Miz Lizzie Adventures: Beach textures

Here’s what I was pottering around with yesterday.

There are some extraordinary textures in what’s washed up on the beach if you look closely. I love the neutral/monochrome colour palette, too. I think my favourite is the palm stem, with those delicate lacy fibres, thin and fine, but at the same time, incredibly strong.

It makes a nice collage of images, doesn’t it? I wish I could think of a way to integrate them into some sort of textural piece of fibre art….

32 thoughts on “Miz Lizzie Adventures: Beach textures

  1. anne54 says:

    Yes, yes! Make a quilt from it. It would be stunning! I love this collection, the muted colours and the varied textures.

  2. Catherine says:

    Beautiful- very inspiring and so many ideas!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think Anne had the right idea when she encouraged me to make a quilt using these images. I’m thinking fabric manipulation, dyeing, embroidery, appliqué… It would be a long time in the making, but what what a piece when it was done!

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    Fabulous collection of photographs and texture. I love the single blue shell. Have you tried machine embroidery using wash away stabalizers, this just leaves behind delicate shapes.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s definitely something I’d be looking at for one of the blocks, if not a couple of them. I’m still wondering how to achieve the wood effects…

  4. A lovely beach. No matter how you look at it but your up close perspective renders it as art.

  5. claire93 says:

    I love the diversity of textures.

  6. Jule says:

    Beautiful textures, definitely worth a quilt. 🙂

  7. rutigt says:

    I often look at things in the nature and wonder how to make a quilt of it, but I have never managed. I wish you good luck, cause I think your fantasy is bigger than mine 🙂

  8. Kathy D says:

    Love the single stripe on the stones. Someone once told me that if you found a stone like that it would bring good luck – lol.

  9. Lynda says:

    Kate, your beautiful pictures make me want to walk in the surf. It has been over ten years since I went to the beach. I think I am due.

  10. kathyreeves says:

    Oh my goodness, this will be a process to watch unfold!

  11. Kate, what a gorgeous collection. I love every one of them.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have loads more, but it would have been a bit dull to show all of them. It’s given me a really great but massively complicated idea for a quilt, which I need to incubate for a while…

  12. It is a visual quilt, down to the colours. I think I like the stones with lines best. So much like what we could find on a shore here, it brings me into the experience that much more.

    • katechiconi says:

      The shells are a bit different, and the silica sand is different, but a beach is a beach, the world over. This WILL be a quilt one day. I’m still thinking about how to achieve some of the effects in fabric.

  13. craftycreeky says:

    They’d make a nice set of inchies 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      They would, but I’m thinking something a bit bigger, say 8 inch squares, and a lot more of them, using all neutral backgrounds and different weight threads for couching, padding areas, very fine tucks, etc, to achieve some of those textures. I’ve started a Pinterest board to inspire me, in case these photos weren’t enough!

Leave a Reply

