Bee, Myself and I #18

The hand quilting continues…

Here’s the latest progress. As you can see, I have the next four hatbox blocks hand quilted as well, and the top row done.

I have not been too idle. I can get a block sandwiched, basted and quilted in an evening if I work on it all evening.

Mostly I don’t manage that (especially with other projects going on), and get it done over two evenings.

I outline the hatbox and its lid first. Then I echo quilt around it.

Lastly I pick out the fabric design in selected areas, trying to make sure I cover the area evenly but not too densely.

Unpick the basting, and she’s done. I really like how these are turning out. The backs are pretty, too.

Lynn at Tialys is also making a Hatbox Quilt wall hanging. She’s machine quilting hers, so for a completely different effect, click through the link to take a look at where she’s up to.  If her post isn’t up yet, try again later. She’s using Liberty fabrics, so the effect is gorgeous!

Bee, Myself and I is a forum for ‘selfish sewing’; any stitchery which is purely for pleasure and not for anyone else. The original concept belongs to Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl. To find out more, you can click through on either her blog link, or using the button a fair way down in the left hand column.

 

30 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #18

  1. tialys says:

    Lovely! Unlike you I’m being very lazy with my quilting.
    Next time I make this (!!) it will be as a small quilt or throw at the very least and I will cut away the backing from behind the boxes, make my wallpapers and floors a bit more consistent and do something a little more daring with the quilting. All the things, in fact, you are doing this time. 😉

  2. I’m looking forward to seeing the finished quilt – I have mixed feelings about the design, but I do love the fabrics.

  3. Your quilts need a LOVE button, not a Like one.

  4. claire93 says:

    you’ve really been supergirl recently with all this hand quilting!

  5. Moira says:

    It is looking good!

  6. norma says:

    These are beautiful! It’s a very good pattern to showcase lovely fabrics.

  7. anne54 says:

    Your statement “I’ve not been too idle” made me smile. I can’t imagine that you are ever idle. You seem to whiz through the most complex pieces and create such beautiful quilts. This one will be no exception.

  8. magpiesue says:

    These blocks are looking wonderful, as is the quilting on Sea Glass. I love the idea of another version of hatboxes in black and white and brights!

  9. So very pretty. I love this design.

  10. kathyreeves says:

    I’m loving the idea for a second version, but this one is just so happy, makes my heart sing just looking at it.

  11. rutigt says:

    Hahaha……more handquilting and I thought you had enough to do! Woman, I´m impressed!

  12. I love the top three floral prints. They’re gorgeous. I like your neutral back ground, too, Kate. It’s all looking lovely.

  13. You have an amazing collection of happy florals there, Kate.

Leave a Reply

