Gallimaufry: all quilted

That’s that lot done.

Now for the trimming out and then joining up, always the least enjoyable part, but necessary 🙂 I need some more dark blue for the front sashing, there’s not enough left over from the Blue Hour quilt to get the job finished. I must also remember to use light blue thread or it’ll show up too much against the light blue backing – so long as I stitch carefully in the ditch on the fronts, it won’t show against the dark blue on the quilt front, as I discovered on Blue Hour, when I used cream thread. I like the effect of the pale coral thread against the dark blue, it’s pretty. Not sure how noticeable it is compared with cream, but I know it’s there, which is all that really matters.

I didn’t do my neatest ever job of hand-quilting the Miz Lizzie block in a big stitch and a variety of thread colours, but it’s cute and puffy and I like it!

Just a short post today, I have work to do for ScrapHappy and the SAL, which are both due this weekend!

37 thoughts on “Gallimaufry: all quilted

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    Speedy work! And looking good!

  2. claire93 says:

    Miss Lizzie quilting looks fab! and so do all the blocks together

  3. Kathy D says:

    Really like the final lay out – don’t remember which ones were changed – but it looks more balanced. Beautiful!

  4. I love the stitching on your Miss Lizzy block! Your whole quilt is going to be GREAT❤️❤️

  5. kathyreeves says:

    Miz Lizzie is going to look amazing with the two quilts!

  6. dayphoto says:

    It looks really good!!! I also like your cute Miz Lizzy!

  7. magpiesue says:

    It’s looking so good! I’m trying to get a few things done before I write my posts for Scrap Happy Day and the SAL too. I’m pleased with the progress I’ve made so far.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have ScrapHappy done and scheduled, and the SAL is looking good, just need to iron the thing and take a photo. It’s going to be a busy day, so I don’t know how far I’ll get with this one; I’d love to get it at least half assembled.

  8. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    wow ! it’s wonderfull, I love all the round shapes and the blue’s ofcourse !

  9. craftycreeky says:

    Great blocks, love the layout 🙂

  10. rutigt says:

    The Miz Lizzie block really makes me happy!

  11. Lynda says:

    This was quick and that Miz Lizzie block is adorable – I love it, Kate!

    • katechiconi says:

      She doesn’t quite go with the rest, but I wanted to have her in the quilt, so there you are. I’ve got the top two rows joined up now and the second two rows trimmed out ready to sew together. Making good progress!

  12. I love that Ms. Lizzie has a teapot in the window. How charming. It’s so clear to me that you love what you do, Kate. I’m so happy for you.

    • katechiconi says:

      I do! A friend summed it up nicely for me: “Kate, what you make are pretty hugs”. And she’s right. The quilts are tools for communicating hugs… Pretty is just how I have to make them 🙂

  13. I love everything about this quilt and anyone would be happy to wrap themselves in it. The colors are soothing for me and Ms. Lizzie is inviting. Put the kettle on. 😉 What a joy it will be to travel with this quilt to tuck you in. Fussy stitchers miss the joy. It’s perfect!

  14. Sartenada says:

    Well done, so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

