Gallimaufry: let the quilting begin

Right, final (probably) layout.

I say probably because I don’t rule out wanting to swap a couple of blocks once they’re all quilted. In fact I can see two right now that I want to change. Funny how you can’t see it for looking in real life, but it jumps out at you in a photo….

I’ve cut batting and backing for the first row, and now I need to have a hard (but short) think about how this is going to be quilted. If I go with the cross hatching I did on the Blue Hour quilt, I’ll be running over some of the features that make the blocks interesting. On the other hand, it’s a much longer job if I come up with custom designs for each style of block. Perhaps a combination is the right idea: cross hatching on the simpler scrappy, snowball and 9-patch blocks, and something a bit different on the sunray, twister and bubbles blocks. The trick will be to keep to the same amount of quilting so that the blocks stay the same size in the end. Too much close quilting = smaller block.

Whatever I end up doing, I’ll have that gorgeous pale coral pink thread to work with 🙂

33 thoughts on “Gallimaufry: let the quilting begin

  1. anne54 says:

    It’s wonderful, Kate! I love the colours, and the different shapes. And that dear little caravan block. You are such an amazing quilter. (I will be curious to know which ones you may swap.)

  2. mlmcspadden says:

    Looks great!

  3. kathyreeves says:

    If you start with the cross hatch ones, by the time you are ready for the sunburst and circles I bet you’ll know exactly what you want.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve been sitting and looking at it and thinking about how visible or otherwise the quilting will be… I think it’s all going to be cross hatched, but on the bubble blocks, I’ll stop and start around the bubbles to let them stand out a little rather than be flattened. And of course, the caravan block will receive special treatment!

      • kathyreeves says:

        Absolutely the caravan needs a custom quilting treatment! I wondered about doing that with the bubbles and heart too. I think it will set them apart nicely. Will you cross hatch the Sunday’s too?

      • katechiconi says:

        The bubbles and the heart will have cross hatched backgrounds, but it will stop short of the appliqué shapes, which will be outlined. I’ll hand quilt Miz Lizzie – as you say, she deserves a custom job!

  4. knitnkwilt says:

    Lookin’ good. Now that you mention it, I can see the need to make that swap. And with more gazing, might have seen it without mention. I think photos are similar to standing way back in a museum. I too have seen things that way that hadn’t lept out IRL.

    • katechiconi says:

      Funny, isn’t it? The contrast was enough to let them sit side by side, but I just don’t want two blocks of the same kind sitting together. There are lots of other swaps compared with the previous shot, but I feel it’s more balanced now, without being too precious about it.

  5. tialys says:

    The three middle blocks in the first row stood out to me a bit with the balance of ‘orange’ appearing to be weighted towards the top of the quilt. Nothing wrong with that at all and it could just be the lighting in the photo as the top row, in general, looks darker than the rest. Can’t wait to see how that coral thread looks against those blues.

    • katechiconi says:

      It is the lighting. They’re warm beiges with red printing, so it looks ‘hotter’ than the rest. Once I have decent daylight to take the photos you’ll see what I mean. In any case, I have tried quite a number of variants, and I like this one with those blocks at the top 🙂 I’ve quilted the first 7 blocks already, a simple 3″ cross hatch, but not running across the bubbles on the bubble blocks. There, I’ve stopped the line at the edge of the bubbles, and then outlined them. The pale coral looks pretty, but doesn’t stand out too much as a darker thread would.

  6. tialys says:

    Ah yes, I see now that the fabric in the 2nd and 4th top row blocks is the same as that used in the middle block of the 4th row – not darkly orange at all. In that case……
    I took some photos of Sandra’s completed fusion quilt yesterday (the one with the fabric squares with a crochet border) and the same thing happened – the top row kept coming out darker than it should have. The trials and tribulations eh?

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly so. I think in my case it’s because I’m photographing it on the inside wall of the room, and the light from the window just doesn’t make it as far as that top row. Still, not complaining – I’m very lucky to have a large design wall to play on!

  7. claire93 says:

    looking forward to seeing everything joined together and quilted ^^ This one seems to have come together so quickly!

  8. I am in love with this quilt!!! The colors and the patterns. It’s just beautiful.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s nicer in real life and better light, more subtle, less contrasty. I have it one-third quilted now, so it’ll probably be done by the end of next week 🙂

  9. dayphoto says:

    It’s beautiful, Kate!

  10. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    I LOVE it !!! as you may know I love the blues and you have many of them in this quilt, it is fabulous !!

  11. magpiesue says:

    You’re making great progress! How soon will you be able to try it out in Miz Lizzie?

  12. rutigt says:

    It looks OK to me, but it is true, you discover faults better, when you look at a photo.

Leave a Reply

