Blue two

More blocks, the light ones this time…

I’m happy with how this is turning out, and best of all, the Husband approves also. Not too girly, not too boring (and if we’re strictly honest, quite pleased that I didn’t need to buy a whole load of fabric for it!). Because it’s scrap-dense, these simple blocks can be quite time-consuming to put together, but I’m really enjoying the discipline imposed by this colour scheme. The blues are all at the cool end of the range, and the white, grey, sand and taupe are beautifully fresh. I have to resist the temptation to include fabrics I love which are simply the wrong colour, and actually, I really love the outcome!

4 more blocks to go and the piecing will be done. Quilting’s going to be simple and not too dense. It’s a bunk quilt and needs to be fairly supple, so dense quilting would stiffen it too much. I’m still considering what would be best. It needs to complement the simplicity of the design, hold the layers together and be quick to achieve (I’m impatient to start my own bunk quilt!).

Once the blocks are done, I’ll sandwich a few blocks and have a think…

 

 

30 thoughts on “Blue two

  1. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    I love the square framework arround the blocks !! I bet your husband is pleased with it !!!

  2. mlmcspadden says:

    Love how the blocks are turning out and everything is coming together! I even recognize one of those prints. =)

  3. Very fresh, I like it very much. The colors work well together and your discipline is paying off. As to quilting, you might just use a grid, spaced at 2″ or even more. I think that would suit the simplicity and give you the softness you want.

  4. Wow, yes I love the simple yet sophisticated colors!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m glad I wasn’t too prescriptive with the colours, but a little discipline can be good for creativity, can’t it?

      • In my line of work as a baker I use many color palettes. Each order I fill has its own theme. Colors that you would never dream of putting together such as pink and orange work together together to create a mood.

      • katechiconi says:

        Oh, I’ve definitely dreamed of putting together pink and orange (in fact, together with dark blue, I have 25+ big blocks in exactly that colour scheme waiting to be assembled!), but I take your point. I find this quilt nice and restful and peaceful… A good effect to achieve for a bed quilt!

  5. It is great, Kate!
    I like the combination of the lights and the darks. It makes it more dynamic!
    Hugs
    Esther

  6. Kathy D says:

    Beautiful! I like the cross hatch idea. Can’t wait to see what you make for yours.

  7. kathyreeves says:

    Such a great neutral towards masculine quilt, no wonder DH approves. If it were me, I think I might cross hatch the whole business but that might require doing it as one big piece, so maybe that’s out?

  8. magpiesue says:

    I’m glad you have ideas for the quilting because that’s my area of weakness (so grateful for a son who can and will do my quilting for me!!!). I take it you’ll be quilting by the block to keep it manageable. I have to say, this palette is inspiring me to follow your lead. I’ve had some blue and white prints in my stash for far too long now…

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, quilting by the block seems to be my default setting these days! I must say, this quilt is going to clear out a great many of my darker blue, grey and sandy scraps, probably not a bad thing when you consider my blue scraps box is massive! I have a real soft spot for cross hatch quilting, it gives textural interest without being too hard to do, and I like it just that bit more than horizontals and verticals.

  9. anne54 says:

    Love this Kate, and I am pleased that Mr C does too!

    • katechiconi says:

      He doesn’t always get a say when it comes to quilting, although I’m often surprised by unsuspected insights from him. However, when it’s a quilt specially for him, I want him to at least not hate it! Fortunately, he does like it…

  10. Lynda says:

    Kate, your hard work has me feeling inspired and looking at the stack of homespun plaids that I have been saving from Bob’s old shirts. A rather large selection of muted reds, blues and browns in that pallet.

  11. OMG I think this is my favourite design of all the ones you’ve done!!! Do I take it that each central square has four separate pieces of fabric around it? (Apologies if that’s the most stupid question you’ve heard all year – I’m still making this stuff up as I go along….)

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, all the central squares are either cut to 6.5 inches or are scraps assembled into a square that size. They are then surrounded by strips of 3.5 inches wide, two at the sides, then two at the top and bottom. I’d recommend actually making the strips a tad wider and then trimming the finished thing to a finished size of 12.5 inches when finished to allow for minor variations in the seams. Nice and easy, huh?

  12. tialys says:

    I love this – it reminds me of my husband’s work shirts and I won’t be throwing any away in future!! Yes to the variation on a grid for the quilting.

    • katechiconi says:

      The one that Carla made from her father’s business shirts is just gorgeous, do click on the link and take a look. If the Husband’s shirts weren’t tear-proof, sun-proof and probably needle proof, I might use some of them once they were worn and faded, but they’re too heavy for good quilting.

  13. rutigt says:

    It´s looking really good!!

Leave a Reply

