Gallimaufry Line 4

The excitement persists. I’ve made another row!

Line 3 was appliqué and traditional piecing, with a light sprinkling of Y-seams. I thought it was time to introduce something new. So on line 4 we have scrappy and traditional piecing, paper piecing and appliqué. I thought the sunrise block would be harder than it actually was, but I just drew it out on gridded quilt design paper, stitched the fabric directly to the reverse of the drawing, and then appliquéd the ‘sun’ into the corner. I’m not afraid of piecing curves, but I like the look of the blanket stitch – it’s almost lacy.

That block on the left isn’t as wonky as it looks, it’s just the way it’s hanging on the design wall. I could go back and re-photograph, but I’m sure you get the idea!

If I can get all 5 blocks in a row done each time, I think it would look good in each post if I can stack the photos of the finished rows in order. It does mean that if I jump ahead and do line 6 soon (so I can play with the caravan appliqué, of course!), there’ll be another gap. I’ll see how it looks, but I still like the idea of building the quilt row by row, visually as well as literally.

So, which row shall I play with next? Perhaps I should start at the beginning…

27 thoughts on “Gallimaufry Line 4

  1. tialys says:

    I love the sunrise blocks and the disappearing kangaroos 😉
    Going back to the title – I noticed a book I thought about buying for the Kindle and ordered a sample. As soon as I saw the word ‘salmagundi’ I knew I had to download the whole thing – plus it mentioned Haywards Heath, our nearest big(gish) town when we lived in the U.K. – sometimes you’ve just got to obey the signs.

    • katechiconi says:

      Any book that contains the word Salmagundi is clearly meant! That strip of kangaroos was asking me to be included, and I debated it for a while because they’re running off the block, but actually, I think it adds entertainment value.
      Most of the sunrise blocks are light with a dark quarter circle, but there’ll be one which is dark with a light quarter circle: a moonrise instead of sunrise 🙂

  2. craftycreeky says:

    These blocks are beautiful! Love the sunrise ones 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, they add a bit of movement, don’t they. I think the quilt layout may need to be tweaked before I start to join it all up, since what looks fine as lines on paper has a whole different impact in colour. But so far, I’m not too unhappy with it…

  3. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    wow !! the dark blue with the circles is my favorite !!!

    • katechiconi says:

      I like that one too! Some of my very dark blue fabrics may look black in the photos, I haven’t used any of them yet, but maybe in the next row. I love that dark inky colour!

  4. claire93 says:

    as always, you imagine something on paper and it works beautifully in fabric – well done!

  5. Debbierose says:

    Woo hoo wonderful

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m having such fun! I can whizz in and make a block or two, and then go back and do other stuff, come back and do some more… The longest ones to do are actually the simple-looking circles, because I have to hand baste them in place and the blanket stitch takes ages, keeping the curves smooth.

  6. kathyreeves says:

    You are really whizzing along here. I’m in love with that sunburst block!

  7. magpiesue says:

    Don’t you just love it when the muse takes over and practically makes the quilt for you?! 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      The muse is certainly in charge, and I’m being given no choice in the matter: “you WILL do Y seams whether you like it or not!” But it does mean things move along quickly. I suspect the only thing that will change is a little bit of block swapping at the end.

  8. Kate, it’s beautiful. I too really like the square with the moons. I’m glad you’re having fun. What is a Y seam?

  9. katechiconi says:

    It’s where three seams intersect in a Y shape. If you look at the small strip images at the foot of the post, the block second from left on the top line has Y seams, where the outer beige pieces join onto the dark blue centre square, which is inset. You have to stop exactly on the right spot, then pivot the piece on the needle and sew in a different direction. Lots of people hate them because they’re fiddly, but if you keep your seams and seam allowances exact, it goes together quite easily.

  10. Emma says:

    I really love your choice of fabric for this quilt, it’s so beautiful!

  11. rutigt says:

    Looking good so far and I agree, time for row 1 and 2 🙂

Leave a Reply

