Bee, Myself and I #16

It’s Hatbox time again 🙂

Actually, if I’m honest, it’s slightly overdue, since I normally post about this project on the last day of the month. But what with the recent trip, and being totally obsessed focussed on the caravan quilts, I didn’t allow enough time to get the last two hatbox blocks done by the usual date.

However, here they are at last. These are absolutely the last two of the series, which I find I’m rather sad about, having got into a really good, smooth groove with making the other blocks.

Next month, I’ll show the final layout of all the blocks, and perhaps even the start of the hand quilting which is next on the menu for this quilt. I’m going to enjoy that, because I do like a bit of hand quilting, especially when the piece is not too large and heavy. Time to start building up my quilting calluses!

Lynn at Tialys is also making a hatbox quilt wall hanging, but started later and has fewer to make, so she’s finished her blocks and is on to the quilting part. Click through to her blog to have a look at hers, they’re all gorgeous, being made from Liberty fabrics. She’s in a later timezone than I am, so maybe wait a little before you go over there to give her time to get her post up.

Bee, Myself and I is a forum for ‘selfish sewing’; any stitchery which is purely for pleasure and not for anyone else. The original concept belongs to Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl. To find out more, you can click through on either her blog link, or using the button a fair way down in the left hand column.

Time to return to stash all the pieces that didn’t make the final cut.  

34 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #16

  1. It’s going to be a stunner!
    This got me thinking – have I actually got any projects on the go that are just for me? Hmmmm. I don’t think I have – must think of what I would like to make for me, myself and I.

  2. tialys says:

    I love these two – is the top one hydrangeas?
    Have you got a quilting design in mind for the blocks? I should probably have thought about hand quilting mine – after all I only have twelve to do and it would have been good practise.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, blue hydrangeas. I’m thinking that I’ll quilt in the ditch round the actual boxes, hand quilt around the motifs on each fabric to emphasise the pattern, and then straight lines or cross-hatching in the background, something linear, anyway.

  3. Sew cute. Your fabric choices are great. I have to say this is the first time I’ve had the pleasure of seeing hat box blocks and they are lovely. Can’t wait to see how you put them together.

    • katechiconi says:

      I just have to get my current quilt project down off the design wall, and then I can put up all the hatbox blocks and play with them till I have a layout worked out. The hatbox block is a design by Kaffe Fassett in his Passionate Patchwork book; I’ve reduced the size a little to make the final quilt a bit more manageable, but it’s a great design and his version of the quilt is sensational!

  4. It’s been fun to watch these come to life. How many blocks do you have? Will you then actually KEEP the quilt for yourself?

    • katechiconi says:

      I have 30 blocks, for a 5×6 layout. I’ll definitely be keeping this one, and have the spot on the wall picked out already! There’s still plenty to do, though, as I’m going to hand quilt each block.

  5. craftycreeky says:

    I love the pink one, looking forward to seeing the top complete!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’ll be a while, so I hope your patience holds out! I like the pink one too, but then, I have so many favourites in this quilt it’s very hard to pick just one, they’re all lovely.

  6. claire93 says:

    looking good!

  7. kathyreeves says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing the final layout, these have all been so pretty I can’t pick a favorite.

    • katechiconi says:

      I know! I keep thinking this or that one is my favourite, but then I keep changing my mind! It’s going to be quite a job arranging them, since achieving balance of colour and pattern will be so important.

  8. anne54 says:

    I have enjoyed watching this quilt progress, Kate. It is so pretty, and doesn’t surprise me that it is a Kaffe Fassett pattern. He is such an inspiration.
    This is a very non-quilter question…. do you hand quilt each block before you join them all up or after? But then I guess the quilting is to attach the backing fabric to to front. So I am confused!!

    • katechiconi says:

      There are two ways to work. More commonly, people join everything together, and then create a ‘quilt sandwich’ consisting of front, batting and back, basted or pinned together closely. This is then quilted, ideally from the centre out, either by hand or by machine. However, using the quilt as you go process (QAYG), you make and quilt individual quilt sandwiches, block by block, and then join the quilted blocks edge to edge, with sashing strips to conceal the joins on front and back. Each process has its pros and cons; with the former, you can create an overall design for both quilt top and quilting, but handling such a large piece is hard work and quilting can be complicated. With the latter, you’re working on a much smaller piece, quilting is much more straightforward, but joining the pieces needs to be done accurately and can be pretty fiddly once you’re joining large sections. I hope this ends your confusion, rather than creating more!

  9. nanacathy2 says:

    I just love your hat boxes.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, so do I! I shall be sorry when it’s all done, and will have to find myself something just as gorgeous to work on instead for my BM&I sessions. Something to showcase more pretty fabrics, I think…

  10. rutigt says:

    Great hatboxes again and this time the pink one wins, if I had to decide!

  11. MounterWorld says:

    I like this two style.

  12. Emma says:

    Those blue flowers are wonderful, I think it’s one of my favourite blocks you’ve made, the contrast is just great!

  13. magpiesue says:

    I missed Bee, Myself and I altogether this time around, working on the Welcome Quilt. Good thing there’s always next month!

Leave a Reply

