The noisy neighbours are back

If you’ve been visiting Chiconia for a while, you’ll recall Mr & Mrs Bush Stone-Curlew.

I find them a little creepy to look at with their huge staring eyes and their fixed immobility for long periods of time. Other people find them quirky and interesting. Which is fine, but they don’t need to live right next door to the creatures. Last year, they moved in a couple of metres from my clothesline, laid a couple of eggs, glared at us when we came too close and made our nights hideous with their screaming cries. Once the solitary chick had hatched, they moved further down the back yard and we got a little peace.

For a couple of days now, Mr & Mrs have been inspecting the same piece of real estate, giving us the same glares and show every sign of repeating their performance. I suppose we should be pleased they feel safe and comfortable enough to come back.

I’ll leave you with a video link which I feel explains very clearly why I’m not totally thrilled to bits!

55 thoughts on “The noisy neighbours are back

  1. Oh dear! Is there anyway you can encourage them to find somewhere else to nest? I can handle daytime noise. Night time noise would have me stark raving made in short order with no sleep.

  2. anne54 says:

    Any chance you can make the real estate as unappealing as possible? Build a 30 story tower next to it? Have raucous, wild parties? Make parking impossible? Endless possibilities!!

  3. Perhaps sleep with noise-canceling headphones or one of those white noise machines?

  4. elaine says:

    WoW ~ what a voice! I totally understand! Nice to have them visit and can’t wait till they depart!

  5. Anlina Jones says:

    I think they are very striking and beautiful, not creepy. But I respect your opinion! They do however sound very creepy and would totally do my head in wailing all night!

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree, they’re very striking and beautiful, but they have such a grumpy expression, and they stare so! They’re 2.5 metres away from where I park my car, and I always feel I have to scuttle around humbly when unpacking the groceries to avoid disturbing them. I think I shall name them after aristocrats: Sir Horace Bush Stone-Curlew and Lady Laetitia Bush Stone-Curlew, who don’t take kindly to peasants in the grounds of their mansion 🙂

  6. Yes, their plaintive wailing at night is a bit too creepy for me too. Ah, nature. 😂

  7. kathyreeves says:

    Maybe you could put something big where they nested last year so they go a bit further from the house?

  8. magpiesue says:

    Are they looking to nest right near the house again or in the spot that’s further out? I can understand how their cries would get annoying.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s about 15ft from my back door… I know they return to the previous year’s spot by preference, but I hoped they’d go to where they raised their chick last time instead of where they laid the eggs. No such luck.

  9. knitnkwilt says:

    Sounds like they think they have a permanent lease on the spot! Quite the sound they make!

  10. manicmumdays says:

    I’m a weirdo, I looove Curlews! We have a couple that hang out on our street and I quite enjoy them calling out at night 🙂

  11. Oh my word, they sound like the fire alarm at work!
    I hope they find a different spot!
    Hugs

  12. Wow what a dilemma, the honour of a rare species camping on your doorstep, or the sleepless nights whilst their visit lasts. I think (despite hating anything disturbing my sleep), I would have to just put up with the latter in order to enjoy the former honour.

  13. tialys says:

    I’ve just watched the video and it set my dogs off barking. Earplugs?

  14. rutigt says:

    I can see the glare and I guess you´re gonna have to live with them once again 🙂

  15. modflowers says:

    I know it’s not funny for you, but I did have to smile at that video link!
    We live on a main road and I have to have the radio on to drown out the traffic noise so that I can sleep, so I’m always a bit perplexed by people who complain about bird noise – but in your case I’ll make an exception! Although I would still rather hear that than sirens, revving engines and car stereos!

    • katechiconi says:

      Having lived on a major cross-city arterial road in London, I hear you! But there’s a difference between the heavy rumble of traffic and the sudden loud screaming of these birds. I never fail to think it’s a human screaming for the first second or two, it’s such a similar sound!

  16. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    OMG this is bad !!! Why are they so attracted to your place ?

  17. dayphoto says:

    The nighttime noise would get Terry, but I would delight in them. Although, on second thought sudden loud screaming birds might not be so cool…but then again….they might.

    Linda

  18. nanacathy2 says:

    Heard the video link, ow I get it. You need a cat!

  19. I’ve just listened to the video at your link, and have managed to disturb both cats. Now *that* is funny. Best of luck getting through baby season.

  20. […] few days before the work commenced, Sir Horace and Lady Laetitia Bush Stone-Curlew went off somewhere for several days. We rejoiced in a slightly guilty fashion, but it was very […]

Leave a Reply

