Miz Lizzie Adventures: tiny sewing

Well, you didn’t think I’d get through an entire holiday without sewing, did you?

I’d packed Lilibet, the tiny sewing machine, my mini steam iron, a sleeve board for ironing on, my smallest cutting mat and ruler and a couple of bags of scraps. This morning, it was time to give it all a try.

80cm square instead of a whole room…

Lilibet, sadly, is a grumpy little princess of a sewing machine. I have lost count of the number of times I’ve had to rethread her today. There was no sign of this temper-amental behaviour at home, and I’m now wondering what her game is. On the other hand, it’s still faster than sewing by hand, so I’m just growling quietly at her instead of hurling her across the caravan. Also, if you only pay $99 for a sewing machine, you only get $99 of value, and I can’t expect the same level of performance as I get with my lovely and now much more appreciated Janome DC3018.

That iron is 6 inches long, and the handle folds down

The mini iron, on the other hand, has been brilliant! Perfect for small sewing like today’s work, and it has a powerful little steam boost if you press the button. It’s very small, very light, and it did sterling work without any complaint for several hours. I’ve brought a sleeve board with me, as opposed to a whole ironing board. It’s fine for the seams on an individual block, but if I ever want to press anything larger, I’ll have to rethink my strategy. I have the inkling of an idea already, but need to test the theory before I go public, but it involves creating a special heat-reflective pad to fit over the narrow bench you see in this photo.

I have ready one of the two blocks I’m planning for ScrapHappy in a week’s time. It’s due two days after we get home, so unless I do the work now, I’ll have nothing to show, shock horror!  You’ll have to wait till then to see them, but the more eagle-eyed among you may already have concluded that one of them will be purple!  I’ll finish the second one tomorrow, after our planned outing.

Where are we going?  To a water-buffalo farm, of course!  There’ll be cheese sampling, gelato sampling by the Husband and probably a few purchases of buffalo meats. Oh, and lunch in the café, naturally…

28 thoughts on “Miz Lizzie Adventures: tiny sewing

  1. I wonder if something has shaken loose in Lilibet during your travels since she was behaving at home.
    Tiny sewing seems to be quite the thing at the moment – did you see those lovely Inchies featured by The Crafty Creek the other day?

    • katechiconi says:

      I did, they’re adorable!
      My version of tininess is more about the space I do it in, rather than the result. It’s a bit of a challenge, but small equipment and tools helps… I was pleased with how much I was actually able to get done.

  2. This is very nice tiny sewing.I really liked.
    John Pellow

  3. claire93 says:

    your little iron is so dinky ^^

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s sweet, isn’t it, but it actually produces quite a useful and strong blast of steam to set seams with. One of its better features is how that big handle folds down flush against the iron, so it uses very little space.

  4. kathyreeves says:

    This will work so nicely for you once you get everything tweaked! I used to haul my regular machine with me to hotel rooms and it got pretty old, something small like this would have been the solution!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think things will improve once I have Lilibet’s issues sorted out. It’s a very good setup for scrappy blocks, as you don’t need to cut out large pieces of fabric, just tidy up.

  5. Emma says:

    This iron looks so tiny! It’s great that is has power too 🙂 looks like you’re having a lot of fun on your trip

    • katechiconi says:

      It is tiny, the sole plate is the size of the palm of my hand, it makes the quite small handle look enormous! And yes, I’m having a lot of fun, not all of it post-worthy, but some 🙂

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    Well never mind the equipment I am just staggered at your devotion to sewing in the first place. All that on holiday. WOW. Look forward to seeing what is being made. I am very excited by my contribution this month. I hope you have super day tomorrow.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have to laugh at this! I haven’t sewn for 10 days, and got the machine out for the first time yesterday 🙂 But I do love that I CAN sew if I want to… Looking forward to seeing what you have for us on ScrapHappy Day!

  7. So impressed with your little hobbit life 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m loving Hobbit-hood, I must say. We’re both quite glum at the idea of having to start for home tomorrow. Normally, we’re over it by now, but that’s because we’re not that comfortable. Miz Lizzie has changed all that.

  8. dayphoto says:

    I’m happy for you to be able TO sew, albeit with a cranky little machine!

    • katechiconi says:

      Me too! I shall see if I can get out my mini screwdriver and some oil and improve her attitude when I get home, but so long as I keep a rein on my temper and take lots of deep breaths when she unthreads herself for the umpteenth time, she does a reasonable job.

  9. tialys says:

    I see you gave in to temptation and set up a sewing station away from sewing station 😉 I hope the Lord of Chiconia isn’t too disgruntled.

    • katechiconi says:

      Not at all! He was helpfully suggesting things to make the ironing area more efficient and user friendly… And I got both my ScrapHappy blocks done, so a good result all round!

  10. rutigt says:

    So cute, you have a miniversion of a sewing room!

  11. nettyg says:

    Perhaps Lillibet would be happier if you made her this https://rainbowhare.com/2014/04/27/vintage-caravan-sewing-machine-cover-pattern-version-1-and-tutorial/
    It’s good you were organised enough to do some sewing if the mood took you. I have one of those reflective ironing mats that I put on the end of my cutting table just to press block seams and other small items. It works well……cats love it too!
    Will be posting my scraphappy late, working on a new project, not the one I mentioned when we met, that can wait till next month.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s seriously cute! But sadly, Lilibet’s spool holders stick up over the top of the machine and can’t be folded down or removed, so I’d have to come up with a rather bulgy caravan roof to make it work. Something else to put on the To Do list! I’m also thinking an ironing mat with a towel under it is starting to look like a good and trouble free solution. I’ll keep a lookout for your post, and make sure the link shows it when it’s up.

  12. nettyg says:

    Meant to say ‘later’ not late necessarily. You could add little chimneys for the bobbin holders 🙂

  13. Another reason I will have to leave the beautiful sewing to others – irons fight me even harder than sewing machines do, and that is hard to top!

Leave a Reply

