Swamp thing…

… is how I’m feeling right now.

Notice the sad effect of severely blocked sinuses and a nose that’s been blown into extinction…

I’m very sorry to have disappeared off the radar for so long. There has been a protracted period of bad health, first some fairly serious gastric issues landing me in hospital for further investigations, results still pending. Then, o joy, despite having an annual flu shot, I got flu. Correction. We both got flu. The Husband, being made of sterner stuff than I, was up and about within 2 days. I could not get my temperature down and it took 5 days before I was tottering around again. We both still sound like a TB ward and cannot sleep without a small mountain of pillows to keep us almost upright at night. We’re on the third bottle of cough medicine, the fourth packet of cold & flu remedy, and still the nose-blowing, whooping and wheezing ring out in the small hours.

On to more cheerful subjects. Β I’ve actually sandwiched and pinned Sea Glass, and have made a start on hand quilting the central flower basket section. This is something I can do in short bursts without it being at all taxing, so it’s the perfect convalescent occupation. In addition, I’ve done some more hand quilting on the Hatbox blocks, but that’ll have to wait until the end of the month, at which time I hope to have some-thing decent to show you.

I must get back into the sewing room in the next couple of days, as the 15th of the month and ScrapHappy Day are approaching, and it wouldn’t do to have nothing done!

Anyway, I thought I’d just let people know I’m still alive, if not exactly flourishing. Hopefully normal service will resume soon…. Swamp living is getting rather dull.

56 thoughts on “Swamp thing…

  1. Oh your poor things. The G.O. has succumbed to the flu also, and preceded by the gastro bug as well. Every second person seems to have/had both. Many have had the flu shot.
    What has eased it for the G.O. is a small pot of Capilano Manuka10+ active medical honey I purchased from Woolies. He’s been taking 4 largeish teasppons per day, and is onto the second jar. After a week or so he is beginning to go a little stir crazy which is an indicator that he’s on the improve! I hope it is warm & sunshiney up your way, which I think helps as well. Take care β™‘

    • katechiconi says:

      We do have great weather to be sick in! I might have to take a look at the honey, but if we could only calm the night time coughing we’d both feel a lot better. In the morning it sounds like we have a 50 smokes a day habit, and by mid afternoon it sounds like we have whooping cough… Tiring!

      • Our treatment for coughs… I get a winter wheeze… is to crank up the woodfire to just below sweating temp before we go to bed. I have a pot of water on it infused with essential oils. Deez sleeps in front of it and wakes us up if the fire gets too low. The honey has helped break up the G.O.’s cough… and he also prescribes! 6 to 8 panadol daily, fresh oranges off the neighbour’s tree while you’re suffering. Although feeling better he says he’s still hot as hell. I really hope I don’t get it πŸ™ƒ Get well soon… October isn’t far away β™‘

      • katechiconi says:

        You’re so right! I must send you some dates for our trip, we’ve just got to be well by then!

  2. How awful for you!! I am so glad you are doing better. A good dose of quilting and sewing is always the best medicine ❀️

  3. Cas says:

    Oh no, not you too…. Our house was ravaged by flu over the last fortnight, we all got it within the space of a week…. Mr 6yo slept for the majority 3 days! More or less ok now, but don’t do too much too soon, it’ll sit you back on your b-hind quick smart. Get better soon, Cas =)

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks, Cas, it’s been a bit terrible, but things are slowly improving. Being able to sleep would be a big help, but we both feel a bit like we’re drowning when we lie down, and the coughing becomes incessant rather than merely constant! Never mind, the end may be in sight…

  4. No to sewing. No to anything except staying in bed and sleeping as much as possible. Reading and drinking lots of water are the most strenuous activities you should be thinking about. I am not joking.

    • katechiconi says:

      That sounds rather pleasant but is sadly not going to happen… For one thing, the minute I lie down the coughing kicks in so hard I think I’m going to barf! We’re both pottering about like a pair of geriatrics, but are mending slowly.

  5. tialys says:

    (((((((((((Kate)))))))))))
    xx

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    Poor old sausage, it sounds truly horrendous, get better soon. Some gentle sewing and lots of rest! xxxxxxx

  7. claire93 says:

    I agree that some gentle crafting is what you need, to keep your hands busy and try to concentrate on pretty creative things rather than dwelling on pending test results. And gentle hugs to your flu-ridden self.

  8. cazinatutu says:

    Do you use aromatic oils? I often get horridly blocked sinuses which have me wheezing and coughing for a couple of weeks. Oil of Olbas on the pillow is my night-time saviour (just make sure you don’t put your eyes on the pillow where the oil is !!). And of course Oil of Olbas on an oil burner.

    Get well soon (((xxxx)))

    • katechiconi says:

      I use eucalyptus oil on a hankerchief next to my pillow, and I have an oil burner with a Breathe Easy mixture. It helps, but only time will fix the problem, I’m afraid πŸ™‚

  9. Moira says:

    I’m glad that you are starting to feel better after all the problems! take care of yourself.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! There’s a bit of a flu epidemic here in Australia, it’s a particularly virulent strain, and on the news tonight they said that in one Brisbane hospital they’d seen 300 cases present in just one week… I assumed I was safe. I won’t make that mistake again!

  10. kymlucas says:

    Oh, Kate, I’m so sorry you and hub have been poorly. Sounds pretty ghastly. Hope you continue on the mend.

  11. dayphoto says:

    With Celiac disease and gastric troubles (not to mention the flu) I am very worried about you. I hope they figure out your gastric problem…please let us know…Love you…HUGS! Hope everything heals very fast now.

    • katechiconi says:

      The gastric stuff is all very confusing, and I have another couple of weeks before I hear anything, but the flu, thankfully, seems to have turned the corner and I’m creeping towards recovery – which of course is entirely due to all the hugs and good wishes I’m getting!

  12. Catherine says:

    I do hope you get better soon! It sounds like you’ve had a tough winter

    • katechiconi says:

      It hasn’t been heaps of fun, I’ll admit, but spring’s around the corner and everything always improves then. It’s been a very bad year here for flu – they had 300 cases presenting at just one hospital in Brisbane last week! Anyway, the symptoms seem to be on the retreat, so all is well πŸ™‚

  13. Jule says:

    Oh dear! All the best, and get well soon.

  14. kathyreeves says:

    More naps! And I think the sewing helps the morale, but please be gentle on yourselves and try to be patient so you don’t over tax yourself and as many naps as you can stand while the nights are still difficult. Hugs and more hugs to you!

  15. magpiesue says:

    I’m so sorry to read this! I hope your test results come back with desirable news. I completely understand the need to distract yourself while you try to recover from the flu. Was the flu shot they gave this season not the right one for this variant of the flu? That seems to happen frequently over here. I took advantage of a good day to get some blocks sewn up for Scrap Happy Day. Now all I have to do is recruit my energy to actually write the post! It’s been real hit and miss lately. Maybe by next week we’ll both be feeling better. Fingers crossed. πŸ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      It was on the news last night that hundreds and hundreds of people are presenting at hospital with really severe flu symptoms despite getting the shots, so I’m thinking that either a new variant was brought in from somewhere else, or the virus evolved really quickly and bypassed the vaccine. Test result in 2 weeks, so all I need is lots more patience. I’ve had a rootle in my scraps for a ScrapHappy block, so there’ll be at least one from me too. Let’s hope for better health soon for both of us πŸ™‚

  16. craftycreeky says:

    Hope you’re feeling better soon, time for some TLC πŸ™‚

  17. mommermom says:

    I did understand about missing time blogging- most especially when it dir tho health issues. Good to see you again.

  18. I’m so sorry to hear you’re ill! How miserable that must be. 😦 I hope the cough and the belly issues both clear quickly and completely, so you can get your energy back. Hugs and good wishes!

  19. Argh, feeling for you. A couple of us here at home had that same thing around 6 weeks ago, I was one of them and the disgusting hacking cough seemed eternal. Weeks and weeks of it. It must be heading north! Glad you are both on the mend and hope the digestive stuff is an easy fix. Lovely quilting as per usual Kate.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks for the good wishes, and the lovely comment about the quilting. We’re both up and about again, but the coughing can leave you gasping and sure you’re going to die, can’t it? Never mind…

  20. nettyg says:

    That dark hours coughing is the pits, poor yo, itdes feel like whooping cough and some of your lung is about to be ejected! I’ve had that awful flu too and had a few days in hospital to get my temp down and fluids up. It seems to hang on too, still coughing weeks later, but manageable. So many people here with weird sicknesses and gastric problems, mostly e coli, due to contaminated water and mud. Now the weather’s dry, it’s contaminated dust!

    Will you be wandering this way in October…that’s soon!

    • katechiconi says:

      We haven’t decided yet if we’re going inland or down the highway. This time, it’ll be airb’n’b rather than camp sites, as we’ll be on the bike with the trailer. I’ll let you know as soon as the route is worked out πŸ™‚ Flu is on the wane, thank heavens, I actually got to sleep last night!

  21. Emma says:

    I hope you feel better soon, if you were living closer to Brisbane I’d say that you’ve been hit by the Ekka curse! Rest well 😘

  22. Kate, I am so sorry to hear you’ve been ill. What a scary episode, too, having to land in the hospital. I was traveling for five days so fell behind on my reading. I’m glad to check in and see you are on the mend. Be well.

  23. Oh dear! Still no results on the hospital tummy checks? I hope they figure it out soon for you. Do whatever it takes to get and stay well!

  24. ladyredspecs says:

    It’s an iron willed bug that won’t let go, that’s for sure. Sorry to hear about your gut issues Kate. I can’t help but wonder if there is a connection between the two because I also ended up in hospital at the beginning of the URTI with gut issues too. Going next week to have both colonoscopy and gastroscopy. CT scan found scar tissue constriction AND colitis.

    • katechiconi says:

      Waiting for results from my top’n’tail scopes. Hopefully they won’t find anything as nasty as colitis, but he sure did take a lot of biopsies… Hope you’re feeling better now πŸ™‚

  25. Yikes. Sorry to hear about all of this misery. Flu is bad enough but gastric problems plus the drawn-out anxiety of waiting to test results is sheer misery.

    I feel for you. I’m one of those people who has refused dental x-rays for decades because I don’t want to up my lifetime dose of radiation (my teeth are fine despite their secrecy) but in the last few months I’ve had a whole flurry of CAT scans and MRI’s so I can commiserate about waiting for results (and glow doing it). Here’s to good answers to health concerns!

    • katechiconi says:

      It hasn’t been a whole heap of fun, I grant. Sadly, I’m well past my lifetime allowance of radiation (the back issues a year ago sure didn’t help…). Perhaps this explains my excellent night vision – I provide my own glow in the dark!

Leave a Reply

