Wombat’s Tropical Box

Sounds like the title of a children’s story, doesn’t it?

However, the truth is that today I got to catch up with a friend I haven’t seen for over 2 years. A keenly-anticipated pleasure is that she’s made a beautiful quilt for me, using scraps of Liberty fabric, and although I didn’t get it today, once it has featured at the Brisbane Craft and Quilt Show in October, it will be sent to me. I can’t begin to express how wonderful it is (I’ve seen photos), and how very grateful I am for this wonderful gift. So of course, I had to reciprocate!

Cath, who blogs at Wombat Quilts, is a fellow EPP-er, making lavishly gorgeous hexie flowers which are slowly but surely building into a quilt for her lovely husband. So I thought it would be fun to make her a hexie hand-work box, using the pattern designed by Tialys (a tutorial which can be found in her Etsy shop as well as ready made ones). I’ve made two of these already, one for me and one for the Dowager, and they are extremely useful and extremely decorative. So that was the idea sorted. After that, it was time to choose the fabric.

Well, she was visiting the tropics, she loves bright colours, and the fabric choice sort of leapt out of the fabric cupboard at me.

I think she likes it!  She and her husband and I and mine all had lunch together in the Manta Ray, a lovely waterside restaurant on Hamilton Island. It was a cool, windy and rather damp day, so she’s looking a little wind-ruffled, but that’s a happy face, I reckon! (By the way, if you ever go to Hamo, the Manta Ray does amazing gluten free pizzas, a real bonus since she and I both need to eat gluten free.) Hours of talking, eating, talking, drinking, talking (well you get the idea) ensued.

I leave you with a photo from the highest point of the island, looking out over the sea towards Whitsunday Island. Would you just look at those colours….

33 thoughts on “Wombat’s Tropical Box

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    The smile says she likes it! Gorgeous

  2. What a gorgeous day spent with your friend!

  3. claire93 says:

    that’s one lovely box and the smile says it all ^^

    • katechiconi says:

      It was truly memorable, and my throat was quite sore at the end of it, because we’d both been talking almost non-stop under the amused and tolerant gaze of the Husbands (who also seemed to have plenty to say, I might add). I won’t forget the experience in a hurry 🙂

  4. Feel good post and YES! those colours!!!!

  5. kathyreeves says:

    I get warm fuzzier reading this! Never a better day than one spent with an old friend! Very cool box!!

  6. Beautiful box and a beautiful, if slightly wind-swept, friend!

    • katechiconi says:

      She’s so alive and full of fun! It was windy and damp, but not at all cold, so we were quite happy sitting outside on the deck overlooking the marina. Such a wonderful day…

  7. tialys says:

    Aha! I can see those colours more clearly now in the photo with Cath. Now she’ll have a lovely and useful reminder of your fabulous day together. Can’t wait to see the quilt she’s giving you after the exhibition, it sounds wonderful.

    • katechiconi says:

      The first thing she said was that now she’d have a travelling workbox for the hexies she makes. She was in awe of anyone who could design such a thing, so kudos to you, too!

  8. tialys says:

    p.s. Thanks for the link 🙂

  9. Lovely, lovely, lovely, lovely… people, place, gift, occasion. Aaaah, wish I was there ♡

    • katechiconi says:

      I wish you’d been there too, I think you’d have loved it – and her! Although there might have been a tad too much quilt-talk for you; the husbands are used to it, of course!

  10. Wow! That is a bright box! They look like a lot of work to make though. She definitely looks pleased but with that scenery, who wouldn’t be. Delightful that you had a chance to reconnect

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re a tiny bit fiddly, but not hard, just lots of steps and waiting for glue to dry. It’s a very clever design and very worthwhile in terms of the end result.

  11. There is nothing quite like a good catch up with a dear friend. I’m so glad you had this time together. And that view! Spectacular. I love the fabric you used for the hexagon sewing box. I bought one ready-made for one of my crafting friends. It’s a thing to behold.

  12. rutigt says:

    Of course she liked it! It´s a beautiful box. Love the fabrics you´ve chosen. During my exhibition I met a couple that I haven´t seen for 40 years! Talk about long lost friends 🙂

  13. magpiesue says:

    How special are all the components of this post! Lovely box, lovely friendship, and I bet that’s one lovely quilt she’s made for you!

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh my word, you have NO idea. It’s spectacular, I’ve seen the photos, but I won’t get it in my hot little paws until October, after it’s had a starring role on the Ava and Neve stand at the Brisbane Craft & Quilt show, to showcase their Liberty fabrics. It was an entirely wonderful day, and I’m so very sorry it was over so quickly.

Leave a Reply

