big responsibility to choose one of Viv’s many excellent poems and to add it to the Sketchbook in a complementary manner. I know you and Viv were close cyber friends so I’m sure you didn’t consider it a burden at all but your choice of poem and your beautiful handwriting (and just a teensy piece of gorgeous fabric) form a lovely tribute to a lovely lady – she would have been proud of you 🙂

  3. How beautiful. Thank you for sharing this.

  4. Beautiful in every way. ❤

  5. Robin Murphy says:

    Oh Kate, what a lovely way to add Viv’s thoughts to the sketchbook. I am with mum at the moment and we both love how you have added it.

  6. I love how you have presented this – the focus is on the words, but the little embellishments make this extra-special. Plus it meant that you got to see all the contributions for real, having been the first stop on the book’s original tour.

    • katechiconi says:

      I really appreciated that opportunity! The Sketchbook is becoming a little fragile after her travels, her seams are loosening, so the snug jacket you made is doing an excellent job. I was glad of the chance to do this last service for Viv, and I think she’d be happy about the result.

  7. You did a WONDERFUL job! How ingenious! Paper and thread, I love it. I’m sure Viv would too. She was not a fussy kind of person so simple would be perfect. I do miss seeing her here. It’s lovely when she keeps popping up like this in little ways. That was one amazing book.

    • katechiconi says:

      I miss her too, I keep her blog up in the list of the ones I follow, and I still have her Skype contact live. She had such a lively and robust sense of humour, a rich laugh and a huge and insatiable interest in the world and its marvels. It was a privilege to do this for her.

  8. dayphoto says:

    How beautiful! Everything about it!

  9. Kathy D says:

    Kate – how beautiful and timely for this planet we inhabit. I hope it’s okay if I saved it to Pinterest, if not I will delete. She sounds like she was a very smart woman.

  10. craftycreeky says:

    Beautiful writing for a beautiful poem, I love the message in the poem, very apt for the Travelling Sketchbook. You did a wonderful job 🙂

  11. ladyredspecs says:

    A fabulous and fitting conclusion to the sketchbook, it’s perfectly in context for Viv’s words and the project

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, Sandra. I really feel as if the Sketchbook is complete now. I’m just waiting for Anne to return from her travels and then I’ll mail it back to her for its next adventure, whatever that may be.

  12. kathyreeves says:

    The words are wonderful and the lettering sets them off beautifully. Curly enough to be special without being overly fussy. Exactly right!

  13. rutigt says:

    So sad and so beautiful!

  14. magpiesue says:

    Oh Kate, it’s wonderful. I love the way you stretched out the verses and then connected them. Perfect, simply perfect.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I kept seeing the word ‘connected’ and thinking that the words had to be connected too, and here was a simple way of keeping the individual verses large enough to read but small enough to go into the book.

  15. Kate, this is perfect. Beautifully executed and a lovely tribute to Viv’s words. Thank you for completing the entry.

Leave a Reply

