Gallimaufry Line 2

Yup. Another 5 blocks done.

Halfway through the piecing, I’m fairly confident I’ll want to switch a few blocks around, perhaps not the type of block, but perhaps the colour balance.

I’ve also decided that I’ll quilt it in a warm coral-y shade of pink, rather than cream to match the Blue Hour quilt. I really like how it looks against both the beige backgrounds and the very dark blues. What do you think?

Tomorrow I have to pack the caravan and get a few things ready for the off on Thursday morning, but I hope to get a few more blocks done before I go. I’ll be taking the Anemone big hexies project to work on, in the event that we don’t find plenty of other things to do while we’re in Airlie Beach and over on Hamilton Island for the day on Friday. We’ll definitely be eating out a couple of times, so I won’t need to do heaps of cooking, which will be a nice break. And if I remember, I’ll take a photo of the Blue Hour quilt on the Husband’s bunk, looking gorgeous.

Here’s the line up to date:

 

30 thoughts on “Gallimaufry Line 2

  1. Kathy D says:

    Wow – speeding along and looking great!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not even as if I’m spending hours at it! I find the easiest thing is to go into my sewing room, set a timer for an hour, and work till it goes off. There’s nothing so complicated I can’t just put it down and go and do something else.

  2. kathyreeves says:

    I love that inky blue with the lighter blue square, just elegant. I love your thread choice for the quilting, it looks great!

  3. tialys says:

    I love the colour of the thread – I contemplated a contrast on the hatboxes but don’t trust my quilting enough to make it stand out so much.
    Is that the Husband who’ll be looking gorgeous in the photo? πŸ˜‰

    • katechiconi says:

      You really don’t want a photo of the Husband lounging on his bunk, I promise. I shall take a photo of the quilt while the made bed still looks pristine and tidy, before he wreaks his usual havoc on it :-). I’m not planning anything too ambitious with the quilting, probably to what I did on the Husband’s. I’ll see how I feel when the time comes.

  4. This looks like fun — the perfect break. I hope you enjoy your outing.

  5. claire93 says:

    is your hand small, or are those blocks big?
    looking lovely!

  6. craftycreeky says:

    This seems to be growing really quickly, looks fab, I think the coral quilting will look stunning πŸ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      It is quick, isn’t it? I can’t account for it, except that none of the blocks is particularly complicated. I loved that thread colour the minute I saw it, and I knew it would work well.

  7. dayphoto says:

    You are so amazingly talented! It looks great! HAVE FUN! It’s nice to travel here and there once in awhile!

  8. Both quilts look wonderful. Miz Lizzies scores a β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜† accommodation rating. Enjoy your trip. It would be lovely to have Airlie Beach in our geographical backyard β™‘

    • katechiconi says:

      It is, especially as one (make that two) of the highlights of our trip will be eating at the wonderful Fish D’vine at least once, and jumping on the ferry over to Hamilton Island for the day.

  9. knitnkwilt says:

    I’m liking the rows so far. I’m not gutsy enough to quilt with contrasting thread but I like it when others do.

    • katechiconi says:

      And I’m too lazy to change colours, so it’s the same colour whatever the background. If it was going to show up anyway, it might as well be a pretty colour πŸ™‚

  10. magpiesue says:

    I don’t know if it will make a difference for you or not, but a tip from the long arm community is to unspool a good length of thread onto your top/blocks before you start stitching with it to make sure it’s going to look the way you anticipate. I do like your choice of thread color!

    • katechiconi says:

      I always carry scraps of fabrics from the current quilt with me when I go to the LQS, so I can audition things next to them. But with the thread, I knew it would work the minute I saw it! I love your new avatar photo, by the way πŸ™‚

  11. Look at you go! This is stupendous!!

  12. rutigt says:

    You can definitely use that pink thread, I think!

Leave a Reply

