Blue three

In case you fondly imagined I was taking a rest from the Blue quilt…

All blocks are now completed, I’ve finalised the layout, and eight blocks in the top two rows are quilted. The cross hatching is on a 3 inch square grid, which after some testing I found was the perfect balance between the need to secure the layers and keeping the feel of the block flexible and soft after quilting. It’s also a nice easy thing to mark up and I have a good production line going 🙂

I still haven’t absolutely finalised the colour of the front sashing for this quilt, but I have time to think about that. I’m quite liking the idea of a pale beige/cream, but am also debating using one of the brighter pale blues, as I don’t want the blocks to blend into the sashing too much.

This is going to be a nice easy quilt to assemble: three rows with a 6-square and 4-square panel in each, so only two medium-long seams and no very long ones.

Right, time to go and cut more backing squares.

27 thoughts on “Blue three

  1. I love the way that the blocks with squares in frames are like looking through windows – it’s quite mesmerising.

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree, and I’ve tried to keep some variation going by alternating between complex and simple central squares, so sometimes it’s the frame that’s interesting, and sometimes, the view!

  2. tialys says:

    Looking good – soon be time to make a start on your own Miz Lizzie quilt. I’ll bet you’ve already got the fabric for that lined up.

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    It’s very smart.

  4. claire93 says:

    you’re bombing away!

  5. This looks very neat and masculine. I like the grid quilting. What size are the blocks?

  6. magpiesue says:

    It’s nice to work on a smaller quilt every once in a while, or one that progresses quickly. Here’s hoping nothing comes along to get in the way!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, the change of pace and level of challenge is a nice break, and it’s fun to zoom through the work. Funny though: having the least picky new owner I could possibly find for the quilt seems to have meant that I’ve made no mistakes, perhaps because the pressure’s off!

  7. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    wow !!!

  8. kathyreeves says:

    You could be really fancy and do a flange in the sky blue with either the sand or navy for the actual binding…just thinking out loud,,😂

  9. Debbierose says:

    Love it Kate, simple & stylish

  10. rutigt says:

    Beautiful quilt to be!

Leave a Reply

