A pink letter day

Or more accurately, a pink number day.

Yesterday, after a couple of medical appointments earlier this week, I was fully discharged as an oncology patient. I’m officially cancer-free after 5 years. I loved how the discharge form was printed on pink paper – I got my pink slip!* 🙂

We went out for a meal to celebrate, and today I will ceremonially return the last of my oral chemotherapy drugs to the pharmacy. There will still be annual checkups, but that’s the last of the treatment.

You might say, I’m feeling ‘in the pink’…

 

*For non-Aussies, a pink slip can be either a vehicle inspection paper to confirm your car is OK, or a termination notice at work. Either one works in this context…

87 thoughts on “A pink letter day

  1. Elizabeth says:

    That is fantastic news!!

  2. Jacque says:

    Congratulations

  3. notewords says:

    Congratulations! 😉

  4. Robin Murphy says:

    Great news Kate. As a survivor myself I congratulate you. I am just starting the journey again with my mum. Not sure how we will travel but we will be as positive as we can be.

  5. katechiconi says:

    It’s a huge landmark, isn’t it, when the ‘cure’ becomes official? I know there are no guarantees long term, and it came back for my mother after 6 years, but it’s a good start 🙂

  6. itwasjudith says:

    Fabulous news, so happy for you!!!! all the best

  7. Just wonderful! I am thrilled to bits for you and (selfishly) for us!! This is great news.. c

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s brilliant, isn’t it? I hadn’t realised until I got the final all clear how much the lurking fear had settled in at the back of my mind. I feel about 10 feet tall and hugely optimistic once again.

  8. Wendy from NY says:

    Just a lurker here, but wanted to tell you that I am tickled pink for you! A hearty congratulations to you!

  9. Emma says:

    That’s the best news!

  10. Anlina Jones says:

    What fabulous, delightful news! So pleased to hear it. Hope dinner was amazing! xo

    • katechiconi says:

      Dinner was brilliant, and for various reasons, I scored a free chocolate fudge cake dessert. Bonus upon bonus! I’m really happy right now – let’s see how long I can make it last!

  11. pattisj says:

    Great news! Rejoicing with you!

  12. That is awesome news. It’s made my day. I’m so happy for you, John, your family, us and your many other friends ♡

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, that’s very kind of you, and I too am glad for us all that I’m finally feeling some sense of security and certainty about my future. I want to be around for a very long time yet. So much still to do!

  13. manicmumdays says:

    WoooHoooo!!!!!! Such fantastic news Kate! ❤

  14. tialys says:

    Oh, Kate, that’s such good news, I can only imagine how relieved you feel. Onward and upward into your drug free future – which sounds as if you’ve been in rehab but you know what I mean 😉 **CONGRATULATIONS**
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s brilliant, isn’t it? It’s going to interesting to find out what problems are now with me permanently, and which ones are side effects from the Tamoxifen and will pass now I’m finally off it. I had a brilliant experience at the pharmacy when I handed in the last packet. I got a round of applause from the staff and a big “Congratulations!” 🙂

  15. nanacathy2 says:

    You will be walking on air! The best of news.

  16. craftycreeky says:

    Fantastic news Kate, so pleased for you 🙂

  17. I am so very very happy for you ❤ xxx

  18. sunsunnyblog says:

    This is such good news to hear!
    Congratulations and wishing you the very best! -Sunny

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s so good to be able to celebrate this 5 year anniversary without a care in the world, healthwise. It’s been a rough few years, but now it’s over. Thank you so much for your good wishes 🙂

  19. claire93 says:

    that’s got me wearing my smiley face today Kate ^^
    great news.

  20. Jule says:

    Fantastic news! Congratulations!

  21. kathyreeves says:

    YES! YES! YES! This is the week for good news, both you and Susan with good reports! I’ll have to dance another Happy dance for YOU!

  22. dayphoto says:

    OH! YAY! YAY! YAY! What a great and wonderful day! My mother-in-law stayed cancer free for 30 years! That is my hope for you!!!

  23. Lynda says:

    Kate, this is simply amazing news! ❤ ❤ ❤ I'm so happy for you.

  24. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    Congratulations !! I am really pleased for you !!!

  25. Thimberlina says:

    Fantastic news, I’m tickled pink for you 😃😃😃😃😃😃

  26. Happy dance for you! You should buy (or have bought for you) a nice big plant with pink flowers!

    • katechiconi says:

      Oops, don’t know how I missed this lovely comment! I’d love a nice bunch of Stargazer lilies, they’re certainly pink enough and smell divine. Are you reading this, Husband…?

  27. Catherine says:

    Such great news!

  28. Congratulations my friend. May you live long and sew past your 100th year. Absorbing your good news as a personal elixir. I’ve gotten my own difficult news and taken in all rousing results as the vitamin deficient might take in nutrients. Hope is itself a fine medicine.

    • katechiconi says:

      Sending some of my positive feelings and hope for the future your way. I have plenty to spare just now… I hope your difficult news will offer you personal growth opportunities as part of the challenge of overcoming whatever it is, as breast cancer did for me. I have you ‘in my pocket’, to think about over the coming days ❤ ❤

  29. Kate, was fabulous news! I imagine you’ve been flying as high as a kite. What a tremendous relief too, going forward. xo

  30. **what…not was. Sorry about that.

  31. There is so much good in life, but it can be so much easier to see and hear and smell and feel, when we have no ongoing anxiety. Three pink cheers to this source of concern being dismissed! ❤

  32. I’m thrilled!!!!! What fabulous news! ❤

    • katechiconi says:

      It feels like getting a wonderful unexpected present 🙂 Funny, really, when you consider that actually nothing had changed from the day before or the day before that!

  33. Hip hip hooray!!!!
    So happy for you!

  34. knitnkwilt says:

    Good news indeed!

  35. Oh Kate, that is bloody marvellous, whoop whoop!!

  36. magpiesue says:

    Oh happy day! I’m sorry I wasn’t more on the ball to offer my felicitations but you must know I’m rejoicing with you. Your recovery will give hope to so many others who receive a frightening diagnosis.

  37. kymlucas says:

    Yay! Wishing you continued good health from now on!

  38. Grannymar says:

    Kate I am a week late to the Big Five Party. It’s been a rough few years for you with all you have gone through and so stoically in that time. May you dance, sing and party in this new pink world for many a long year!

    • katechiconi says:

      What a lovely wish for me 🙂
      I’m pretty sure none of us sing and dance as much as we should for real happiness, so let me bounce some of that back to you in the hope that your own partying will be lively and frequent!

  39. rutigt says:

    I´m so glad for you!!!!! Hurra, hurra, hurra!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  40. frugaldod says:

    Hooray so terrific to hear

Leave a Reply

