Blue, and Birds

I’ve completed the quilting on the Blue Hour quilt ๐Ÿ™‚

They’re all the same, nice simple 3 inch square cross hatching. And I’ve decided, after extensive auditioning, that the sashing will be cream, same as the backing. Yes, it’ll show the dirt more, which isn’t such a great thing on caravan trips, but the quilt can easily be washed and I much prefer the way it looks. I also LOVE how it works with the fabric I’ve bought for Miz Lizzie’s curtains, and the blue and white ticking for the seats.

… In other news, Sir Horace and Lady Laetitia Bush Stone-Curlew are still gamely guarding their estates, and only this afternoon saw off a vulgar gaggle of sacred ibis, who were sunbathing and honking in the spot selected by Lady Laetitia for the nursery. Despite this unseemly conduct, both maintained a stiff upper lip beak, and stared down the interlopers, who retired further down the garden, ruffled and agitated. No sign of an eggย a prospective heir yet, but we live in hope.

37 thoughts on “Blue, and Birds

  1. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    Another stunner Kate !!!! And I love the “sea side” fabric !!!!!!!

  2. anne54 says:

    It’s perfect, Kate. I love the seaside fabric too. is that the curtain material? What a stylish lady Mizz Lizzie will be.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, those are Miz Lizzie’s curtains-to-be. In the next few days I shall start joining all those blocks together, and hope to have the quilt done by the end of next week… maybe!

  3. rutigt says:

    Great quilt! The fabric for the curtains are so lovely. Miz Lizzie is gonna be the nicest looking caravan on earth ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      She’s going to be an elegant lady, isn’t she? And limiting my colour palette to match the curtains has worked well, although I might cheat a bit with other colours when I make my own quilt!

  4. claire93 says:

    quilt is lovely and I do like the fabric chosen for curtains

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    I love the curtain fabric. You have bird wars breaking out in the garden!

  6. kathyreeves says:

    Give Sir Horace and Lady Letitia our best regards! I love this quilt, and if I were a thief, I would be swiping a plane ticket so I could come pilfer you and Susan’s amazing blue masterpieces. I’m so looking forward to Miz Lizzie’s photo shoot for Better Homes, er Campers and Gardens!๐Ÿ˜

    • katechiconi says:

      Hee hee! We have Downton Abbey playing out in the back yard ๐Ÿ˜‰ As for the blue quilt, it’s such a simple design, all you need is a good supply of blue scraps and the discipline to stick to a very limited colour palette. Go for it!

  7. That seaside fabric is fabulous!
    Love this project.
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s so lovely, isn’t it? It has inspired the colour scheme for the whole caravan interior. The Husband is relieved that there isn’t anything too girly; I think he’d find pink gingham a bit trying!

  8. magpiesue says:

    I’d forgotten about the seaside print for the curtains. That makes the decision of cream for sashing a perfect choice. Kudos on your progress!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks! I love it when a quilt comes together quickly so I can get it done while I still love it! So often my enthusiasm wanes as the thing drags on and on…

  9. dayphoto says:

    You had me laughing out-loud! I love the bird drama there!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m trying to adopt a more positive attitude towards them! And they really do have the air of a pair of tall, thin, grumpy aristos in speckled brown tweeds, with big noses, small chins and more breeding than bone…

  10. It’s such a happy quilt and seeing the dirt won’t be a bad thing. Better to get it clean quickly than to have something set in. The curtain fabric is delightful. How grand your birds were able to stand their ground on their own campsite. Hopefully they will soon hatch a new family to come for a visit each year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree about getting the quilt clean quickly, and I feel that frequent washing can only improve the softness and general cuddlyness of the quilt. Sir Horace and Lady Laetitia will only have a clutch of two eggs (an heir and a spare, if you like), so at least there will not be a vast empire of night-shriekers to make my sleep hideous…!

  11. tialys says:

    Lovely! Never mind a bit of dirt, a few washes later and it will look loved and lived in.
    It all goes on in the Land of Chiconia gardens doesn’t it?

  12. Cream will be very pretty. I’ll look forward to seeing the next step.

    I started a new project, sort of. I’m finally working with one of my few UFOs. I hope to get a post up in a day or two.

  13. Emma says:

    The quilt is so beautiful! I also like the names you’ve chosen for the

  14. kymlucas says:

    You OK, Kate? WeirdWeird to not hear from you for a few days.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I’m fine ๐Ÿ™‚ Just very tired; we’ve just had a lot of the backyard graded and resurfaced to give us a dry hard surface in the Wet season. Lots of measuring and setting out, walking up and down the yard discussing stuff with the guy on the bobcat, lots of watering in the new surface, lots of cutting back vegetation, etc. I haven’t had much time to sew except for the ScrapHappy stuff due on Thursday! Thanks for being concerned, and taking the trouble to check up, though…

      • kymlucas says:

        It’s OK. Just worried because you are so much more diligent than me about posting! ๐Ÿ˜ BTW, most of my posts (infrequent as they are) have been on my new blog, which is mostly about our newly acquired bee hive and the steep learning curve that goes with such an endeavor. On a more important note, had my yearly checkup today and all is well.

      • katechiconi says:

        I’ve just followed you on the new blog, because keeping bees is something I’ve always wanted to do, so I shall learn lots, I expect! Glad the checkup went well, always a weight off the mind even though we think we’re not stressing about it!

      • kymlucas says:

        Exactly. And thanks for the follow.

  15. You will have one of the most beautifully appointed caravans on either side of the equator.

Leave a Reply

