Gallimaufry, Lines 5 and 6

So, the blocks are done.

I have just managed to squeak all of them out of the dark blues I had, with a bit of creative cutting and splicing. Funny, I thought it was the lights I’d run out of first, but maybe I was a bit generous with all those lovely batik indigos.

This is definitely not the order in which they’ll appear in the quilt, but I’ve kept to the drawing sequence in completing all the blocks so I have the right number of each. Next post will show what I hope is the final arrangement of the whole thing, although as always I’ll tweak as I go along as improvements strike me.

How do you like my caravan appliqué? I couldn’t resist a bit of fun, and I particularly love those bubbly clouds… Miz Lizzie lacks the necessary windowsills so I can’t actually have teapots and flowerpots on display, but they do dress this little window nicely 🙂

Here’s the full set, looking a bit bottom heavy, but that will all change next time.

41 thoughts on “Gallimaufry, Lines 5 and 6

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    Let the arranging fun begin! The best part, I think. Good parts to work with.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve just spent an hour putting up, taking down, putting up, taking down. I’m pretty sure I’m there now; I have colour intensity and shapes balanced, which was all I wanted to achieve. Let quilting begin!

  2. tialys says:

    You’ve had some gorgeous fabrics at your disposal for this Kate. I love the little caravan and glad to see there’s a teapot in there – an essential piece of kit (for me anyway).

    • katechiconi says:

      Far more important for us is the coffee percolator, but it wasn’t such an easy shape to appliqué, and that fabric was perfect for teapots! I like the contrast between the severe, graphic patterns in the batiks, and the floral riot in the rest 🙂 There’s a lot of my favourite pale pink/beige/rose/green paisley, and that ice blue with big roses. This quilt makes me very happy!

  3. craftycreeky says:

    The colours and fabrics are gorgeous, love the sun ray blocks 🙂

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    I love that the yellows and oranges look like sunshine coming through, but my favourite is the little caravan.

    • katechiconi says:

      The photo makes them look bright, but those are actually pinkish beige and rosy reds, the overall effect isn’t quite as ‘hot’ as it looks in this photo 🙂 I love the caravan too, it was heaps of fun to do, especially the window part!

  5. ooh ooh ooh it’s lovely… especially the teeny Miz Lizzie!

    • katechiconi says:

      That last block was SO much fun! The caravan window is about 2×3″ so you can imagine the size of the flowerpot and teapot! But I’m particularly loving the big grey and white spot I used for the clouds – how fluffy do they look!

  6. cazinatutu says:

    I’m sorry, but every time I read Gallimaufry, my brain seizes up and gets stuck in a Dr Who timewarp (Gallifrey)

  7. The fabrics & arrangement are lovely. And the teapot & flowerpot after zoomed and realised it wasn’t you & Mr C looking out the window, are a lovely touch ♡

  8. All the blocks are great, but my favorite is the little travel trailer.

    • katechiconi says:

      I had to get that one in, as this quilt is going to live in our travel trailer; the last quilt I made was for my husband’s bunk, this one is for me. It’s by way of being a portrait!

  9. I love it!! Miss Lizzie looks like she is traveling to adventurous places filled with love and happiness:)!

  10. So much fun. I’m glad this is making you happy. Not every quilt does that for us, I know. Some are very satisfying in various ways, but not in that particular way. The yellow-based quilt I finished early this year, for Son’s girlfriend, did it for me. Need some more happy… 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      For such a quick, simple quilt, it’s been amazingly good fun, and is full of fabrics I love. So often with quilts I’m striving so hard to make something for someone else to love that I end up not truly pleasing myself. This one is a real selfish pleasure 🙂

  11. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    how cute your miss Lizzie !!! fab colours !!

  12. kathyreeves says:

    I love the Miz Lizzie block, and the indigo batiks. How nice to have a quilt for you made with some of your favorite fabrics. I love your quilts, but I still holding out for the shells and bird fabric!! 😄

  13. lucyannluna says:

    Such lovey colours, it will look fantastic

  14. magpiesue says:

    Wonderful! I believe I have that print you used for your clouds above Miz Lizzie. I’m currently working on an embroidered version of a similar applique block. The folks who use my trailer better hope they never have to change the tire though. 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      Can’t wait to see your trailer block! We had to change the tyre on Miz Lizzie on her very first long trip out; a particularly bad stretch of road cut the steel radial bands in the one on the driver’s side and by the time we arrived at the campsite there was a long strip flapping off it. Luckily the Husband is accustomed to changing much bigger ones on the truck, and we had all the kit we needed. I just had to stand back and watch… 🙂

  15. claire93 says:

    I can tell you’re having heaps of fun with this quilt, and the Miss Lizzy block is so cute ^^

  16. Emma says:

    Appliqué Miz Lizzie looks so good! Can’t wait to see your final layout 😊

  17. Such beautiful blues! I love the little caravan. I hope it gets center stage. Lovely work, Kate.

  18. rutigt says:

    Ah… That caravan is so cute!

Leave a Reply

