The Blue Hour quilt, finished

Here it is at last, all done.

I’m really pleased with it, and so, more importantly, is the Husband. It’s been quick, enjoyable and fun to work on, all highly desirable qualities in a quilt. It has used quantities of my dark blue scraps, and comparatively small amounts of new fabric, mainly for the back and sashing. I decided on very narrow binding for the quilt, which was a bit more laborious to attach, but I love the effect.

Without the distractions mentioned in my last post, I’d have had it finished a week ago, but it’s done in good time for our next trip, which is next week. I think it unlikely in the extreme that I’ll have mine done in time, but I plan to make a start!

Now, I wonder what that one will decide to call itself…

55 thoughts on “The Blue Hour quilt, finished

  1. craftycreeky says:

    Looks great, I quite fancy making a blue quilt πŸ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      Given the fabric I’ve bought for the curtains and seat covers, blue was the obvious choice, and one the Husband approves of! My own bunk quilt will also feature blue, but the overall effect will be less bold, and I’ll be introducing a bit of pink as well, I think. It’ll be very different!

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    This is lovely, attractive and suitable for a chap.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s certainly bloke-friendly; although he’s willing to use my pretty, girly quilts to keep the cold off, he’s much happier with this more masculine offering designed just for him!

  3. tialys says:

    I’m glad you got those kangaroos in and quite a few Japanese indigo type fabrics. In fact, the whole thing has quite a Japanese look really.
    I am sewing on a narrow binding at the moment but, unlike yours, mine didn’t start out to be narrow :/

    • katechiconi says:

      Mine was probably a bit too skinny, in retrospect. 1.75″ is a fraction skimpy… I was aiming for a minimal, almost Japanese feel, and as I still had some lovely indigo scraps left over from Worldwide Friends, this was the obvious place to use them.

      • tialys says:

        Well, you achieved your aim – it said ‘Japanese’ to me immediately – and I think the binding looks just right.

      • katechiconi says:

        I love how it looks, but it took a lot longer to stitch down because of being a fraction too narrow. Next time, I’ll go a quarter inch wider.

  4. Absolutely luvverly…..<3

  5. claire93 says:

    you are so right to be pleased with this Kate. It’s a very manly, and (as other comments have said) definitely has a Japanese feel to it.

  6. rutigt says:

    This quilt came out beautifully! A rather simple pattern, but so charming. Great work there!!!! Here we have one of the biggest holidays of the year. Midsummer, midsommar, and this day there are parties all over Sweden, picking flowers, making maypoles, eating strawberries, drinking, playing outdoor games, dancing round the maypole and so on……. So I wish you a happy and joyful Midsummer, Glad Midsommar!!!!!!

  7. So many lovely windows – it’s very effective. And it looks like you had a nice still day on which to take the photograph. Whenever I want a picture of a blanket on the line, either the sun is too bright/in the wrong place or there’s gusty wind, so that there’s movement just at the critical point.

  8. Jule says:

    Beautiful, very bloke-y. πŸ™‚

  9. dayphoto says:

    That is lovely, Kate! And another short trip…YAY for you!

  10. magpiesue says:

    It’s wonderful Kate. πŸ™‚ I’m excited to see what yours is going to be!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’ll be quite different, a mixture of 6 different blocks, and less monochrome. I came up with a design scribble last night, and I’ll tidy it up today and post about it soon.

  11. kathyreeves says:

    It is perfect for the husband and Mis Lizzie’s decor. The quilting is perfect with the blocks, it is so clean and minimalistic. Well done!!!

  12. nettyg says:

    Nice finish! Ms Lizzie will feel special with the blue number adorning her, as will the Mister.

  13. It’s turned out wonderful. Easy on the eyes in the small space and extra good that the hubby likes it. I don’t think I could manage such a small binding but it looks great. One more project checked off the list. πŸ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      I won’t be attempting quite such a narrow binding again, it needed lots of gripping and swift stitching to hold everything in place. Next time, another quarter inch wide! Glad you like the quilt πŸ™‚

  14. anne54 says:

    It looks stunning, Kate. I agree that it has a slightly Japanese feel about it ~ the colours and the simplicity I think. Miss Lizzie will be such a charming place to be when you have finished.

  15. Simple ideas create the best quilts!!!

  16. knitnkwilt says:

    Cheers on the finish! And off to start another–I too have to have new ideas in mind as I finish old ones.

    • katechiconi says:

      Sometimes it’s a bit of a struggle to finish the previous quilt because the new ideas are getting me excited. But Blue Hour was great, very simple to finish up, so I could think and scribble and make notes as I stitched the binding down πŸ™‚

  17. It looks lovely – great colour scheme πŸ™‚

  18. Lynda says:

    I love this quilt and it really went together quickly. Probably just because it was you, but I am excited to dig out Bob’s old homespun shirt fabric now and get started on something similar! Thanks for the encouragement.

    Speaking of bindings – I don’t know how to make anything but narrow ones. I have tried a couple of times to make them wider and I am doing something wrong, because they never turn out. I read once that narrow bindings were popular in the 1800s, the narrower the better, and a sign of a good quilter. I like that thought! πŸ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      Glad you like it and that it’s given you encouragement to start your own πŸ™‚
      What is it that goes wrong with the wider binding you’re trying? Maybe I can suggest a fix, in case you want to give it another go some time.

      • Lynda says:

        Too much fold over to the back. I like my bindings to be equal on front and back and to be able to stitch down right along the seam line. I have tried a couple of different things and it just gets too “fiddly” to use one of your expressions. So I just go with what works. If you can help me to make a wider binding I would love it, because they do have their place. Thanks!

      • katechiconi says:

        Sounds as if you need to use a slightly wider seam allowance to take up more depth of the fold over. Try going 1/8 inch wider in the seam on a test piece and see if that sorts it out for you. You’ll have to trim out slightly less and leave a bit more batting to fill out the binding so it’s not too floppy.

      • Lynda says:

        Trying this tomorrow. Thanks, Kate!

      • katechiconi says:

        No worries, and good luck!

Leave a Reply

