Sea Glass #15. All done

This has been one of my favourites.

I can’t really explain why. A combination of colours I love, a simple but effective pattern, improvement in my appliqué skills, lovely texture, a big improvement in my hand quilting skills, and no deadline.

And now it’s done. Bound, labelled, washed gently in wool wash with a couple of colour catchers to get rid of the marker, and then tumble dried. Puffy and soft. Ready to go to its new home. You guys were right, that purple batik was perfect as binding and I still have at least 30cm of the full WOF left.

So, what shall I do next? Quilt another handful of Hatbox blocks? Make a couple of envelope blocks for ST&D? Make a scrappy block for ScrapHappy? Nah. I need a tiny vacation. Like, maybe… a day or so?

Think I’ll stop and sit a while before I get the next job out. This calls for chocolate.

55 thoughts on “Sea Glass #15. All done

  1. kathyreeves says:

    Happy dancing with you, it is just stunning! What a treasure for your SIL!

  2. Beautiful piecing and quilting. I’m sure she will love it. And if she does not, I know someone who would be glad to … ❤

  3. tialys says:

    Well I think you explained perfectly well in your first paragraph why this has been one of your favourites. It’s a beauty.

  4. The colour combination is beautiful – I’m sure Cath is going to adore it.

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    So beautiful, lucky SIL. It’s just got the wonderful colours of seaglass, well worthy of chocolate. More hat boxes please, I love seeing what comes next with them.

  6. cazinatutu says:

    I was wondering whether your SiL reads your blog. Part of me hopes she doesn’t so the quilt will be a total surprise for her.

    • katechiconi says:

      She does, but hadn’t seen this post until I texted her to say we were bringing the finished quilt round for her! It’ll be staying, I’m glad to say 🙂

    • Cath says:

      Hi … yes I do read Kate’s blog and can I just say that I love Sea Glass … as Kate said it is a perfect match to my room and it looks gorgeous on my bed … I love all Kate’s quilts and was blown away when she said she was going to make one for me … I want to thank Kate from the bottom of my heart and I am ever so grateful for the gorgeous gift she has given me … Thank you 💜💜

  7. claire93 says:

    well done Kate, this is another stunner, and even if summer is on its way, winter will be with you again before you know it ^^

  8. lbick says:

    It’s beautiful! You did a great job. Enjoy your chocolate 😀

  9. Jule says:

    Beautiful! Congratulations on the finish 🙂

  10. elaine says:

    Just beautiful! Love the colors and artistic piecing ~

  11. dayphoto says:

    It’s lovely! And little breaks are SO refreshing!

  12. I LOVE it and I’m certain your SIL will as well. I’d sleep under it even in summer. It’s too beautiful to put away. Enjoy your chocolate break.

  13. Kate, what a stunning beautiful quilt. I love what you’ve created and I know your SIL will love it too. Then one day, it will be passed down to another generation. xo

  14. craftycreeky says:

    It’s beautiful Kate, the colours, the quilting, it’s all stunning 🙂

  15. Chris S in Canada says:

    I don’t think there is much that could be nicer than a beautiful quilt going to a good home. You’ve enjoyed the making, your SIL will enjoy the result. Were it mine, I think I would crank the AC (or drop the heat) and sleep under that all year round. (hot flashes and all.)

    It is absolutely beautiful and the colours simply stunning. A work of art – well done.

    Chris S in Canada

    PS – couple of weeks ago I found another clay cooker at the thrift store – nearly double the size of the first. Only $10 Cdn and practically unused. Getting chilly here in Southern Ontario, think I might throw a chicken and veg in for dinner tonight.

  16. magpiesue says:

    What a fabulous finish! It will be interesting to see what you decide to tackle next. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, I’ll be continuing with Hatbox block quilting, ScrapHappy blocks, and my share of the Signed, Tealed & Delivered blocks, but there’s something else in the pipeline I’m not ready to go public on just yet. Lots of design and working out still to do….

  17. rutigt says:

    I can see why you love the quilt. It´s beautiful!! I do like the colors you´ve chose, they go so well together. Well done!!!

  18. It definitely calls for chocolate. I love these rich colours.

    • katechiconi says:

      I can confirm chocolate was consumed. Lindt dark 60% cocoa with salted caramel, to be precise! The colours are lovely, one of my favourite combinations, and I know it’s gone to a good home 🙂

  19. norma says:

    Stunning! Lucky sister-in-law

  20. Emma says:

    It’s amazing! I love your quilting 😍

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks! I’m really pleased with how it turned out, and I really got into the groove with the hand quilting. It doesn’t seem so scary any more!

      • Emma says:

        I think I might give it a go too, I’m doing some English paper piecing and I was a bit worried about quilting it in the end but you’ve got amazing results with hand quilting so that may be the way to go 🙂

      • katechiconi says:

        Having hand quilted two hand pieced EPP hexie quilts, I can say it’s not that scary, just time consuming. The quilt that lives on my bed has an overall pattern of quilted clamshells so the quilting’s quite dense, and the other one has the centre of each hexie flower and the intervening ones between each flower outline quilted and the quilting is quite light. Both work well, but I prefer the clamshells despite normally liking light quilting better.

Leave a Reply

